Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Aug. 21, 2004 - 6:49 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Egglpant Entree and Amazon Eh.

Ack I am insane.

I am so crinkled up from sitting at this computer it is not funny.

I seriously need to go out dancing or SOMETHING!!

I mean really... I don't have flamenco classes, I haven't been going to the gym, or the climbing gym, I have hardly been riding my bike, the bar is closed so no going out every weekend, no lake in front of my house to go swimming, canoeing, kayaking. I didn't go camping, so no hauling gear, hiking or chopping wood.

I haven't even done yoga more than once in the past month.

Ack. My poor body.

And on top of it, in like 5 days I have to be performing on stage with Mi*dori. eek... I feel so out of shape. Though I suppose she has tied up computer geeks in public before. Do you think one can get in shape in 5 days??

I can't believe how fast time is flowing by... yup, Mi*dori back in town this coming week... I am doing the performance with another girl, and going to three workshops, all of which I've been to before... flogging 101, predicament bondage and advanced rope bondage.

Not like I practice anything on anyone lately. It has even been awhile since I beat up poor slave clod... hehe. He likes it cuz he says I am sadistic... well, if someone wants to be slapped, you slap em eh.

Getting manhandled by Lucky Kitty, and being used for warmup by the FloggingDyke doesn't really count as me practicing rope bondage (and I even have some of that lovely odorific hemp rope!) nor practicing flogging. hehe.

Mmm. I gotta ask Lucky Kitty if I can put a photo of us together dressed as zombies from the Evil Dead night... it is funny, it is, with blood and messy hair and grey faces with sunken eyes. Very goofy.

And why am I up still at 5 minutes to 7am? Because I redid all the images for my website, since they were too pale. I had adjusted them to be brighter since they looked dark on my monitor, and then turns out my monitor is fucked. Today the nice computer guy came and did healthcare on my computer, and adjusted the monitor. He said it really actually needs replacing since when we push it to "brightest" and "highest contrast", it still is below what it is supposed to be at when it is set at Mid Bright. ack. Oh well. At least it is somewhat better, so now I could see how dull all the images were that I had uploaded.

It was a shitload of boring work let me tell you.

And then I thought, well, why not sign up for an associate at Amazon.ca as well, eh! So I did. And I must tell you, their site just totally sucks. Half the time I am not listed on the pages with the author, so don't turn up in search. Other times my name is spelled wrong. Most of the time I do appear I am listed as a second author instead of an illustrator.

and then they have a "submit corrections" feature... yeah, well, you can write down another writer, but not an illustrator. How stupid is that. And when you want to notify them of anything else (like the fact that they have an image of the cover for the softcover version, it makes no sense that they list the hardcover of the same book as "no image available")... it tells you to click on the "mailto: [email protected]" link... all very lovely, except the mail comes back as "no such address, undeliverable"... yup... brilliant eh.

That is not even the start of it. When you make links to put on your website, you have to separately download the html for the image and the text and paste it, and add yourself your website for the img src because unlike the amazon.com site, you have to download the image, save it to your own browser and insert it. The amazon.com site, the links are iframes, so the image, the text, the links all come in one html, clean and dandy.

But no, bloody Canadian subsidiary cannot even put the text and image in one link. ack.

AND the name of the gif in the html for the image does NOT match the name they have given the gif they tell you to download. I had to go and change all the html by hand (and it probably says in their agreement that you are not allowed to change anything). Geesh. I personally with minimal html skills can make proper link buttons that work.

Anyways, I am so totally not impressed, I really wonder if you actually get books when you order from them. They probably send you the wrong title after the 6-8 weeks they warn it will take to mail it out. The fuckers.

And these are the lameass people who are taking business away from real normal intelligent booksellers, and now I have become complicit in it all.

Anyways, IFF they update all the corrections I sent them, they should at least have three times as many search hits for my name as they do now. Stupid shits. See how cranky two or three hours of searching titles one by one, and sending them updates makes me?! hehe.

So that is what I have been doing.

Besides that I took photos of the damage the slugs have done to my poor hostas and kale, the amazing growth of my Virginia Creeper, which has gone from 2 feet tall to about 15 feet already, and my skinny spindly cherry tomato plants that lack in sunshine.

I should snap some shots of the amazing yellow zucchinis I am growing, and the adorable and long English cuke (two more are on their way) from the front of my house.

And for supper I had some eggplant shit I actually liked...it is wonderful to find a recipe that uses everything lying on your counter.

You cut up an eggplant and saute it in olive oil. You add four tomatoes, half an onion (yes, I had exactly half an onion), a half pound of mushrooms and one green pepper, all chopped. You add 1Tbsp of cider vinegar, 1 Tbsps honey, 1/4 tsp ea oregano, pepper and dry mustard, and 1/2 tsp basil.

Simmer til the veggies are kinda cooked. (Personally I like the onion done)... I ate it with mozza cheese on top which is not really the recipe but what the heck. And scooped it up all chunky like with Tostitos corn chips.

mmmmm. makes me want to dig the leftovers out of the fridge! mmmm.

Well, time to go to sleep now. zzzz.

Oh yeah, I made a decision about the art school thingie... it'll wait til next year. I will tell him he has to sublet it, or pay for Sept and Oct at least (normally for a year lease you have to give three months notice, not 10 days, starting on a Friday at 2pm). I have too much to do and no money to embark on something last minute. I will start teaching classes to individual kids from my home, and if it goes well, and I get more kids word of mouth, I'll see if I can take over the sublet in July.

But I need the time to find out about permits, put money aside, build up a pool of possible clients, put together a schedule, class descriptions, promo materials, buy furniture and art supplies, etc. yup. lots and lots to do. I'd be left with an empty apt for months if he doesnt sublet it.

So there.

Just focussing on my comics and my website right now, looking to send out a mass promo mailing in early Sept so hopefully I can up my financial situation and be able to consider things like the art school, travelling to Cuba, and adopting a kid. Hell, maybe even go to Musicfest, the gym and canoeing! :)

that's all now,

nitenite,

me, sleepy wenchie.

at 7:16 am

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily