Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Music Today: Soweto dance mix from late 1980's

Drinking Today: Cheap old grape and strawberry-kiwi Kool-Aid

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, Jun. 07, 2004 - 12:44 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Doggy Trailer Fundraiser Reaches GOAL!!

I am so excited by the results of the garage sale!! I made my goal of enough $$ to pay for my doggy's trailer! Together with the $ from beating up the nice man a week ago or so, I can probably cover the US exchange rate and all, and not end up in the hole! That is so thrilling!

I did sell the doll house, and that is the ONLY thing that I got a twinge seeing leave. But the woman seemed quite happy and very interested in finishing it up (wallpaper, gluing down the flooring, etc).

And I still have things to sell... I will put an ad in the paper for my freezer, and am sure to sell it. I will wait for the fall to put an ad up for the men's downfill parka (excellent sort of thing you'd wear hunting... real fur around face, with fuzzy polar fleece stuff just inside it in a strip so that your face is snuggly, storm waist etc)... it will never sell now. I will go to the climbing store this week to put an ad for selling my climbing shoes. That should be another $50. And I didn't sell my electronic typewriter (but the upstairs tenant has a friend who "might" want it)... though I sold lots of clothes.

So much for the wisdom of what sells at garage sales!

I got rid of a whole box of books and vinyl records. The handblender and the handvacuum both sold, as did the 1950's wall projector for kids. yay. And the boombox. Imagine not having two boomboxes stacked one on the other on a chair with a portable cd player stacked on top of THAT! hehe. The b&w 12" tv didn't sell. Big surprise there! It'll go in the basement for the first time in its life, next to the "replacement parts" record player and Singer sewing machine (you never know with old stuff... if it breaks, it is best to have "replacement parts"!! hehe)

I find the best part of the garage sale, besides offering free threeyearold Kool-Aid (hell, the sugar was only a year old, and the water was new) and selling chocolate chip cookies (there were a lot of takers and I have just enuf left over for a little munchies for myself), is how thrilled people are to get something they like. The boombox was bought by a woman in traditional african outfit, who insisted on getting it "for some noise" she said, despite her guy who was like "no, not that"... hehe. You could just see her thinking "oh, music, thank god!!" She also bought two red sweaters (and was wearing red already)... and I remarked she liked red and she grinned. hehe.

The guy who bought the Cyndi Lauper and Nina Hagen records (don't worry, they were "replacement parts" too... cuz I had them in double) was thrilled to get them. I sold a really old (ie ceramic and steel) gallon thermos to a gay couple, and they were totally enthusing over it "it is so BEAUTIFUL"... I know i know, I bought it myself a couple years ago, but it really is DONE being so BEAUTIFUL in my livingroom! hehe.

And then there were the rubber handcuffs (ie round rubber rings where you shove your hands in, held together by metal chain)... a little boy about 5 was totally enamoured of them. He was putting them on his wrists and kneeling down, then one on a wrist and one on the chair, then one on his mom and the other on himself (which is how they left... with mom leading!)... I gave them for free cuz he was so happy and mom was not going to shell out. hehe. I said "one less thing at my place" and she replied "one more thing at mine" hehe, but she did note how happy he was playing with them. hehe. I just said he had to play nicely or he'd end up on the front page of the paper, but he was too young to get the reference. :)

Anyways, a by-product has been I have had to dig things out of corners to sell, and as a result more cleaning in hard to reach places will be done. Just not now. I have put away most of what didn't sell (minus a few pieces that will go to charity) but there is still dealing with the fact the house was torn apart to find the sellables. hehe.

And for the second day in a row I didn't get my comics done. I posted a non-continuation page yesteday with a "sorry, garage sale" notice, and today they'll just have to deal. Tomorrow I'll do two or three pages all in one go in the afternoon cuz I have nothing else planned. And tonight work on the Far North book.

Last night, I ran out the door as my ride arrived.

It was Hotsauce's birthday and we went to this victorian house that is the new fetish hangout in town. Two floors and a basement (which strangely has walls that look like a log cabin!... I said we should play smokey the bear and pat people down to check for flammables!) I was in no mind to go whatsovever, being totally fried from not enough sleep and garage sale, but I ate and showered and dressed (no makeup or wig or anything else, I was so zonked), and actually rallied to the evening.

I had a great time. There are a few Fetish Cafe people who have moved over to this new place, and many others. We ended up watching Hotsauce get a whompin spanking in a lovely playroom with lots of couches for us the audience. He had his ex and another good friend wonking on him while they made him count in English, French, Russian, Swedish, Estonian and some Spanish. hehe. It was his birthday, and the spanking good friend's was coming up, as well as another friend or two who had just had theirs, so he took a swat for each year of all of them together. It was very funny and much joking around. He apparently had ANOTHER birthday spanking from another good friend after I left, and needed to sit on a cushion today. hehe.

Lucky Kitty from way back when M*dori was in town was there, and she was such a sweetie she gave me a foot massage. I thought I'd died and gone to heaven!! While I got that, another girl was tied down and being "tortured" with little tiny plastic clothespins and hot wax, and was totally hilarious. She kept pleading "no, no, ouch, it hurts, it is too much, I can't take it, no no nnooooo" but when reminded it would stop if she said "red" she just said "nono nono, ouch, it is too much". And when she said "no no please no more, no I can't stand it" and the three guys (one of whom was her boyfriend I think, and the other two friends of mine) asked "do you want us to stop now" she said "Noooooo!!" So we all burst out laughing. At the end she was just grinning and had a slice of Hotsauce's birthday cake we saved for her.

All in all I totally didn't regret going out. Very fun evening. Though at three am I was totally dead, and left alone in a taxi. Hotsauce and all stayed til 6:30 am!! eek! (it is BYOB so doesn't have to shut at bar hours) I DID fall down, when running to the car for my ride to GET there... and skinned my elbow, hand, and knee. Looked LOVELY and elegant in my black slinky dress. hehe.

So, good girl, I was in bed before 4am, and up today at 11:30 as planned for my second sale day. And it was TOTALLY cloudy when I was putting stuff out (I checked the weather channel, and it said only 20% chance of rain), and people going by kept saying "it's gonna rain it's gonna rain" and I was like "it's ok, i'll chance it" and then the sun came out and it was a gorgeous gorgeous day. I couldn't have picked a better two days for a garage sale if I'd tried.

But it is exhausting. That is all.

Well, that is the end of the very factual rather dull I am sure report. Cheers to all, and thanks for the well-wishes and garage sale encouragement!

tah!

me, tired wenchie.

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily