Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Nov. 28, 2003 - 7:17 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Early Morning News Blather

OMYGOD! I have succumbed to sticking a banner button thingie on my diarypage! eek! Yes, I have put a Guestmap... I found one on sasori-gal's page... She's a scorpio and lives in Japan : sasori means scorpio in Japanese. She is quite interesting... I would advise checking her out, and be sure to read her "100" link.

So, yeah, click on the nasty little guestmap button and stick a pin and a little person icon on the map to represent where you are at, yeah. Go figure that it is a Canadian service (Bravenet.com in British Columbia) and I found it on an American's diary from Japan. Kinda funky. Once people have put themselves on it, you can also run your cursor over the map and see what people have written and where they hail from.

Gee, I feel like I'm in grade 6 again!!

Can anyone see that it is indeed 7:17 am? yes, as I predicted, I slept really well at nearly 2am on my Corona buzz, and I TRIED to stay asleep until a night's sleep was over, but it DID NOT work. I had lots of wild dreams, and then at about 6:30 I woke up really for good. Now I am listening to morning radio. Funny, I often listen to morning radio before I go to bed, and it sounds differently now that I got up to listen, even though it is the same time of day. Now I am sort of having flashbacks to my childhood and adolescence when I had to be up to catch a 7am schoolbus. Bizarre.

I of course will have to go back to bed and get another 3-4 hours sleep or I will be good for nothing today.

Hmmm, here in Quebec we've been having a huge media frenzy about this disabled woman who was totally abused (mostly verbally and emotionally) in a nursing home here. Her relatives recorded 90 hours of employees yelling at the woman and freaking her out. It was on all the tvs and radios in the past few days. The things that were said were totally off the wall, including two men telling the woman that a man was outside her window looking at her and masturbating... the woman was crying and shrieking and the male employees were being incredibly explicit ("he's got his penis in his hand, he is watching you"...) Shocking.

Now there is lots of fallout and right now two other employees are on the radio saying how not everyone that works there is like that, that they love the patients and work hard and take care as best they can when understaffed etc.

The horrid thing is that yesterday the director of that nursing home was found dead in a hotel room... he committed suicide. Supposedly he was known to be a nice guy who wanted to build the nursing home into a family. But whatever, he didn't deal with the complaints of mistreatment by the woman's family, which is why they decided to tape the abuse and go to the media. I think it is really too bad the guy killed himself instead of facing up to the charges and cleaning out the bad eggs in his workers.

Hopefully all this will bring the bad work conditions of some of these employees to the fore, and they will get the support they need, and also the bad weeds will be pulled out. What a mess. Apparently the workers make $18,000 a year Cdn. That is not much money for taking care of psychotic, incontinent, disabled or difficult people. What a mess. yes.

I swear that the past two days there has just been weird bad news left right and center here. They are announcing that a father has been taken into custody for stabbing to death his 14 year old daughter (the neighbors heard them fighting).

They took into custody a 17 yr old and an 18 yr old who are accused of beating and raping another 14 yr old girl here in Montreal. They knew her... took her for a ride, took her clothes off, raped her, and she managed to escape by swimming to a small island in the St Lawrence river. Need I remind you it is hanging around freezing. She was on the island for an hour, then came back to shore as the 18 yr old who raped her was gone, and the other who had just watched was alone. Hah, the second guy beat her, raped her again, and mulled out loud how to kill her, lifting up large rocks etc. She managed to escape again, swim in the river. She was eventually found wandering freezing and naked and bruised on the highway. Horrid. Now another girl has come out to say that she too was raped by one of the same guys last week. Another "friend" of theirs.

AND a 12 yr old boy was killed in his home by a 15 and a 16 yr boy. They beat the boy with a baseball bat and slashed his throat. His father tried to stop them, and was severely beaten and is in hospital..(later... looking for links... apparently it was his 16 yr old brother who did it... urk!)

Totally freaky I'll tell ya.

Well, I am just a bearer of good news aren't I!!

It is buy nothing day today. I don't know if I'll buy nothing. I need milk. I was thinking of buying an agenda book.

I am blathering. I should try to sleep again. Thanks to everyone who has been doing my surveys... lots of fun results and great answers in the past couple days. Oh, and I should add on to my dissection of my weapons survey (part one here and part two here), that onewetleg was the only one to suggest that instead of choosing between the porcelain plate, the broomhandle and the hot oil, to use them all together to defend yourself... ie to break the plate, stick part of it on the end of the broomhandle to jab with, and even to dip the broom into the hot oil and slather the person. Now that is someone I want thinking on MY side, yup!! :) You can of course still do my weapons survey. yup.

Oh, I forgot, I wanted to write about the limits of consent... the German guy who was convicted of murder and cannibalism. That will be another day, okay?

I'll try to find some links for the news items above and see if I can be back in bed by 8am. My schedule is so so screwy.

Remember to read my two other entries from tonight: Sex addict survey and Gender Issues and Walking my Dog. Yeah. goodday.

And remember to click on the mappy thingie under the Pueblo blessing to the left. thanks!

me, wench77, hugs to me and good sleepies. yup.

7:56 am Gee, searching for those news stories is kind of depressing... here is a story of a 4 year old killed by his stepfather who was angry that he had taken popcorn form other kids at kindergarten. urk. Some other guy in Japan killed his wife with tape. Yes, adhesive tape. And they worry about kids seeing women's nipples and hearing the word "shit". I dunno. I think the real world is pretty X rated. mmm. I think I may stop plugging "beaten to death" and "slashed throat" into Google now. It is a wee tiny bit depressing. yup. More of those little things that keep life from being a meaningless flat boring paved road. No wonder sappy platitudes and inane positivity make me scream.

0 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily