Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Nov. 20, 2004 - 3:59 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Another Day Flies By

OK, somehow this whole day has gotten away from me.

I planned to start work on my Leo's Dog book at 3pm, after I finished my comics page.

HAHAHAHA. It is 4am and I have not started yet.

Dealing with the art director lady on the phone (see last entry written early this afternoon), trying to get another half hour sleep, two different people coming up to chat with me while I was at the coffeeshop to draw the comics page. I only got two panels drawn.

Was stressed out from that, and it was about 5:30 pm so I DID WEIGHTS!! Yeah! go wenchie!! yeah! Feels great btw... way less stress in my shoulders and I feel proud. Must do that more often.

Then I went to the other coffeeshop to get the comics done... was on a roll so I did three pages instead of one... so at least I'll be fine tomorrow when I will be at the Book Fair all afternoon signing books and then for supper with the author.

Now it was 10 pm. Plan to directly walk the dog and get to work.

My aunt called... my dad's older sister. Returning a call asking to talk about their family, my grandma when they were kids etc. She is the greatest, my aunt. We spoke for two hours. She was married to an alcoholic and had eight kids. She has dealt with lots of shit. She knows how to call a spade a spade and knows loyalty doesn't mean covering up. She is one of the most loving people I know. I totally admire her. (and when I was a kid, her daughters played "restaurant" when I visited and served me grilled cheese sandwiches with pickles... how could I NOT love them?!! LOL!).

Anyways, she totally calls my dad on his behaviour. Said he talks to me like when i was a kid. Has no respect. Acts like a dry alcoholic. She also said some interesting things about my grandma. Apparently my grandma and grandpa argued all the time. My grandma had like a photographic memory for dates and events. It was a bit annoying cuz if you said "when is so and so's birthday?" she'd reply " I told you that last Christmas, you should know". Cripey.

Anyways, apparently my grandpa ARGUED with my grandma about dates and events. Silly man. But weirdly, my aunt remembers (and my father has said this too) that they hated that my grandma had to be right, that she'd argue, or get her diary, or call someone to prove her point. And that she was always right. "she had to be right" they say. Funny thing is one would use that term for someone who insisted they were right when they weren't, one would think. I don't know what is wrong with someone arguing they are right when they ARE right and KNOW they are!!

I said, isn't that funny... that's what my dad says to me. And I wondered why my grandpa would argue with her instead of appreciating her phenominal memory?? Why wouldn't he just accept she knew, and use her like a great reference book he respected. Instead of saying "no, it mustve been on August 5th" when he was wrong, why didn't he say "When was that locust swarm, dear? On August 9th, 1946? Thanks dear, so wonderful I can trust your memory".

Why argue with someone who is right, until they get out their diary or call the neighbor to prove you wrong? Nuts. I mean really, imagine how much less arguing there wouldve been, AND respect for Mom, if Dad and the kids accepted that Mom had a great memory? No more forgetting birthdays, or having to write notes... just ask mom when you want to know.

Nuts.

Anyways, fascinating, but it took up a good two hours.

So then it was 12midnight. Finally walked the poor doggy. Chatted with a woman walking HER dog in the park... someone I don't know. Turns out she lives just around the corner. Seems maybe my age. When she took off her hat, I was like "gee, she is really quite good looking!" hehe. Whatever.

So then it was 1am, and I have no idea what has happened since then. Other than someone left me a comment in my guestbook at my comics site and was saying she is bothered by my current storyline, where a little girl says to another character "you can't have kids, you're not married" and her mom goes "you know that's not true!" and gives her examples of her friends that have unmarried parents, or where the parents are married but to stepparents not to the biological father for instance.

The commenter said that the "liberal parent" was basically being the same way as a conservative parent by ordering the little girl to accept unwed parents. Weird. So I replied to the poster. And now i am making a webpage with the reply to link to the comic story. With references. Oh you know me. I am referencing it to death. Perhaps one day I'll share my response.

In the meantime, while googling I found this amazing site which you should check out. It debunks a bunch of myths and "common knowledge"... It is called "Thou Shalt Not Bear False Witness- The Lies We Tell Ourselves About America, and it is by "Christian Ethics Today: A Journal of Christian Ethics". Sounds iffy perhaps but it is brilliant. Check it out and be flummoxed by the flow of facts you should know and didn't.

That is my hint of the day.

Have fun!

OH! I must mention that my green tomatoes I left in a box (from the front garden) are turning red, and I just ate one sliced on 7grain bread with mayo and salt. May I say "TO DIE FOR!!!", my god. Even if it is not vine-ripened, it is SO good I cannot believe it.

Well, gotta get back to making that reply webpage, and then get some work done. Gotta get to the Book Fair in the morrow! cheerio!
me
cheery Wenchie.

tah!!!

6 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily