Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Jun. 15, 2005 - 11:41 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Dear Mr. Martin

I thought I'd pass on the letter I wrote to the prime minister of Canada yesterday.

Dear Prime Minister Martin,

I am writing to urge you to put through the Equal Marriage Bill as soon as possible.

I am a bisexual woman living in Canada and I fail to see how I become a lesser citizen if I am with a female partner instead of a male partner. In every meaningful way the relationship is the same. My love is the same, my future goals for a family life are the same, the protection needed for my relationship, my belongings, my healthcare, my heritage, my children is the same. My contribution to society is the same.

Please put into law the changes that have already been in place since oneman-onewoman marriage restrictions were deemed unconstitutional in most of the provinces and territories. Please validate on a federal basis the marriages my gay friends and colleagues have contracted in the past several years. The legal bodies of this nation have been clear that discrimination is unconstitutional.

Experience has shown that allowing gays to marry in these provinces and territories has had no detrimental effect upon society nor traditional marriages in the past several years. More married couples cannot but increase the stability of relationships for the betterment of society and raising children. All citizens, whether heterosexual, bi or homosexual should have the choice to marry or not.

Please remember that religious freedom is not equivalent to "protection of Christian churches to the detriment of those of other beliefs". I have a right to religious freedom as well. If Christians are not against buddhists, fornicators (ie those who have had sex outside of marriage) or Jewish people marrying despite these groups of people not following
the precepts of the Bible, I fail to see why they should bar gay people from marrying their partners. Freedom of religion dictates that Christian churches do not have to marry Jewish people, and neither would they have to marry gay people.

On the other hand a Christian in public office should carry out their public duties based on the law of the land, not based on their religious beliefs. If someone's religious beliefs dictate that women should not be educated, teach, use birth control or be employed outside the home, we do not allow them to abdicate their civil job duties in order to discriminate against women, since it is illegal in our society.

Similarly, if it is against someone's religious beliefs not to marry a gay couple, but it is illegal to discriminate against people according to their gender preference of partner, this is illegal discrimination and should not fall under religious freedom in our country.

I fully support citizen equality, regardless of race or gender, and I hope you will too.

Please stand up for the rights of all who live in Canada, and do not allow this issue to be put off indefinitely. Please give us equal protection under the laws of the land. Please pass Bill C-38 before the summer break.

Any Canadians out there? Or Americans who want to say that they think that Canada is a forerunner in human rights? You may write Prime Minister Martin at [email protected]

Thanks.
wenchie

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily