Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Jun. 26, 2005 - 10:15 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Pride and Echos on a Hot Weekend

Fascinating. Turns out that Toyota is opening its seventh factory in North America to produce cars, here in Canada... Ontario actually. While Ford and General Motors and other North American manufacturers aren't doing so well.

This does not surprise me. My neighborhood is inundated with Toyota Echos. The community car share service has many Corollas and little grey Echos. But the neighbors seem enamoured of the little red hatchback model. They are everywhere. Whilst SUVs are crowding out other vehicles in other cities, Montreal is the tiny Echo's kingdom. yay!

I cannot tell a lie, I am a total Toyota fan. Ever since my first car. They drive well. They aren't gadgety for the most part. They start in Canadian winters. They are not easy to break into. And mostly they're so cute!

I am NOT such an Echo fan. They are easy to drive, small and simple to park, but the visibility from the driver's seat for shoulder checks is negligible. From the driver's point of view, there is the backseat headrest right beside the upright that holds the roof, drastically increasing the blind spot on the passenger's side. And the side windows get really high and narrow near the back. grrr. I especially noticed that driving crosscountry during a snowstorm. Couldn't see a damn thing. I didn't die. But it was scary, never being sure if there was someone in that spot in the snow when I changed lanes. oh well.

But I am sure that if it had been a red hatchback all would have been forgiven more quickly. (do scroll down at that link to see all the cutie photos).

OK you got a car report (cuz I keep meaning to write one, since everytime I walk the dog the number of red echos strikes me) mostly because I wrote something earlier about the family relations in Oliver Twist... I guess that is where the Twist comes in... and their relationship to the family values espoused by all those Family Coalition groups. But I thought I'd spare you.

The weather is hot but the wind makes it bearable. The garden is growing to beat the band. The potatoes have reached up and above the top of their pots (Disappearing Boy points out they are garbage cans, not pots). The swiss chard is doing famously. Work is going ok. And I pencilled in to the end of the comics story I am on now. I think it may be long and wordy, but what the hell. Though I didn't get a single page inked in, so nothing to post.

Now I will finish inking the last two pages of South Korea (I'm working on the black and white workbook drawings), and then try to draft the registered letter to catpissgirl. I am really good at serious business letters in English, but in French I am rather lost, and I fear that it will sound totally illiterate. Oh well. It won't be any better unwritten than written. Forward and onward. urk.

Nothing else new. Oh... it was Gay Pride Day across the states and Canada (not here cuz it is St Jean Baptiste on the 24th), and apparently Toronto's Pride (25th anniversary!) has one of the world's largest Gay Pride Parades. Cool. They had the police chief and the mayor there in the parade, and apparently even two women policemen in uniform holding hands. How cool is Canada huh? yay!!! Stephen Harper did NOT show up. Pity.

I wish I could say "how cool is America" but we'll have to settle for "How cool is San Fran!!" which had it's 35th gay pride parade!! with 200 yes 200 out police officers in it.

Athens had its first large scale pride parade, and the Jerusalem parade went ahead after the mayor was made to pay damages!

OK, somehow I have managed to google pride for the past however long and have used up all my French letter composition time, so I will hit the sack. Do look at those links... the Toronto Parade one has a whole slew of photo galeries. Have fun!

And remember to drive a Toyota... just not one of their SUVs!!

EEEEK! they just said "high of 32� with huge high uv index"!! ack!!!

OK, nite nite!
me
wenchie

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily