Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Nov. 28, 2003 - 1:22 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Corona as a Sedative and Walking on Mont Royal

Second entry for tonight... first entry here.

My god, having two Corona on an empty stomach just does me in. All these work plans for tonight and after I eat I may just go to sleep... and YES it is only 1:23 am now. urk.

I flaked out on my friend's dance fundraiser, though I had said when I bought the ticket that I didnt know if I'd make it. After all I DID buy the ticket, so I did support him even if I wasnt there. Oh well.

Mostly it was POURING rain (I really hope it will snow this year... I'm not so happy with the 'global warming') and three other women from my flamenco class were going out to a bar near my place. So I tagged along and had a really good time. I cannot even remember the last time I went out with a group of people in my neighborhood. No, that is a lie, I went for a beer with a group of illustrators in July after we played volleyball. (yup, I played volleyball for the FIRST time since my highschool shamefests... it was hard to do emotionally but I had fun anyways). But tonight it was fun, like when I used to go out for a coffee with coworkers (way back in 1986-91 when I HAD coworkers)... we bitched about there being too many people in the class, discussed how hard new steps were, talked about the teacher. It really has been SO long since I've been able to actually share WITH people, instead of listening about their life and them listening about mine, and we actually share nothing in our lives. Yup. nice and fun. One girl told this long story about going out with an American actor which was funny.

I walked my doggies for a long promenade down the street tonight. Fortunately by the time I got out of the bar it had stopped raining.

Near my house it smelled like rotten oranges. This is a really Christmassy smell to me, like a rotten orange in the box of mandarins.

When we passed the park, it smelled like a pine forest since they have set up the Christmas tree sale lot. Maybe I'll get a tree early instead of late this year. I like real trees. I'm too tired now to blab about my opinions of real trees vs fake. nope.

Passing the McDonald's I notice a poster for their hot apple pies. The non-fried pies they have now (baked and flaky supposedly) are horrid. I used to love their fried apple pies when I was a kid. You had to be SO careful not to squish that molten sweet sauce onto your tongue or lips before it cooled down. I had one of the "improved" baked ones last year. It was horrid. Absolutely horrid. I guess it is "lower fat". Hell, they sell poutine, which is like your caloric requirement for two days in one plate, and they worry about fried apple pies? A thing of the past I guess. Oh well. I don't eat at Mcdonald's anyways.

I had a slice of pizza... alldressed for $1.69 a slice... they used to be a dollar. I think it helped with the alcohol in my body a bit. I also passed the SAQ (Societ� des Alchols du Quebec) store, and thought... mmm, I think abraxia wrote of Buttershots Schnapps being a vice or somesuch in one of my surveys, and SHE is Canadian too... so maybe I CAN get it in Canada... at least in Ontario if not here. mmm. yummy

A tall punk with a mohawk asked me where a street was. I told him I thought it was only in the Gay Village and stops when it abutts the park. We talked about travelling... he has been around North America twice. He actually liked Regina, and said that the second time he passed there all the girls he met the first time were pregnant but still single. I'm not sure what that means, (other than their birth control, and one would assume disease control) was very faulty. He was a friendly guy and chatted about the new puppy he has (since I was walking my dog).

I stopped in front of the Rona hardware store to look at my neighbor's Christmas display... he uses ceiling fans with three blades removed to move a whole display of christmas ornaments, bicycles, etc etc via strings. He is quite funny. He also hooked up a fan to make a circulating system of snow falling, with a bobbing stuffed penguin. Sort of a really bric-a-brac version of the famous Ogilvy's moving Christmas window display. Glad I got to see it.

While I was looking in windows, a voice I recognized said hi to my dog. It was the owner of Shamsham, the Irish Wolfhound in the neighborhood. A really really huge dog (like a foot taller on his back than my St-Bernard) who was really really sweet. I had heard rumours that he was dead. The owner said tonight, it is not rumours. so I said I was really sorry. But the guy was walking by and didnt stop. He really loved that dog. Was with him in the park probably three times a day. The dog was only 4 years old I think, and was limping the last time I saw them, maybe two weeks ago. Very sad.

I looked in the window of the Chinese/Indian import store... they still have the ceramic Buddha I like. He is white, sitting on a multipetaled lotus, and has perhaps 14 hands... arms coming out of his body on either side like a fan. Each hand has a different position or object in it. It is small, maybe six inches tall, and quite beautiful. I wonder if it is expensive.

I looked in many windows. I realize I like tiny buttons, like many little round buttons down the front of something, or on the inside of your wrist on gloves, or on the openings of antique boots. I also like fringe. There is a lingerie set with long fringe along the bottom of the band. It is quite fun.

I saw lots of decorating/ home items that were beautiful. I realize I don't have a really nice house cuz I am too cheap. That's one thing ob inspired in me... to put some effort and $ into my decor instead of just picking things up for free, or whatever is the most practical. Today I spent $135 for my flamenco, and $300 for a present for my mom, but cringe at spending money on decorating my house.

For my mom, I ordered a special light for treatment of Seasonal Affective Disorder, or SAD. She had written she had checked how much one was and it was too expensive so she would have to live with being low energy and depressed all winter. She has chronic fatigue too, and depression. So I called up and ordered the lamp for her. No use waiting another month til Christmas if it will make a difference in her life now. I hope it helps.

Well, there, that is mostly what I saw and did on my walk to night. A nice night. Now I think I will lay down. Damn alcohol and my eyes are drooping drooping. I will just as likely wake up at 5am and my body will think I've had a nap. If not, maybe I'll wake up before 11am and have a reasonable day.

Byebye for now. Maybe pics in my entry tomorrow. too lazy to scan any now. tah.

0 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily