Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Sept. 16, 2006 - 11:16 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

A Day with the Kiddo

Hmm, just noticed for some reason my profile picture has disappeared.
Weird.

anyways, this is a little rundown on how the day with the baby went.

It went... GREAT!!!

I went over there at 9am, having just had a couple slices of toast on 6 hours of sleep (ya, Chaos, I didn't follow your advice, oops!)... her mom had labelled everything with stickynotes... very cute "bib for milk" "bib for food" "face cloth" "lunch" "snack" "dessert" "rusk for lunch" "rusk for snack". :D And made out a schedule of the day... "nap about 10 am for 45 mins- 2 hrs" "12ish lunch" "milk 15-60 mins after lunch" etc.

A woman of my own mind, I tell ya. Love her love her. Not so much cuz it is necessary, just I appreciate someone organised.

I brought kiddo (why don't i call her Easybabe?) for a little trip in the back alley to take doggies for her first poopies in the morning. A 13+ month old is heavy! LOL! Remember to get a baby carrier....

I put her in the stroller and took the bathmats and doggy towels (doggie's bath lastnight) to the laundromat... strollers with baskets underneath are very handy.

then we came home and I washed my hair and read and replied to emails. She was quite into the toys I got at a church sale with artsyboy's daughter this summer... fisher price toys only 50cents to a dollar apiece. I washed em all with soap and windex cleaner last night. And she was also fascinated by my computer printer. :D She fortunately was pretty good about "no touch"... making that little "uhnuhn" sound I make to my dog when she does something wrong (or looks like she is THINKING of doing something wrong... (best to catch the impulse than the falling printer!)

Back to her place for the nap, and then lunch... mmmm lasagna. Easybabe just shoved that lasagna in her mouth with both hands. I don't blame her, I had a piece too and it was pretty darn good (her dad's recipe). After some grape pieces we cleaned up all the dishes, warmed the bottle to lukewarm and headed out with the doggies and guitar to the park. She thinks the dog is pretty funny, and was vaguely amused by my bad guitar playing, though my keychain was much more interesting.

We had the bottle around the fountain after watching doggies jump after water splashes. It was a very busy-eye time what with doggies, kids on bikes, pigeons, squirrels...

We brought doggies home, went to put the laundry in the dryer, and went out shopping. Again, yay for strollers. We went to the fruit store first, and I gave her a very large plum to hang onto while I checked out the nectarines. haha!! well, let's just say we got a deal on the plum, since it weighed just a WEEE bit less than it did before she got her hands on it. I kept an eye on her, and took away any alarmingly large pieces of skin she managed to get off, and the stone, but other than that, she downed the whole plum, getting really fussy when I tried to take it away. Oh well! Saved the chopped up peaches her mom had packed for her snack for another time.

We went to the coffeeshop after the fruit store, where I entertained her with some board books and a fisherprice babytoy when she wasn't flirting with the owner and waitress, and being engaged at looking at the ceiling... which is fancy formed oldstyle tin, and there were also fans and a disco ball that made little white lights move about. Very baby-friendly. It is a great cafe for babies cuz it has lots of space to park strollers next to the tables. We left there about 2:30, went to the grocery store for cheese, and came home in time for her 3pm nap.

A book to quiet down after all the outing excitement, and she still wasn't sleeping... checked in and smelled like poopies. I don't think I would sleep in poopies either. Change of diaper... she was THRILLED when I came in to do that cuz she got the mistaken idea i was getting her up. HAHAHA!! When i put her back she was very UNHAPPY. Tough noogies. I let her yell a bit, and she finally settled down. I had a hot drinkie and did some studying, and before 4:40 pm her parents came home (and her dad talked too loud and woke her up)...

So, it was really short... went by in a flash.

I have concluded:
-babies are easier than dogs.
-they get put into strollers which are under adult control re speed and direction
-dogs walk and insist on stalling when they don't like the direction, stop and sniff and pee and poop all the time
-babies have diapers that keep the pee and poo in without too much stinky til you deal with it. Dogs pee on things you don't want (you should see how big a piddle can run across the sidewalk urk...) when you don't have time (just to say "I was here"), and poop when you have just bought four bags of groceries, and you have to pick it up and carry it along with your food urk.
-babies strollers are good for hanging bags off of with all their gear, and put stuff in the basket underneath... dogs carry nothing... you have to carry their gear and your gear
-you can roll the strollers with all the stuff and the baby in shops and coffeeshops. Dogs you always have to find a place out of the sun to leave them outside and then deal with people who feed them chocolate and diarhea-inducing cookies and come in to complain about how horrid you are to leave them outside.
-babies and dogs both have schedules you have to stick to or they get all discombobulated and whiny. I am used to a 115 lb arthritic baby that barks. A 24 lb baby I can carry on my hip or put in a stroller that just cries is a treat.
-babies and dogs both drool, but dogs drool bigger, gooier and more. Babies don't shed copious amounts of hair.
-people smile at both dogs and babies and people walking dogs and babies
-babies can eat people food so you can pick up food for them without having to buy a 4kg bag.
-when babies are dirty, you can take them in the bathroom in a coffeeshop to wipe them off, and you can just change their clothes. When the dog is dirty, you just have to grimace and deal with it until you have time to wash a large hairy 115 lb thing that takes 6 bath towels and a whole day to dry.
-babies are more easily amused by human things, like talking, singing, spoons, keys, books, business cards. Dogs are not in the least amused by such things and demand you throw dirty glooby dogballs or splash water in the fountain.
-babies do not get into fights with other babies wherein you must keep an eye on other babies coming up, hoping they are not dominant and aggressive, or you will have several hundred pounds of teeth and claws gnashing around.

Of course you cannot put the baby in the front yard and leave it there while you work. However many dogs you cannot trust to do that either... they will bite a neighbor, dig up the tomatoes, pee on the lawn and chew the furniture. My dog fortunately only dug things up for the first 5 months. :D

So... in general, no I am not exhausted. Yes I got the shopping, laundry, guitar practice, dogwalking etc all done as well as with no baby.

Yes, It was only one day, and yes she is an easy baby, and no, she is not really walking (running) yet, nor in the NO!! two's stage, but still, it went really well.

And hopefully her parents didn't find a house to buy and won't move away in the next year. ack.
ok, now I rented a movie:
off to watch it now.
cheers!
me
wenchie

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily