Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Jun. 08, 2005 - 8:01 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Fostering Potatoes and Strawberries

"Groze and Rosenthal conducted a study that reports on the responses from parents in three Midwestern states who had finalized their adoption of a special-needs child before 1988. The sample included 122 single parents and 651 two-parent families. Children in single-parent families had fewer problems.
In the same study, research indicates that single-parent families were more likely than two-parent families to evaluate adoption as having a very positive impact on their lives.
" From this page.

Fascinating.

Here are some photos taken two or three weeks ago.
All copyright 2005 Wench77
Here is my before and after drilled Rubbermaid bins for my potatoes. They were VERY fun to drill!!
This is the seed potatoes... 4 white and 4 red. You can see the little nubbins sprouting. I wish I could say they sprouted fast. Nope. I planted them, despite them only having little nubbins, not one inch sprouts.

Here you can see where I sprinkled new topsoil in the bare spots and seeded grass.
Here is the potato bins in situ, with the potted strawberries beside them. You can see all the white strawberry flowers in the pots and on the ground.

And here is the corner where the hostas are just coming up, and the Japanese knotweed is sprouting. You can see where I have put more topsoil and seeded creeping thyme and also grass. It is growing nicely by now, but I don't know if the thyme is coming up or only the grass. You can also see the board I put in to keep the dirt from the fence.The brighter red upright is the fence post dad replaced last fall. You can see how it would've been easier to put in that board along the dirt while the fence was down.

As for fostering. No I don't want to be a fostermom. I don't want to have anonymous clothes and room that kids rotate through in and out. I want to provide a child with its forever home. To have clothes and toys and books and bed that they own, that are to their taste, that are picked out for them only. I want to have a family. To be mom. Not the equivalent of a tiny-orphanage worker. glll.

But there is the adoption route of 7-10 yr wait. The fostering which is really running a foster home for temporary care for kids who are NOT given up for adoption but their parents cannot care for them. And finally what I'm interested in, which is kids who are placed when they are taken from their parents, with the view to adopting them when it becomes legally possible. It is called the Banque Mixte. The mixed bank. Cuz it has a mix of this that and everything. Apparently over 90% of the kids become adopted, but some only eligible after living with you for 2-5 years. That must be weird. Cuz you wouldn't be Mom til the adoption. How do you transfer from "that nice lady, wenchie" to "Mom"?? weird.

As for foster homes... or emergency foster care... there may have been a small boy needing that last night. Three blocks from here a 29 yr old woman was stabbed to death by her boyfriend of 2 months who got jealous. Apparently he stabbed her in front of her 4 yr old son. Ya really gotta be a heartless psychopath to do that. He tried to kill himself too (by stabbing himself in the gut, jeesh), but didn't. I hope he gets life. The poor poor kid.

Here's my earlier entry tonight.
tah!, me, wenchie

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily