Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Song Today

Quote Today

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2004 - 3:02 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Do Doggies speak Veterinarianese??

Ah, I am taking a wee breaky-poo.

You know, I really dislike the "WARNING!! blah blahblah permission" thingie up there. I may write my own disclaimer and take that down. I like what that says but at the same time, i dunno, it seems so incredibly HOSTILE! eek! And I have a hard time maintaining hostile. It comes and goes but doesn't maintain.

I am having a wee breaky-poo (no that is not a break for a wee poo) since I am STARVING (well, dead tired too but that doesnt seem to be taken into consideration by my boss,ie myself, these days) and I have mostly finished the sketch for my new comic book cover.

I just realized that if I sell you rats (um, DEVOTED READERS!) copies of my comic, or post my cover with lettering here, you will all know my whole complete real name. And I would have to kill each and everyone of you, or disappear into a completely anonymous diary. Drat.

So, none of you gets to read my comics, unless you already know who I am, in which case you can just keep to yourself all my ridiculous self-disclosure here on this site.

Hah.

Well, bad news. My doggy is fucked yes fucked. She has really bad hip dysplasia, and bad knees that have already been operated on (five years ago), and tons and tons of arthritis. Now it turns out that she has pain in hips, knees, ankles, elbow AND the new thing, shoulders. Damn and goddamn. I made the vet appointment cuz she's been using her front legs to haul herself up from sitting for a couple months now.

Well, there is nothing to be done. The vet is going to put her on anti-inflammatories for life. Some kind of liquid thingie that will help the pain. If she were young we could discuss hip replacement, but that is not feasible for an older dog of her size.

So she is in pain. All the time. Til she dies. Drat and drat and poor baby. I already have stopped getting her to sit as her obedience thing for getting her dinner, treats, wiping her feet etc. I now make her "give a paw" while standing. And I will have to buy carpeting for all of the hallway, cuz where it is hardwood floors she cannot get up, and I have to help her. It is sad.

She's really healthy otherwise, and peppy and playful. I guess I'll just have to deal with it.

Or rather, she'll have to deal with it.

It was horrid today at the vet's in that it is 45 minute drive on the highway. I allotted 4 1/2 hours for the round trip. But after chatting with me, and doing the preliminary checkup, they took her in the back for about an hour and a half. So here it was 45 minutes to the time I needed to return the community car share, and I was just entering into the office to discuss her diagnosis. I was stressed and rushed and they were not understanding my french and vice versa (or rather we were not connecting on veterinarianese

I guess it is partly my fault. They asked if she had difficulty getting up in the morning, and I made a joke that it was impossible to get her up in the morning (she is such a night owl like me now that the last time I tried to get her to go for 10am walkies she just snored, let alone got up)...

We went on to what I thought was another topic... ie how can I tell whether she is in pain or not (this is a dog which will happily run on two bum knees that logically couldnt hold her weight)... they kept saying, well if she has more difficulty getting up in the morning. I said she had difficulty getting up all times of the day, so why "in the morning"?? Turns out that they had misunderstood my "rousing herself" to mean "physically lifting herself", and thought I was being annoying and obtuse when after saying she had difficulty getting up in the morning I was now contradicting myself.

Much annoying lack of communication followed, in which apparently I missed the pronouncement of the word "extension"... the vet finally went to my dog laying on the floor, pulled her back leg totally behind her till poor doggies whined and squealed, and said "I SAID you see if extension causes pain". When I countered that I hadn't heard the word "extension" (nor understood what she meant by it... to me a dog extending its' leg is just not having the knees bent. Ie when it is standing up, not when it is doing some ballet movement), she said I "didnt want to understand" and "two other witnesses in the room HEARD me say extension". (there were two veterinary students with her). So. Let it be known, when stressed for time, and speaking to professionals in another language, do NOT miss a word, since it means you have NO DESIRE TO UNDERSTAND, and you are being willfully obtuse and difficult.

Such fun. I will still have to call them back when the prescribed anti-inflammatory drug arrives to ask questions, since I was rushing to pay and get out the door. No time to ask about whether i should shorten her walks, or do exercises with her, or massage her or anything like that. I paid and ran. And drove like hell.

All the while thinking of all the coverage in the papers in the past two days of car accidents resulting in death. Usually people rushing, and black ice. Yesterday a 45yr old woman lost control of her car, while passing someone on a bridge (4lane, long bridge), went over the guardrails and was last seen being swept away in blocks of ice floating downstream. Well, at least until they identified her today to her husband. Nice. When I was younger this wouldve affected me less. But that is just 5 years older than I am. So, I think of these things driving at breakneck speed. Drat.

I was still nearly 20 minutes late returning the community carshare car. I may have fucked up someone's errands, made them wait ages in the cold hoping i'd show up, and have a demerit point and fine with the company. I'll see when I get the bill I guess. Ack.

So, that was the start of my day. Then I went for breakfast.

I have since slept two hours and drawn my third math poster sketch of children going to school and playing there. And sketched my book cover. And in the middle of this entry eaten some perogies, fried with onions in butter (yes, Jamie, REAL butter! ) and some veggies.

So now that I've finished my doggy vet report I shall color in my drawing. And then hopefully sleep.

Take care and goodnight!

me, wenchie

Here is my horoscope for Tuesday, January 27: Fine-tuning happens with the fanfare of a major operation. Discuss your work to be certain that everyone understands it. All questions are welcome, even those that stray from the subject.
Ironic, non? At the vet's all questions are NOT welcome, even ON the subject. gll.

""To escape criticism: do nothing, say nothing, be nothing."
__Elbert Hubbard

"I may have said the same thing before ... but my explanation, I am sure, will always be different."
__
Oscar Wilde

Song Today: "I Lost My Baby by Jean Leloup

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily