Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Apr. 03, 2004 - 3:27 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Veal and Tofu make no more sense than Birds and Neurobiology

OK, I'm gonna put another entry. The first entry is about the Coroner's Office.

Lots of stupid little shit. Like today I went to the supermarket and there were veal and tofu sausages. VEAL AND TOFU! What is up with that?? Do you know anyone who eats veal who'd want it cut with tofu? Or people who go for tofu who'd jump at having a bit of veal shoved in with it?? Duh??

And yeah what's up with ME?? I looked to see if they had any game meat instead of all that poor feedlot meat that they sell (I don't eat much meat)... and then there was ONE package of ground bison. So, since I had particularly been looking to see if they had such a thing, I bought it, thinking, "I want to show that people want to eat non-feedlot meat". Haha, if I'd bought NOTHING I'd still show I wasn't buying feedlot meat, non? So weird. I felt like obligated to purchase it once I found it.

So I had bison hamburger with cheese for supper. The good thing is that it will be enough for 4 meals.

Maybe it was looking at all the photos of Inuit eating raw fish and meat in the books I got from the library today.

So, what do you do when you see a mistake, or something done wrong? Ignore it? Or try to correct it, or inform someone?

This is always a question to me. I think one should do the latter. The crux is learning to do it in a manner that doesn't insult anyone and that is actually effective. I need practice at that, and not just wanting to shout and strangle someone.

Though at the library I wanted to do neither. But when the guy didn't understand me I raised my voice above the acceptable library level which is quietly whispering... sort of like in church.

There was a neurobiology book in the section of ornithology and mammals. Big bird books, big mammal books, and then this small book of "how a nerve cell works"... totally out of place. I gave it to the guy at the desk not three feet away. He looks at the number and says "it goes in 599.1" Well, absolutely not. 599.1 is Birds and Mammals. Penguins and then Caribou. Not nerves, not brains, not cells. I said, it IS placed numerically in the right place. But the number is obviously wrong. He looked totally like "what the fuck?". I mean, really, if a human being can file a numbered book on the wrong shelf, it is just as possible for a human being to stick the wrong number on the spine of a book. It just seemed to be beyond his comprehension. As if books aren't numbered by fallible people. Even if it was PRINTED on the book, books are put together and laid out by fallible people. That's why they do printing proofs. So you can check if you did a stupid typo, or put the Quark file for your sister's wedding invitation instead of the ISBN. hehe.

Anyways, he finally laid it down on his desk when I wouldnt let him file the neurobiology book with the other 599.1 books. I suspect he just shoved it back when I left cuz I don't think he understood the problem one bit. But I did succeed in disrupting his afternoon and annoying him.

Last night there were two teenage packers chatting together and with some other teenage cashiers at the grocery store. Somehow they managed to shove my stuff into plastic carry bags while not looking at it, and put 900g pasta, one pound soya ground beef (hehe, and then bison today... wtf!), three large cans of tomatoes, a tomato, an apple, and 500g of tabouleh in a plastic container with pointy square corners all together in one bag with frozen spinach and two bananas. And then in a second bag, put one small can of mushrooms, and a tiny can of tomato paste.

Anyone see anything wrong with that? Well, THEY didn't cuz they were looking at the cute cashier and talking. Now *I* could look at a cute cashier, gabber AND pack well, but not them. So I"m rearranging the shit, so that both bags weigh about equally, and the bananas and tomato were not going to get squished. They sort of looked at me cuz I was not quickly exiting.

I said "in the future you might consider that metal cans and square plastic containers squish bananas and by the time I get home I would have banana sauce". Well, they were totally taken aback. As if they had studied months for their midterm exams and then I failed them for printing their name instead of writing it in cursive. Ack. It totally bugs me.

If I redo it, I am being a pain. If I don't redo it I end up with squashed food. Once I had a whole bag full of tinned goods covered in the avocado I bought, that had been squished by the metal edges. Another time it was a tomato. I have learned my lesson (repacking their stuff, not HOW to pack, which I learned when I worked in a grocery store when I was 17).

Well, fuck em anyways. But I hate it. Why can't someone train them properly. Do not put frozen food with bananas or they'll turn brown. Do not put soft fruit with tin cans or it'll be all squished. Ack. Oh well.

Me the complaining bitch who wants neurobiology books to be available to people who are looking for neurobiology books, and who wants to eat the fruit she pays for instead of wiping it off her cans at home. glll.

End of that rant.

Another weird thing... they've just announced on the radio that these two boys (well, a young man and his teenage brother) who came out of the BC brush last year, saying that they'd been raised away from civilization I believe, are actually from California. They were on tv and a family friend saw them and called their parents. Their parents have identified them with photos and birthmarks etc but the boys still insist their names are Tom and Will Green and not Kyle and Roen Horn. The Vernon BC community who has taken them in and is caring for them since they appeared last year is dumbfounded. Very strange story. And the best thing, if you are going to claim, falsely, to be a wild wood kid, is not to appear on international tv shows. Yup.

Well, I was going to write something about the hospital clinic, my foot, babies and books on adoption, but that's enough for now. Bye til later!

me,

wenchie

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily