Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Mar. 25, 2004 - 2:32 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Review-allergic Wench Gets a bObO-review!!

Hey there! Second entry tonight. Please read the first, which is a bunch of memorable words by the current US President.

Hey, I was silly and got a review. This to me is rather like going to Quizilla. You submit your answers and they pop out a judgment. Which I can take or leave and certainly don't feel like I am actually wanting to know who I am.

For your entertainment and edification I present my bObO-review! Tada!

Go and visit them. And here is their cute little link button:

Note that I requested this review on a whim after reading one of the first great reviews my bud Onewetleg got. The reviewer can actually spell AND read profiles! yay! It was before the great wft-review fiasco.

Interestingly my review results directly reflect what I said in that review fiasco entry. They gave me 20/35 for my layout, which as they so correctly note, is a basic diaryland template with a Ganesha shoved in. I did add some options which I haven't used lately... ie "Now reading", "Now listening to" and "Quote today" (lately I have not had the time to read anything but the newspaper during my coffee, and not listening to anything but the radio. My cd player has decided to sort of not play lately. And I've been busy and tired)

I changed the color to a purpley color I got off someone else's website (and yes, I got written permission to steal the #), and added the Pueblo blessing and the warning at the top. I wish there wasn't a warning at the top, but some people have acted like I am writing "The Guardian Daily News" rather than my diary. Sorry if the warning bugs people. It is MEANT to be read. Hopefully if you read often, your eyes will quickly disregard it and jump to the title where the entry actually starts, which didn't happen for this reviewer. oh well. I considered another color, but think it will just grab MORE attention then. I want people to read it, yet I don't want it to stand out. I don't want it to be ignored but i don't want it to annoy people. Oh dilemna.

But no, it is not an artistic template. I firstly am not sure how to write the html properly to change the whole template when it has things like the diaryland "older", "entry" and stuff like that in it for every webpage. I have only done html from scratch on my geocities site, where there is NOTHING that carries over from page to page. And if I feel like playing with html (which some people like Onewetleg just thrive on) I will probably do it there, where I won't fuck up every diary entry I've ever done by making some wonky template. yeah. BTW no one has told me their browser is incompatible with the Diaryland template. I cannot say the same for other templates I look at. Most of them are wonky in either Netscape or IE, with text that moves when I try to click on it. Links that are invisible til I look at the source code, words that disappear under scrollboxes. I think my template works like a charm thankya ma'am!!

But frankly, I don't care. I want to WRITE the entries and I want people to READ the entries. I want you to look at the photos I put, not at my totally cool template. I am in love with . But she never puts pictures, just words. To me having a funky template would be like putting wild wallpaper on the wall of an art gallery, and then putting up different artwork every day. urk. So you get diaryland with Ganesha, who was important to me when I started writing.

Another reason I don't want to change the template is that it is retroactive. Suddenly my entries with Ganesha from september won't look right anymore. This is like if I updated my agenda book for 2004, and suddenly my grade 6 diary was written in 1974 changed to the writing and paper of my 2004 agenda book. urk. I personally usually dislike when my favorite diaries change their template. It is like your best friend suddenly reincarnated in the body of a different person. Weird. The exception is when I didn't much care about their diary look to start with or it was difficult to navigate etc. Otherwise it throws me for a loop and I have to get used to it. I am STILL nostalgic about Alternamommy's old template pic, and the colors of Owcowkee's, which is now gone. and LaSlice's was the yellow and orange diaryland template before which made me think of slices of oranges and lemons. byebye. sniff sniff.

Ahah! bObO-review's ratings run parallel to my own priorities. 20/35 for the template, but 45/45 for content. I am a happy bunny let me tell you!!! Yay! Like I said, I want to WRITE the entries and I want you to READ the entries. And I got 100%. No comments. Thanks bObO-reviews!! Yay!

Extras... 7/15. Well, shiver me timbers. I guess I don't have multiple diaries like Onewetleg, nor a gazillion diaryrings (what is UP with those anyways? I have NEVER figured out how they work nor really desired to). I put so many pictures in my entries you can scarcely say I deprive my readers of "extras". I put so many LINKS into my entries that many days it would take about an hour of reading to read all the newsstories, entries, Amazon reviews etc that I link to in my writing. If that is not extras I don't know what is. Let me see. If you get a car with NOTHING in it, but I say, hey, here is a catalogue of extras you can order, why is that MORE extras than if the car COMES with all those already in the car? I dunno. I don't have a "recipes" page any more than I have a "photos" page, but I do pass on good recipes in my entries... ya just have to read them. uhhuh. And hey, I am not lazy. I wrote 101 things for Onewetleg as well as myself, AND filled out all the "favorite movies" etc spaces on the profile page, AND put a photo... not that many diarists I read put a photo there. Oh well. Sorry people! You'll have to live with the full full satisfying entries and forget the extras. (I did listen to their advice and link to my surveys under Ganesha there though)

I DO agree on the problem of the "olders" page having all the entries on it and long to load. Hmm. I hate archives that other people have. I will go back through olders, but once it just says "02/03" I admit I am not tempted to go there. Kind of like when I put my tax paperwork into an envelope marked 2003. It goes on a shelf. Perhaps why it is called "archives". Hmm. I should see if I can find a way to have more than one older page. I dunno. All that stylesheet automatic shit that diaryland does. hmm.

Finally, the first thing they commented on, my name. Hmm. Some people have said in their profiles that I am "definitely not a wench!!" and yet they gave me full points. Very curious. At least they didn't give me 0/5 cuz they thought I was a man, like wtf did. hehe. As for the 77, I forget, but I believe it is cuz I put "wench" and that was taken as a username so I put 7 cuz I like it, and of course we know that those things need at least two digits, not one, to sound good, so I put a second 7. There ya go. 77. Like 99 on Get Smart. That's all the reason. Yay for 7.

That's all I have to say about my one and only review. I realize getting it that how it presents is totally consistent with what my priorities are. And that I don't write to have someone check out my "site" as a package. And thusly I don't think I'll get another review.

Besides, how is my ego going to stand getting under 80% at anything? This is why I don't have people rate my home! They'd go "well your sock drawer is really well organized, and all the food in your freezer is homecooked. Your drawings for clients are fantastic, and your studio has a really lovely lived in feeling. But your entry hall has dogdrool walls, it still has only primer and sketch lines for the paint job planned five years ago, you have dust everywhere, and you haven't cleaned your basement since they sawed the concrete floor". And I'd have to totally agree. I live in my studio. I fold all my socks and organize them by color, I love freezing homemade food. I cannot be bothered to wash my entry walls cuz the dog will drool again tomorrow and unlike the hair on the floor, it doesn't come off onto my clothes and backpack, I am so used to the lack of paintjob I don't even see it, and if a surface has dust on it, it is because it is something I don't use, so I don't care. Finally I don't have time to look at the basement. Not a priority. hehe

Thanks again to bObO-reviews! yay! If you want a fair and intelligent review, go to visit them. They seem right on and downright ok. Tah!

Here is my horoscope for Wednesday, March 24:

You're a little slow on the uptake these days. Call it a mood to reflect and savor instead of a learning disability. You'll never get anywhere at this rate, but maybe you're happy where you are.

Hehe. a learning disability. hehe. I dunno. I had a great meeting with a client today, as well as a great talk with a stranger named Bob about squirrels and ants. That seems good to me! tah!

hugs, wenchie, me.

5:25 am just about to go to bed and I run into this thingie at Meeyapede's Place yeah hehe:

My Merovingian name is Faileuba the Lascivious.
Take Merovingian Name Generator today!
Created with Rum and Monkey's Name Generator Generator.

0 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily