Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Music today: yes, it's 50 Cent again... working working working...

click here for Quote of the Day

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Oct. 19, 2003 - 7:34 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Flamenco to 50Cent

I think I would rather do flamenco to 50 Cent than to flamenco music. I think that would be a good mix. With my Chinese fan. yes.

back to work. Yo shorty, issyabirtday.

seeyamorelatertoday....

8:48 pm

I think tonight the entries will just be an accumulation of thoughts and websurfings as I wigglywaffle while working. Yes, i wander over to the computer after painting in a flamenco dancing bear, or a polar bear, or some castanets, to look at an email, or wait for more water to boil for my tea (i am really a hotdrinkaholic while i work... thank god I dont drink alcohol or do drugs....i'd be absolutely unstoppably hopeless).. and I end up getting stuck on the computer for a half hour. So disciplined I am.

Anyways, here is one of the most strange mary pictures I have ever seen... it is called Vierge Consolatrice which means consoling virgin, and is painted by Bougereau. It is funny to see how a painter can paint every tiny detail so explicitly and yet make sort of a fuzzy mass of the poor dead child's genitals, right center foreground. Also, what IS that expression on the virgin's face? She seems sort of severely raising her hands to god as if to see, "jesus, why is this mother wailing over my knee". If I was wailing about my dead child over someone's knee, I would hope they would console me better than this mixture of hands-off dark amusement and forebearing resignation! eek!

For any of you who are art geeks out there, here is a Catholic's take on both modern art and the state of church decoration these days... quite amusing: "Our Lady's Premier Gallery"...it really is a short read.

Now I wish i were less iffy about stealing images for my diary pages cuz i'd just slog a couple of them up here to inspire and edify and prettify my page. Oh well.

Back to work. Maybe later i'll have something of my own (copyright me, yay!) to scan in... tah

Bah, I decided at least to quote the Premier Gallery website to inspire you's all to visit it:

" We can only pray that the same renewal and renaissance occurs in our Catholic churches, particularly those in suburban parishes that have been stripped of all sense of the sacred and now look mostly like Protestant meeting halls or school cafeterias."
Cute, huh! :)

10:12 pm... just back from doggiewalkies... Here is one interesting picture of the virgin with St. John the Evangelist (is this different from the Baptist? ) on the right side of the painting. Now this is probably a boy i'd pick off the streets and fuck. Long hair, sort of feminine face, dark sultry eyes, femmey clothes on a masculine body. Look at that arm... mmm, forearms with muscles and strong hands mmmmm. Not to mention that sensuous mouth. This painting was completed in 1517 for the nuns of San Francesco dei Macci. Think of all those centuries of young women lusting over this young saint. Fascinating.

For anyone who can read French and who likes melodramatic stories of monks, lust, young women, unchaste nuns and hell on earth, I recommend Antonin Artaud's book "Le Moine". A more decadent novel may not come across your desk for a long time. mmmm.

Wow, just looked that up to put a link, and learned that it is actually "recounted" by Antonin Artaud, but the original book is a gothic novel called "The Monk" by Matthew Gregory Lewis. That site says that "The Monk" " more-or-less defined the far edge of sensational Gothicism".This may be more exciting news for me than for you... I can now read the 1796 version and compare it to Artaud's... since I finished "Jitterbug Perfume" last night.

3:43 am: Go here to read "The Insides of my Arms". The cheery things I think while walking my dog down dark back alleys.

Also, please do my two new surveys, called "Sexaddict" and "Breakup", okay?

0 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily