Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Sept. 08, 2004 - 12:15 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

A Good Day for a Really Shitty Entry

OK, Sasori-gal is having toilet troubles at the same time as earthquakes and typhoons.

So I am googling portable toilets. Wow. Who knew!! Here is the Bumper Dumper. Yeah, "Don't be a Turkey" and get one NOW! My problem is that I have no bumper. Actually, it shows it being used bumperless, but it seems a bit unwieldy if one doesn't have a vehicle to lug it around in.

As for them portajane portable toilets.. don't smoke inside them, ok? It's dangerous.

ooo, here's the kind of portable "to pee in" thingie I was thinking of... a pocket portable toilet that uses dry powder to "gel" your urine so it can't spill all over. Hmmm. I got mine at Canadian Tire or Walmart or something. It's called a Travel John available in sets of 3.

Here is a very sweet page about the PETT portable toilet system. I like how they say that the best way to carry it all about is in the backpack, the top of which has a convenient pouch which can carry used and unused waste bags, as well as your toiletries. Um, does anyone want to carry used bags of shit around with their shampoo and toothbrush?? Not me.

I love how they say that the tent thing weighs only 6 pounds. They do not mention how much the waste coming out of two or three human beings weighs, esp for several days to a week (and if you are going for a shorter period of time with fewer than two people, WHY would you tote a toilet with a 6 foot portable outhouse?)... let's see. Those steaks, the watermelon, the liters of water you are told to drink each day... Though I suppose if you can carry the food weight in, you can carry the "used food" waste out. Perhaps Sherpas to carry it all??

The reason I say "very sweet page" is that it is called "cookin campers" and right under the waste bags they have a sweet icon of fish cookin in a pan. MMMM just IMAGINE how good that fish will smell comin back out!! yay for cookin campers! btw shit from veggies does not usually smell as bad as meat shit. But asparagus makes for bad-tasting pee, apparently. I have not tried it out.

Just in case you thought we were joshin around about the human waste thing, here is a page about the military concern of poo et al, and the same PETT toilet. (why do they call it pett, which means Phillips Environmental ToileT,? I mean, pet is usually something you touch lovingly with your hands. a petting zoo, petting on a date, hug your pet)

This segues nicely into Dangerspouse's last entry about burning poo in Iraq. Yow. and Yow again. Scroll Down Past the Baked Apple Joke Please. You'll never think of American soldiers in Iraq in the same way again I tell ya.

And then there is this adorable film that I want to get my hands on, which won international accolades, starring a very personable character in search of self-esteem, called Doggy Poo. I am not kidding. I think that anyone who can make the world watch a film about a doggy poo, and then actually applaud it and give it awards, deserves any award we can heap on them. I mean really, in this day of "shit phobia"??!! Wow.
Check out Doggy Poo. That is courtesy of SquirrelX and her plethora of links.

God, I haven't even seen the film yet and I am in love with Doggy Poo. My gosh, what a brilliant idea. Apparently the actual children's book was published in 1968, and only now has made it to the animation table. You can color pictures from Doggy Poo, if you go here.

Of course, "everything has a purpose", but only in certain amounts, and the purpose may not always be one we like. The purpose of cholera may be to keep the rampant human population down. The purpose of cow patties may be to give back to the earth what the cows munch away from it. But cows are meant to wander all day, so their patties (and eating) take place over a large space, such as in a pasture, not in feedlots where they ruin the earth, and wallow in their own shit all day. (yes, the dark brown devegetated areas in that photo are feedlots) Of course, cows getting ill in feedlots has a purpose too... keeping the rampant cow population down when it is too high for a given area.

Maybe more bio-engineering agribusiness people needed to watch shows like Doggy Poo in their childhoods.

Do you people think about biomass? How we are moving massive quantities of vegetation from one part of the world to another? How billions of tons of grains or wood or cattle are shipped off of parts of the land (which we expect to keep producing tons of grain or wood) to places thousands of miles away, where they eventually decompose, often polluting groundwater and rivers around cities, or going into landfill, instead of rotting in the general vicinity of where it was grown, to return cyclicly to nourish the next generation of grain or wood or animals. Just think about it.

Every waste disposal problem we have... too much human waste from millions of people eating imported tuna, pineapples and wheat in one place equals an equivalent lack of nutrients returning to the seas and the earth in other places where those things came from. Same with the landfill solid waste problem. Every ton of lumber that is taken out of a forest, used to build in downtown Toronto, and then demolished for new buildings, to end up in landfill, is less wood rotting on the forest floors to nourish the next trees.

What a mess.

We tell children about ecosystems in fancy dancy climate regulated living museums, but we are totally disrupting them all. Not just the idea of cutting down trees in the rainforests. No, even if we plant more trees, we have removed the trees we want (or wheat, or beef or whatever) from the cycle, so that we continue to impoverish in one place while we pollute with too much organic nutrients in another place.

Doggy poo should come from eating deer etc that have snacked on leaves and grass, and then within the next 24 hours, the deer and the doggies should have pooped on the grass and trees that use the poo breaking down to produce more grass and leaves and feed more deer and doggies (to make things simple).

See, I think too much. I don't think too much for the amount of thinking that should happen in the world. I think too much to be properly and naively happy living in our messed up world. Sigh.

Oh well, go back and order the Doggy Poo soundtrack. I hear it is uplifting and sweet. yay.

Excuse me, I think I have to go take a dump. tah!

me, wenchie de poopster

7 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily