Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Oct. 01, 2004 - 3:49 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

**History of Saddam Mess Revisited

<<<<<<Radiogurl's sake!! I will now put a double asterix thus:** next to the title of all political entries from now on. Poor gurl is afraid to read my entries until the election is over. And you better believe if Bush wins, she should be afraid to read my entries AFTER the election is over too! :) Cheers! Wenchie>>>>>>

Hmm, someone wrote about my "article from 2002" entry that it has been happening since before 2002. Yup. And I guess they didn't read the article. It was WRITTEN in 2002, but it was ABOUT the past 50 years or more. So yeah, my remarks in that entry weren't just about "wow, they knew this in 2002", but rather "wow in 2002 they were already writing about the deep roots of this, and it is only coming out in actual media now as if it were NEWS". yeah.

Anyways, before I write a real entry, I will post here the letter I wrote to another American friend (an uppity cartoonist) when I sent the same article to her:


Wow.

this article is the most clear, covering so much, that I have seen in a while, written while inspections were still on, and detailing everything that is slowly coming out in the media. Slowly.

We knew all of this years ago. It seems so stupid to even argue about who did what...

I don't know why middle and lower America doesn't just say " we are behind our government and elite having control of the oil ressources of the world. It is in our interests as a country to have cheap oil and unfettered business conditions in the world, and we will stand behind our leaders to do whatever they can and will do to secure these interests"..

At least that would be true and honest.

None of this "George Bush is an honest and moral man who wants to help the Iraqi people, this is a just war for a just cause"... that is just
stupid.

Bush should just say to the people: vote for me and I will make sure
that our businesses are backed by military force of any manner, that our country's interests will be reinforced no matter what the cost to other countries, that you will have all the benefits that cheap oil under our
control will bring".

I hate to say but he'd have about 75% of the vote right there. And no one could even accuse him of lying or backpeddling or anything.

Americans would just honestly show themselves to be the self-interested militaristic people they are. It would be rather refreshing, instead of trying to argue with trumped up crap.

I don't understand why they'd even need terrorism or dictators as an
excuse.

Wenchie

The cool thing is she liked what I wrote enough to pass it on to her activism email list. Cool. And yeah, you should go read that article.

Now I do and I don't wish I had heard the debate tonight. I was picking up my Dad from the airport, and I didn't find a radio station in the area that was carrying it, if indeed it was on the radio and not just the tv.

But I did listen to a speech on CBC Radio One's Ideas program by some guy they call "The Pentagon's Favorite Arab". Ah, I looked him up, "Fouad Ajami". Turns out he is also the "Talk Show Host's Favorite Arab"... here is an article about him, and how he has had to take back a few of the "knowledgable" things he said pre-Iraq War.mmm.

He said a lot of straight up things. I really would have so much more respect for Bush if he spoke like this instead of lying all the time. But I wouldn't like him any better.

He said that they attacked Iraq instead of Saudi Arabia or other large arab countries that financed, aided, trained etc Al Qaeda terrorists because it was the easiest to pick out, Saddam the most isolated. They wanted to go into the middle of the Middle East and make a display. The "shock and awe" was for the likes of Khaddaffi, not Saddam. It was a "see what we can do" ploy. To show that America is the man. yeah.

There was and is no way they are attacking Saudi Arabia or Egypt no matter what their role was. He said it was like an arabian saying "I deal with (yell at? discipline? dang, I forget the exact words) my daughter-in-law so that the neighbor can hear". Ie then you will have no need to ever deal with the neighbor, she'll get the picture.

Youch.

Anyways, he is writing some book about America's "Gift" to Iraq. I think that he's one of those arrogant people who like to remake other people's lives and pat himself on the back and say "they'll be grateful one day"... but what the hey. I dunno. I think of all the times I could have shot the lover of a friend between the eyes, while they were "trying to work things out", and then put down the smoking pistol and said "really, you'll thank me one day"... but I dunno. I think that even if it's longer and messier, people should solve their own problems for the most part, and an outsider should not use violence to "cut to the quick", saying that the ends justify the means. I dunno.

Well, that's that for now.

Remember to vote.

Wenchie.

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily