Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Listening to today: Unfixed cats in heat meowling outside.

Reading Today: Unfathomable insurance clauses in French.

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Tuesday, Jul. 13, 2004 - 3:40 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Blahhdiddy blah

Drat and little fishes.

It is hard not having work I can go ahead on. I feel like I am wasting time. Not earning any money. Right now I have about $4000 of work on hold. That means it will not be billed, nor paid, for ages. It is stressful. Not to mention the lovely art director lady trying to cut down the price.

Thankyou Onewetleg for the negotiating suggestions... I just wrote them to say that I would do the illo at the price previously agreed upon, and would be willing to do any further illos for the same project at a lower renegotiated price to help keep the price down for her client.

Doesn't that sound both firm and nicely diplomatic and willing to help out? I hope so. Drat and big flopping around wetly slapping me in the face fishes.

Since I wrote the previous entry I've been trying to deal with paperwork and junk. I could write a book on paperwork and junk. But where would I find time? And wouldn't it just produce at least more paperwork, if not more junk? I sorted out this hardware box (it said "wench's nails and things" on the side) sitting on the kitchen table since I took it out of the newly cleaned shelves going to the basement. It was overflowing. Now it is an organized wonder of ziploc bags, with hinges in one, hooks and eyes in another, hardware for window blinds in yet another. Lovely. Just what the world needed, when you think of the priorities of world peace, hunger, the AIDS crisis etc. yeah.

But it looks so nice. I even put ALL the containers of screws in another box that said "SCREWS" hehe, yeah, like I'd label it "jellybeans" eh.

And then I hunkered down to the pile of mail.

Let me tell you, it is a good thing to open brown manilla envelopes when you get them even though you know it will eat up time.

Especially if they are from your insurer. "Read the changes to your policy on this form and reply within 30 days"... did I mention that it is dated June 2?? Well, sorry I was in that crazy rush on June 2.

I thought, oh, it is not like I am going to negotiate a house insurance contract eh? Or not renew it?? I can see it now. "Excuse me, but I don't agree with the coverage exclusion for damage caused by objects that water causes to be projectiles" Jeesh, what kind of exclusion is that?? If the waterheater springs a leak, and causes a sponge to float across the floor, blocking a drain, thus a higher flood line, is that still not damage caused by the waterheater problem?? Almost anything could be caused by an object put in motion by water.

"And I don't like the fact that you exclude damage due to all sorts of mushrooms and spores, including mildew"... when you think of it, much of the end results of water damage, that causes you to actually throw out the books and clothes and plaster and such, is mold and mildew. If it was just wet, you could dry it out in many cases. No mushroom coverage. It is a new thing.

And the terrorism... no coverage if a suicide bomber blows up my bicycle at the same time as his guts. Shit.

But the worst thing is that I forgot that only the fiveplex insurance comes out of my account automatically (that is some of the explanation, together with the life insurance, the cable internet, the Fedex shipments etc, why my account is draining even though I have not been withdrawing cash). Indeed the insurance for my home office, a whopping $635, needs me to write a check, and I am in arrears. Dangerspouse knows about not paying insurance.

Actually I think it is ok, except for the damage to my heart due to the stress hormones streaming into my arteries when I realized that I REALLY don't have enough $$ to be buying nonrefundable plane tickets to see polkaing uncles and goofy drunk cousins. Oh well. Did I mention, NONREFUNDABLE? yeah.

Oh what the hell. A little financial stress is good for the system, non? At least my student loan is paid off.

WAAAAHHHHH!!!! SOMEBODY HIRE ME TO WORK!!!!! WAAAAHHHH!!!

sorry.

I do have another fullcolour children's book to do, deadline Dec 15th. It is a whole whopping $2000. That means $1000Cdn for each full month's work. whooooooeeeee!!! If I start working on it now, that comes out to $400 a month. mmm. nice. And I think it is 32 pages instead of the 24 pages the Far North book was. Just in case I had nothing to do, or didn't want to actually work for money.

But artists should be broke! And happy to work for free so that art will flow freely into the world. Cuz they love art lalala.

The problem with downsizing, is it is not easy.

I don't remember having to pay $635 for home office insurance when I lived in two rooms.On top of personal insurance for the rest of the living space. No I do not. I will admit I like having a half basement with a workbench left over from whatever little old man lived here in the 1950's, instead of doing "projects" in the kitchen like I did at my last place...

I could always kill the dog, and use her trailer to do deliveries for a grocery store.

BTW the trailer is coming along. Last coat of paint on the handles today.

I am blabbering.

I will go and tackle the receipts from the past week now (ie file them) and then start in on the tax report for the last quarter.

Did I ever mention that I had no desire to be an adult in the real world??

And I had forgotten how lovely and escapist novels are?

Between Diaryland and novels I could just sit here til they cart me away.

so so tempting.

lalala.

me, wenchie.

Here is my horoscope for Monday, July 12:

Once again, you're placed in the simply awful, just intolerable position of being the star of the show --possibly for several days. Oh, bear up -- and try not to be smug.

MMMWWWAAAAHHHHAAAHHHAAHHHAAAA... they simply awful, just intolerable might fit for the finances and work situation, but "star of the show"?? mmmwwwaahhhaahhhaahhhaaa

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily