Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Sept. 29, 2004 - 4:18 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

2002 Article reads Like Forseeing the Future in 2004

Egads, if you want to read something political and depressing, here is a page from pre- Iraq- War on the US plans to take over Iraq and install a pro-US govt since like 1998, with the policy, the history of the region and US involvement with Saddam before the gassing of Kurds, (which looks like it was done by Iran not Iraq), before and during the Gulf War, during the embargo, right up to the arms inspections. The names and backgrounds and histories of all the major characters in this whole mess, in government, in advisory bodies, in business. I swear. There are like 12 names that are just in everything. Everything. People say "this advisory committee told the govt"... and then the advisory committee is made up of the same people AS the gov't and Haliburton etc. Anyways, go ahead. There is too much in this one page from 2002 for me to even start to quote here. And you will just think, maybe, like me, that Bush and all should just be honest. There was a plan to get US access to Iraq since they started training and backing Saddam. There is no war on terrorism. There is a continual process to keep US power and access to the resources it needs in the world, whether in the middle east or central america. And quite frankly, if you in the USA want to continue to live in the most powerful nation in the world, with full control over the resources needed to continue your lifestyle as long as possible, you should vote for George W. Bush in the next election. Honestly, it is in your interests. It is not nice. Or moral. Or anything, except in your own national and thus personal interests. Back your military machine, the warmongers and profiteers who keep it running. Attack whoever you need to and you might have a terrorist attack here or there, but you will continue to have jobs producing munitions, and continue to have oil to produce Tupperware and drive SUV's and heat homes with three car garages.

That would be honest. And you can all go out and vote now. and you will know that when your young men die in wars, they are securing the oil that makes your country the most powerful and blessed with consumer goods in the world. Vote Bush I say, Vote Bush. Or Cheney, or whomever you want... and say "please stop lying... we like your America first plan!! Tell it like it is!!".

And for all those dying in other countries? Freedom is not for free.

Enough of that.

The same part of me that is spellbound by this issue is the part of me that was interested in the Vietnam war at eight, and apartheid at 9. The same part that made me cry for how large and out of my hands starvation in Somalia was at the age of 23. It is stupid and pointless.

I should just be happy I live in a wealthy nation with a high standard of living, as long as things are working in my interest, and shop and eat and party and have fun. Cuz reading about and stressing about these problems isn't gonna change a damn thing of processes set into motion a generation or two ago. The money and the power and the momentum are just boggling.

One day we may be like Germany in the late 30's... there will be moral crackdowns on homosexuals and intelligentsia, immigrants and dissenters. I will be hunted down like other deviants and people who ask too many questions and think too much. And just think, with the internet, and signing up for any articles you read etc, how easy it will be to hunt us down.

Why should the US and Canada be any different than Germany in the thirties and forties, Iran and Iraq, Russia or China? Why should the people in charge have to put up with us annoying gnats who protest and bitch, who try to put in laws that allow tolerance of difference, equal out inequalities, allow political dissent and voice to opposition of the elite and rich? I mean really. In some ways I guess that we don't need to be rounded up and held (now due to the Patriot Act, they can do so in secrecy, without charging us, without informing us of what we are charged with, without any obligation to due process, or giving anyone access to any part of the process from investigation, through arrest, incarceration, judging and punishment... ALL in secrecy... you know that don't you?? But of course they'll only use it against "suspected terrorists")...

Oh I may as well sing and dance now. Que sera sera. "if that's all there is my friend, then let's keep dancing" lalala.

There is a reason why there was so much partying in Berlin between the two world wars. It was the dance of those who knew that life can be short and anything good can be gone tomorrow. The dance of mortality. Fuck while you can and make merry.

Sorry, I have gone off on one.

It's just so big. And not even a conspiracy. Just we are living in a Risk game but we are not the players. Duh.

I will write another entry about just me and life yeah.
bye.
wenchola.
Who informs herself way way way too much.

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily