Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Music today: What music?? The morning news for god's sake!!

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Feb. 13, 2004 - 8:31 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

In the 100 Acre Wood

***If you don't want to be really confused, read my first entry first! ***

Goddamn it's 8:30 am... I will now send ALL the posters on Saturday.. so I pay one expensive shipment instead of one expensive and one less expensive... ie two.

Sigh. So I called Fedex.

Yeah.

And then asked questions to compare them with UPS ... and now I am just confused about sending my books to the States. They say that dedouanement is brokerage fees, and I will still need to pay duty and taxes. Criminy. It is gonna cost me more than I make to send these books. Damn.

So they told me to call the American Embassy. It is not open. But of course their message says "call during office hours", but does not mention what those office hours might be. I guess so you cannot hold them to them.

Sigh. Cuz maybe I can just take the books with me on the plane, though they are heavy. But maybe if I do that they won't let me into the states. I have no clue and no clue who to ask. There must be many writers who go to the states to sign books. But they probably have an editor and a distributor sending the books to the stores, instead of lugging them themselves.

And everyone I know here in Montreal is francophone... they and their books dont even go to the states. Now if I could only just ring up Stephen Pinker or Yann Martell who happen to live here. I think my doctor and my therapist (who know each other... the one recommended the other) know them socially. Youpee. As if I can call up my doctor and ask for the phone # of some emminent writer. And then call him and quiz him. Sigh.

Why is this all so complicated? Taxes, shipping, duty fees... hell, for all I know I will sell three, and bring all the rest home with me... and I'd have paid US taxes on importing them. Glll..

Well, I suppose I should try to sleep for a couple hours.

In the meantime, I was over at SquirrelX's, since what else would I do when I am dead tired, and fed up with calling places that are closed... and I found the "The 100 Acre Personality Quiz" and had to take it. She is Pooh. Somehow I got 49 points out of 100. What the HELL does that mean? Other than that, I am Kanga. Of COURSE I am Kanga... I was meant to be the Mom. Sigh. I missed my calling. Maybe I'll be an adopted Grandma.

tah!


Take the 100 Acre Personality Quiz!

Oh yeah, go read my other entry today... some long rambling blog thing... And if you are my Secret Valentine, read this one too! Thanks!

gday... well I cannot verily say goodnight at 8:39 am now can I?!!

Wench77

Drat, my Friday horoscope just came in. Why do I read these things?? Here goes:

Here is my horoscope for Friday, February 13:

Someone makes good on a threat or warning. Your fun is spoiled, but with luck the damage ends there. Be sure to include this killjoy on your list of people to avoid in the future."

Nice eh. zzzzz

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily