Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Music Today: Classic Rock on the radio...ie my highschool soundtrack!!

Reading Today: Refresher notes on CPR and First Aid for DMs

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Mar. 13, 2005 - 5:25 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Busy Wenchie DMs with the Girls

yo yo yo! busy busy day!

I got some sketches traced while I listened to a Robert Munsch interview... the guy is great. A middle child of 9 kids can you believe it. He said that there were so many kids of different ages, that with all that they were involved in, that the world came through your house. You could just stay home and it all came to you! Wow. I dare say I'm feeling some of the grass is greener stuff there. Gosh, if I have two people a month in my door these days, it is a miracle I swear.

Also, I didn't know... the book "Love You Forever" was written sort of to the two stillborn babies that he and his wife had. And they played the Kenny Rogers song "The Gambler"... he says it reminds him of that time... "Know when to fold your cards, know when to run"... he says that they had to take a look at their trying for babies and fold their cards. They adopted.

That choked me up. I always disliked that book, found it sort of creepy, but it makes a lot of sense as a eulogy to dead babies he never raised. Dang.

So, that was a great excellent interview to listen to. And I couldn't draw my comic while listening to it, so I had to go out again tonight to do it.

But I did get all of Chapter 6 of the South Korean book traced. Yay! I'll start transfering chapters 4-6 onto watercolor paper tomorrow. I still haven't completely finished coloring in chapters 1-3 which I'd hoped to have done on Friday. Grrrr.

I'm really thinking I have to call the Poetry Book people and tell them there is absolutely NO WAY I can do that book for their scheduled release date. It is NOT going to happen. shit and poop and fart and all that. I have to keep reminding myself I am not the only one. The reason the South Korea contract is late is that someone didn't finish in time. The reason that the babysitter book I did last fall was three years late (yes, I signed the contract in Nov 2001, and did it LAST FALL!!) was that the author took three years longer than projected to finish the text. Etc etc etc. I am not the only one who fucks up schedules, I am not. (see me pleading with myself to let myself off the hook a bit???)

I asked on the cartoonists yahoolist I'm on if anyone had any repetitive stress problems from drawing and what they do for it. Got some good suggestions like putting one of my tables up on an angle for when I do my sketches, take Ibuprofen, rub physiotherapy cream into my hand and arm in the morning, hot baths etc. But mostly they said "you need to take a long break. You need to cut your workload". Yeah yeah yeah. That is what a doctor would say.

When I got tennis elbow from massaging too much when I earned my living from it, I went to a sports therapy clinic. They said "STOP DOING IT AND IT WILL GET BETTER" gee thanks. hehe. One does not change professions one afternoon. One can STOP but then one might not be able to pay any bills for a good long time. dang.

So, I worked on the South Korea sketches, the colored finals, started putting the pencil lines on the finals, discussed and negotiated putting my comics on the pay subscription site. I was thinking of doing my page a day at the free site, and doing a page a week at the subscription site, but after discussion, will switch it around. That way I will get many more hits and I get paid per hit at the subscription site. Anyone who wants to read my comics archives for free better do it now. Yup! Limited time offer!

OK< so I was negotiating on the phone, AND working at the same time, and then it was past midnight so I dressed up... translation: took off my longjohns and jeans and put a pair of leather pants. Kept the same sweater but tucked it in. Put black eyeliner around my eyes, polished my boots. hehe. BIG dress-up!

I figured it is "low-key wenchie". The people holding the girls playparty were very happy I came just to work mostly. I was happy to see many old friends and meet some new people. Lots of grinning girls getting beaten and caressed, always a good thing. Nummy munchies... gorgonzola cheese, fruit, veggies and hummus, chocolate chip cookies. mmmm. And I helped dry all the dishes at the end.

So that's cool. I certainly haven't been a community livewire lately, but I felt it was important to show up and pitch in so that I wasn't just a phantom presence on the email list. So, job accomplished. I even go to render a service and drive someone home since I had the community carshare car til 5am.

So now it is bedtime. I'll try to get up earlier tomorrow (today I wasn't so early)... if I get to bed before 6 it will be good. Last night after getting all the black and white images colored in for the first three South Korea chapters, I ran a hot bath, packed a hookah, made a grilled cheese and a coffee (yeah, it is a weird combo) and lounged in the tub for an hour, watching smoke sinuously curling through the air.

And thinking up possible art class themes for children... I mean why the hell RELAX eh? Or think up things that are NOT to do. Like sitting on the couch watching tv. Some people do that, I KNOW they do...

OK, so at least I got in the hot bath and the relaxation ok.

So, that's it. Night night.
wenchie
on her last 5 days of having a head of hair!!
... I have raised over $200 already! yay!!!!!!
go shavee go!!

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily