Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Jan. 23, 2005 - 5:41 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Cheese May Await Me

OK I have survived without chocolate and I was a good girl and despite going to the washroom about fifty one times from drinking so much Postum, I got the actual dog of Leo's Dog book colored in on all the images except a couple where he will be integrated into the actual background... ie where he is swimming in the water... the water needs to flow directly into his hair, so I will do him all at once with the general background.

So that is a good thing. Tomorrow I hope to get all of Leo colored in. Then I can start in on everything else... and yes, thanks, the bridge DOES look like a bridge... but I was procrastinating on painting the dog and Leo when I did that. LOL!

I think I am going to have to be totally stuck here doing nothing but work for the next three weeks... I have no idea how I am going to get this done AND start the South Korea contract next week. Insane. Now WHY didn't I do this in December? Or June? Oh yeah, I was taking on extra work with the Adult language Ed people so I'd actually earn some money. They might even send me a check in the next week or two. Unfortunately as usual it will be spent before it arrives.

And that is a bummer. I really need to resole my birkenstocks. Sigh. This is an important thing in January.

Hey, my whole house smells like burnt popcorn. Or not burnt popcorn, just the hot popcorn oil. I found a discarded burnt 10" cast iron skillet someone had thrown on the curb on garbage day. So I boiled some baking powder in it... (it boiled dry... looked like an amazing chemical experiment... I took photos)... and that totally lifted out all the burnt... so I scrubbed it out with steel wool and have been treating it and my other 10" cast iron skillet on the stove while I work.

I just set the burner on low, and then swipe the whole inside with a kleenex dipped in cooking oil every hour or so. It makes this great non-rust non-stick coating. Very cool. mmm.

Now if I had some eggs I'd fry one or two just to admire my handiwork! But dang the house stinks!! It totally overwhelmed the lovely pesto smell from last night.

Dang, what is with these women who do CUTESY artwork (look who's talking)... no I mean really... bright colored round faced little girls and bunnies sort of drawn like coloringbooks... or cartoon characters. I met with the second of my beginner illustrator wannabes last night. She is into po*intillism (gosh I hope she doesn't google pointi*llism ... maybe I'll add an asterix... I'd hate for her to end up here!). By that she means making ALL the lines and ALL the coloring in of her drawings by dabbing the point of a felt marker. It sort of looks like drawings done on a hook rub. Personally I found it a bit much.

And wasnt the point of poin*tillism that our eyes see little dots of light, the primary colors or whatever, and we put them together in our brains from them little rods, into a picture we make sense of? I think it came about at the same time as studies were being done on the eye, light, and on photography. I don't think it just meant applying the color like in a coloring book, but going dot dot dot. It was more like a printed picture, which if you look at it has a screen print of dots of each color CMYK... which Lichtenstein played with. Here's a Seurat. Anyways... I encouraged her in the direction she took in several more personal works where she actually DID integrate line into the drawings... it was a relief for my brain. yes.

And where do they think they are going to sell these cutesy drawings? I mean I guess there is a market for it... I send them out to research their market of possible clients and products... cuz the book illustration market I work for is not going to hire them. Though that is not my problem.

Also, what is with not doing profiles, or people bending over, or the back of them, or looking at their feet? Why are they always looking at us with starry little eyes, flat on? I don't know. But I tell them they need to imagine "what happens next?" ... ie if they have an adorable brightly colored roundfaced little urchin with a butterfly on their nose, what happens THEN?? Do they sneeze cuz the butterfly tickles? Do they swat it off? Does their mother call them for dinner? Do they need to pee? Will their younger brother knock them over trying to catch the butterfly? I dunno...

What can I say... I hate to say I obsessively drew the same two or three poses of faces and people at first too. But then I was 16, not 40 with three kids and showing in galleries. Apparently there are a lot of galleries which show brightly colored roundfaced kids drawn with watercolor or felt marker. Who knew. Cute cute cute.

Thank GOD I am drawing a book where the guy whacks the dog over the head to drown it, and then nearly dies himself. Death to cute death to cute. Or rather, I'll leave it to these other women. Sigh.

I am having horrid tempting thoughts of not going back to my watercolor class til I finish this book. Am I horrid? Lazy? No not lazy, not if I am working full-on on this book. That class just ruins me for Wed, Thurs and Friday. Dang.

OK, I am going on and on. I am hungry. There is no chocolate. Still.
There also is no bread. The last piece was dipped into the cockaleekie soup at 7pm. Dang. That means no grilled cheese.

Oh poop, they say that the big snowstorm that dumped so much um, yeah, snow, on the States etc is now heading for Atlantic Canada. Do you know what that means? That means that the inch or two of snow we had tonight is IT. No big exciting everythingshutsdown snowstorm like Chaosdaily had. Sniff. sniff. I feel deprived. What is the point of tolerating winter up here without the drama of a good blizzard? Dang.

I have to go see what I can melt cheese on. The spaghetti is gone. I think there might be one serving of macaroni left uncooked. That would accept cheese it would. Melted melty drippy mmm nummy cheese. mmmm.
Just about as good as chocolate.

Nope, with salt and butter, it is BETTER than chocolate!

byebye!
me
wencholameltola

Here is my horoscope for Saturday, January 22:

Go beyond the usual. Maybe you're the first one to catch a mistake, or maybe you're the only one who can do anything about it. No matter what it means to anyone else, this is sure to be a personal victory for you.

Have you ever notice that these "horoscopes" are like the expanded version of the Chinese Fortune Cookie... but unfortunately lacking the cookie?? ps, the macaroni with cheese, butter and salt is GREAT! mmm.

Oh, another note... if you haven't already... go up in the entry and click on the "birkenstocks" link... and once there... look at all the photos in that photoessay..."Dress for Success"... it's very funny... it shows all the work fashion "no no's"... practice your german or just figure out what they are (no naked legs at work. Sexy is good but do you want to be known as the sexbomb of the office? Muscleshirts... not a good idea for a professional image... it is very funny)

pppppsssss... that is a third ps...I just figured out what is wrong with the radio. It's SUNDAY morning... no traffic reports and zippy music for your ride to work... just oldies, weather reports for the day, and classical music. funny. tah!

5 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily