Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2004 - 7:50 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Blood and Bugs on a WooHoo Day

Hullo hullo!

WOOO HOOO WOOOOOOOOHOOOOO!!!!!!

It suddenly occured to me upon dropping off the car (used to pick up the post-op doggies) at 4pm this afternoon that I HAVE NO DEADLINES OR WORK TO DO IMMEDIATELY!!

WOOO HOOOOO!!!!!

We'll just forget for a moment that I haven't made Christmas cards, started on the finals for the Leo's Dog book, washed the bathroom out, gotten the Christmas tree, put up the Ikea Billy shelves yet...

The thing is I DON'T HAVE TO DO ANY WORK FOR TOMORROW!! Nor the next day nor the next. Last night I even drew two pages of comics so I didn't have to do that today.


copyright 2004 wench77: snowy the day Onewetleg arrived for a visit!
I stayed up til 7am, but by that time I had done 16 small drawings of adults in various professions and faxed them, inked and colored in four drawings for the Adult Language Ed people,
scanned them, wrapped them up and called Fedex for their pickup, and the said two pages of comics. There was a slight glitch in that my internet server was offline from 3am onward, so I couldn't upload the comics nor send the scans of the drawings as my client wished. Details details.

Up at 12:30 (zzzzz) and picked up the doggy. Thank god it was freezing rain. Yes, you heard that correctly. Thank god I was late, cuz I got a warning call from the carshare people saying that the car I was using was out of wiper fluid AND the previous driver couldn't get the hood open. Thank god there was freezing rain, cuz it replaced the missing wiperfluid (non I could not get it open either... it is at the car doctor's now) so I didn't drive off the highway or the bridge into the freezing river. Yay for freezing rain!

Doggy was THRILLED yes THRILLED to see me. She never pulls on the leash (she stops walking and *I* pull, but she doesn't pull)... but when the guy brought her out from the back room at the vet she was totally dragging him across the floor in her enthusiasm. Her ear doesn't look as bad as I thought it would. It is very funny looking, with a sort of spiral of little stitches all over it, so it looks like a quilt for a doll house. Unfortunately for once I have not a single roll of film in the house. Tomorrow.

I also got her nails cut while she was under anaesthesia. One would think a vet could do this properly. Well, they seem to have cut into the vein on at least three nails. When I got her home I thought it was her ear bleeding all over the place (the front yard snow looks like I slaughtered a couple of rabbits)... they told me the wound needs to stay open and not scab over so it can drain for a week (I have to keep swabbing it with peroxide so it doesn't scab). But non, it was her toes. What a mess!
You cannot really tell from this bad polaroid how much blood is there... what you see on the floor (large blobs size of quarters) happened in less than five minutes while I called the vet and she was in the kitchen. Thank GOD for wood floors vs carpet. They told me to shove her foot in flour. Yes, flour. haha. it worked! it globs up with the blood and clots. yay!!!!!

Now she's having a big sleep.

The woman on the phone at the vets said "oh she was so CUTE yesterday!" and I was like "what did she do?" "when she came out of anaesthetic, she was crying like a little baby for like three hours". Poor puppies! I fail to see how that is cute, and I am very glad I didnt have to hear it. Dang. Now she's home and doing fine. And the vet said not to worry about her ear, that it won't freeze without a hat. Fortunately , you may guess what with freezing rain that it is no longer minus 23�. In fact tomorrow they are predicting plus 9 (that is in the forties for those of you who don't know Celcius)... I don't think she'll freeze! Yay! So no funny pictures yet of her with a hat!


Aphids on Oleander, copyright 2004 Wench77
Well, those are the nasty yellow aphids I found on my Oleander, once i got rid of the scale insects. Dang eh! You can see how they were on the finished flower stalks, which fortunately I could chop off. Gone into the trash bin, extermination to the aphids. As far as I can tell they haven't come back. yay!

Dang. Now I wish my family was in town. NOW i have time for Christmas shopping. Today, tomorrow, Friday til six. Dang. Oh well.

And what am I going to do about the Dad thing?? He has gotten himself into first gear and sent a present in time for Christmas yet again. I think that is two or three years now. Is he ill? And better yet, what shall I do? Buy a prezzie late (it's happened before... and esp since his birthday is in January, I can send stuff to arrive for both xmas and bday) and send it with photos from his visit with no mention of anything? Send nothing? Send a Christmas card just signed "love your daughter"?

Christmas is not really the time to bring up issues along with the greetings. Or I COULD pull an "ob" and send an email saying "Merry Christmas" as the subject and then write "do not contact me, get out of my life" as a nice passive aggressive putdown on a supposedly cheery day. I of course would be expected to call to wish Merry Christmas on the 24th or 25th, but I fail to see how I can do this while steering away from addressing the fact I asked him to leave my house, that he has sent me a 12 page letter about it and my life, and the fact that I have remained incommunicado for the past two months since then. Dang. Anyone have any brilliant wonderful advice for plans of action I have not considered?
I have spoken with L'Ecrivaine who invited me to share Christmas with her and her wife, and we have decided that the 26th is a better idea than the 25th (hell, getting a car or public transportation alone on the 25th would be a nightmare) cuz I want to lounge around in pjs and eat After Eights (they are bought and awaiting me) and read novels. I still have FOUR yes FOUR that were presents from LAST Christmas to read. I don't think I'll make my way through them on the 25th. I am not a fast reader.

WEll, I'm having a sudden brain blank. I think I will try to catch up on a bit of sleep, and then write another entry about several things I read about or heard today, including "why when we keep fighting poverty, does it not go away?" (I think this one is up there with the war on terrorism and the war on drugs... but that is yet another topic)

cheers!

tired wenchie

5 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily