Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Mar. 29, 2006 - 11:27 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Spin that Wheel!!

Hi!
Well, thanks for the bedding plant advice... yes I could conceivably start some of these things by seed. In my experience, most things I have started have never made flowers, or have been tall skinny wingly things, completely a different species from bedding plant flowers. I have successfully started a couple things, such as brandywine heritage tomatoes one year. It takes a lot of $ in supplies: flourescent lights, sterile dirt, them little pots, the little plastic covers, heating pads etc: the only place to start things is in the basement, which is cold and dark. I have had lots of problems of plants getting too leggy, having mold, not getting enough nutrition etc. In one test, swiss chard bought as bedding plants 6 for $5 could be harvested three times at over a foot tall before my seeded swiss chard did anything but make spindly leaves that fall over. I dunno.

And my yard is so small, really unless I want to have the same thing everywhere, I seldom get more than 6 of a particular kind of flower. It is a bit weird to start 6 plants from seed. Whenever I did from seed inside, I ended up with dozens too many plants and was giving away basil, tomatoes, dill, and mostly I threw a lot in the compost.

So anyways, it was a fun thing to try, heritage tomatoes from scratch. But it is SOOOO MUCH WORK to get 6 or 12 healthy plants sprouted, transplanted to little pots, taking them outside every day to toughen them up to sunlight etc that I rather gave it up. So now I get bedding plants, which are already nice and flowery and not scrawny little spriglets that maybe make one flower by Sept, and perennials such as my daffodils, peonies, hydrangea, hostas, poppies, irises, ferns. And yes, for three years I tried to start poppies from scratch. HA Ha HA. Let's just say that after about $25 of seeds, that $5 poppy plant I bought was a great investment.

Anyways, if I want to save money, here is a great little item: an electricity-free pressure washing machine for clothes! cool. Makes me want to buy one for each of my tenants. I suppose that would actually be spending money instead of saving eh?

Besides that, I have been trying to figure out what to do. If like last year, I try to reduce spending in general, it backfires. I have fewer deductions and therefore higher taxable income. So, I shall have to just not buy anything personal. Nothing. hah. Well, I'll start with trying to lose some weight. So no more chocolate, less cheese per serving, less butter. No frenchfries. Fewer breakfasts out. I feel depressed already. hah! But thinner.

I could put the dog on a goodies diet... I swear I spend $10 a week on her for piggy ears alone. That adds up it does. Maybe I could break them in half and give her less. I'd save $250 a year. Of course when she drops dead I will save bundles. But will be lonely and sad. bwahahaha.

No vacations? I dunno. Business trips good. Vacations bad. Unfortunately I don't know that I can invent a business reason to have visited my mother in Vancouver this past January. ack. Big personal expense. And that winter coat... how do I make that a business deduction??

You can see I am stressing about the $. I promised myself I wouldn't stress about the money, but I catch myself doing it. Lying in bed trying to count what the hell purchases I could have made to have spent all that money I supposedly earned last year on. ack.

Well, it is late and I am tired. I really only opened this entry box in order to send you to the washing machine. Hell, for that price, I almost want to buy one. I could maybe wash the dog laundry in it. That could save me $5 every two weeks or so. hah. I can see it will take a while to add up to the $6000 or so I need to get out of the hole without earning taxable income. gah.

Obsessing? Me? hah!
maybe.
byebye
me
wenchie

I'm still googling... here are some eco washing balls to go detergentless, and some dryer balls to go fabricsoftenerless. Who knew.

Next cool item?? Shirts and other clothing made out of BAMBOO!! Very cool.

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily