Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Nov. 24, 2004 - 1:14 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Dried Beets and Postering

Hullo! Well, I thought I'd get another early ... yah, 1am is early... entry done today since it went so swimmingly well yesterday. I shall start off with Onewetleg's suggestion to dry my beets, carrots and potatoes that I haven't gotten around to cooking. Her mom apparently used to slice them and put them under a wood stove to dry, but electric dryers are available. I submit my beets for your assessment. What do you think? They have been sitting on the counter next to the drainboard since I washed the dirt off them. Do you think they need an electric dryer???
dried beets copyright 2004 Wench77

At least they're CLEAN dried beets.

Now for a bit of hilarity, I invite you to read Mom-on-roof's entry today. It truly is funny. She seems to be taking up where Dangerspouse left off. I worry about him, he didn't even respond to a provocative email. What's up with that???

Well, another busy day. I got another weight off my shoulders: after drawing my comics page I hightailed it on my bike to poster for this friend who is coming to town to sing on Friday and letting me sell my comics at the club. Unhuh I have had the posters for like three weeks. Yes it is in three days. I thought if I put them up too early they will get postered over and pulled down. And I only had 15. Only 15. HAH. There was alot of writing that had to be written (vs writing that needed to be smelled or thawed) on each and every one of them. Repetitive writing written. And then I had to hop on my bike and zoop around and park the bike (locking it of course) and go into places and find a good postering spot and stick em up and back on the bike adnauseum all over hell's small acre. But only sort of my area of town acre... ie no more than an hour away on the bike.

It started off well, but then I had the brilliant idea to top up my rather soggy bike tires with some O2. hahaha. The motor on the air pump at the service station worked, and air seemed to be coming out of the hose, but when applied to the air valve on my bike tire, it just let all the air out of my tire. AACK! The valve on the hose was totally fucked, and the air just seeped out, instead of being under pressure. ACK. So i had to backtrack quite aways to get to a bike shop to fix my now completely flat tire. Thank god it was 5pm and not ten pm. sheesh.

And then I went down St Denis, the main shopping street in this area... huge traffic and a bazillion mile long city blocks between lights... so I locked my bike on one side where i put up a poster in a shop, and then crossed in the middle of the street to the bookstore on the other side. Or I tried to. No traffic southbound, I get across the two lanes. And then there is a straggler car at a speed I totally miscalculated, so I waited for it, and suddenly there is all the double lane northbound traffic ack. And THEN the southbound double lane traffic starts up too, and I am totally stuck on the middle line with two lanes of crazy traffic on either side zoom zoom zoom. ack.

And what happens then? Well I didn't get squished or I wouldn't be writing this. No. A COP CAR came along in the center northbound lane. uhuh. And what does he do in the middle of this huge traffic? He STOPS and rolls down his window and suggests that it might be a better idea, you know, for me, you know, to NOT be in the middle of four lanes of traffic stuck on the middle line. Wow, brilliant man. I DIDNT THINK OF THAT!!! And he says that it just MIGHT be in my interest to CROSS at the CROSSWALKS at the LIGHTS at the END of the block. Jeesh. um thanks mommy policeman.

And so he is holding up one of the two northbound lanes of traffic to give me a morality lecture. Great. I actually should have used his stopped car to my advantage, and walked in front of him to cross the street. hehe. But I didn't. Just everyone started beeping and I was just as stuck as before. And then he left and finally the traffic stopped, and I got to the bookstore, put up my poster and...

jaywalked in the exact same place to get back to my bike.

I hope he doesn't do that alot, cuz there are like about 6 million jaywalkers in this city. This city with the longest bloody northsouth blocks in the world.

Other than that, it was long windy and uneventful.

I did splurge at another bookstore and bought a new Stephane Poulin book, L'Oiseau des Sables. Now that is something. I say splurged cuz I was just meaning to LOOK at his books, cuz he inspires me and uses much of the same colors i want to use on the dog book, and then he has a new book out and I couldve gotten the softcover but for some reason it was much smaller than the hardcover so I just had to buy the hardcover. And then I went for a poutine and drooled on the pictures they are so beautiful.

Actually, they only had grated mozarella instead of that squeeky crottes de fromage (cheese curd) so I didn't get poutine. But since I was all settled in with my new Stephane Poulin book and had also brought work to do, I wasnt about to leave so I had a Bagel Garnie, which is with cream cheese, tomato and bacon. What a BAD girl. Splurgorama!! I used to be able to get both an allonge and a bagel garnie there for $5 and now it is $6.50. Dang.

Anyhews, the work I took was making covers for minicomics versions of the online comics I do. I figure that if I am going to be at a zine fair on Sunday I better have something new to sell, esp since my comic book has been out since March. Lots of people like hands on printed material even if they've read it online, and lots of people AREN'T online or don't like to read online, so I will make photocopied booklets of the longer stories. And thus they need a cover image, and inside cover blurbs etc. yeah. Lots of work. Tomorrow I'll have to reduce the drawings and paste them up for the photocopier.

Haven't done that for nearly ten years! yikes! 1996 the last time I put out a new minicomic. If I were rich I wouldn't be doing it now either... I'd collect enough of the stories to make another real squarebound book and print it up. But that costs a bundle.

Mmm. I want to share with you this article about why Conservatives should be FOR gay marriage... it pretty much resumes all the ideas I've ever had about what Conservatives SHOULD think... after all you think they'd be FOR settling people down and signing papers. It's a pretty good article.

Gotta run gotta run! later!
I am doing the dishes trick again and I can't wait any longer or the water'll be cold! urk!!!!
me
wenchie

OK I havent washed the dishes yet, I read another article at Andrew Sullivan's website (the one that had the gay marriage article)... this one is about marriage and infertility vs marriage and homosexuality. It is very good. As an infertile person I fully agree with his reasoning. Except that I don't think that homosexuality has brought sadness and grief into my life the same way that infertility has. Though when I thought I was fertile, and making love to a woman with whom I would have liked to produce a child... someone that had parts of both of us, I suppose THAT reason for infertility... the gender of my partner, was saddenly. yeah. Read it.

5 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily