Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Nov. 12, 2004 - 2:28 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Eyes Water for Watercolor and Onions

Well, one should NOT cut and fricassee (oh who the hell knows what that means.. .let's go with "saut�") onions when one is already tired. Now i can't tell if I'm REALLY tired or just onioneyed! Dang!

Actually at about 11pm or maybe it was 1am, I was thinking, wow, even when I get up early I really wake up at 11pm anyways. And then the onions. Dang.

Cuz I have a cabbage that needs dealing with or it will rot. It is trying to grow roots and is rather stymied so I think the next step is grey mold. SOOOO I am making vegetarian cabbage rolls. They have a base of onions, mushrooms (tons of mushrooms), cheddar cheese and rice. mmmm. Then the cabbage rolled around that, and a tomato sauce. The mushroom mixture is made, and the tomato sauce is bubbling away. It was a good way to use up the tomato juice I made from LAST year's left-over saved from freezing on the vine tomatoes. It has been in the freezer.

So tomorrow i will make up the actual cabbage rolls. mmmmm.

And then cuz I had extra rice cooked up, I used up the rest of the mushrooms too and made some fried rice... ancient chinese (um, non, saskatchewanian) recipe. One of them "mom is tired of cooking so she will shove this together in five minutes or less" recipes. mmm. Well it tastes great. Though I don't have the dreaded MSG in the house which is called for in the recipe. Doesn't QUITE taste like Mom's without it but I'll live.

I had a great time at my watercolor class again. I was so concentrated it just zoomed by. Our teacher brought some books on the artwork of Andy Goldsworthy and Richard Long. Very cool. Especially that of Andy Goldsworthy. He makes ephemeral artwork out of leaves stuck on rocks with water, dandelions, icicles etc. Please click on his name to see. Very very cool. It is immortalized in photos which then become the actual shared public art piece.

Then I went for coffee with l'Ecrivaine down in Verdun again. We went to this place called Van Gogh's Ear (or eyebrow or elbow or something)... it strangely enough for some place named after Van Gogh (the painter I guess, not the ill-fated filmmaker) it seems to be Mexican or South American. The food was great... very good guacamole and chips, and we had some sort of little spinach, cheese flat tortilla thingie.... I forget what it was called, and I had this cocoa/corn hot beverage called atole. It is a bit thickened, dark cocoa, a wee bit sweet, not milky. Quite good. mmm. Warmed me up.

Which is a good thing cuz one thing I hadn't thought about in Verdun is that it is next to the water and is VERY HUMID... I sweat the cold just bites through your clothes, skin and fat and installs itself in your bone marrow. BRRR!! It felt about twice as cold as here on the Plateau where I live. I don't know that I want to live someplace that cold with a dog to walk!

Well, I am totally zapped now that I have onion wafting into my eyes, so I will give you samples of some of the work i have done lately. The barn one is for a renovation magazine, and the pencil one is the cover sketch for the book cover I must do for Monday. I should do more tonight but I really am zapped. Hopefully I shall draw like the wind tomorrow.

Once again, click on the small images to see a larger version in another window. Both Copyright 2004 Wench77

Well that's it for today. zoom zoom. nite nite.
me.
wenchie.


Here is my horoscope for Thursday, November 11:

Expect seduction, power plays and maybe even a touch of jealousy. That goes for public situations as well as private. Fortunately, you've never been one to shy away from the spotlight. Try to be gentle to those who do.

Wow. Once again I have no idea what they are talking about.

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily