Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Tuesday, Feb. 17, 2004 - 6:06 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Harvey Pekar is Splendid as an American Movie Star

Hey ya there y'all cutie patooties!! ( you can see I am in a dismal self-abusive depressed mood... must be pms)... hehe.

Hugs to all. yup and grins.

I am having a great time. For THREE nights now I have gotten more than eight hours sleep. UNBROKEN hours of sleep! YAY!!

And for the third night I don't have work deadlines! Wow!

I am a new woman!! I had a great day yesterday... did a bit of housecleaning, lounged around, wrote my Valentines entry. I DID do two sketches for a client but totally nonstress. I rented a movie that the lovely Massachussetts couple from Valentines eve suggested to me, while we boogied on the dance floor.

Hint... if ya want to flirt with the wench, suggest funky alternative movies and discuss comics while dancing to NIN and David Bowie. Do NOT suggest doing a line of coke, nor say that short hair is unsexy on women, nor say that fun underground 80's hits are "not heavy enough" to dance to. GONG!!!

So, yeah, I rented American Splendour, a sort of fiction/documentary of the comic book writer Harvey Pekar, who wrote a series of the same name, illustrated by many underground comics greats including Robert Crumb. It is a fun funky movie... and the guy reminds me of ...... ME!! hehe. He is hairier and less in shape, but writes about his own life, and the people around him. He notices the quirky things at the office, on the streets, in the grocery store, and writes them down in all it's real life comedic ugliness. His wife Joyce says he doesnt write the happy sunny side of life, and he goes "I'm a gloomy guy. Gloom and Doom". He talks too loud. He is prone to depression. He collects all kinds of shit. "you won't throw anything out" says Joyce. "well, not the good stuff" he replies. "to you it's ALL the good stuff" sighs Joyce.

He is into comics. He lives in a backwater. He never shuts up. He is annoying. He seems to have no sense of privacy. He is infertile. But I am not so needy of company as he is. He totally breaks down and loses it when his wife disappears to Israel for several weeks, and totally insults David Letterman as his guest. hehe. His wife is disgusted with him (hello ob!)... but she just says so, and they go on together.

The cool thing is that he DOES get a relationship. And fame DOESNT change him... accolades are not money, as I said before. Everyone may know your name, but no one shows up to wash the dog drool off the wall I tell ya. hehe. And the other cool thing is that he ends up with a kid in his life, a family with his wife. That's what I hope will happen to me. That some kid needing a parent comes along and I can take em in. yup. That part made me sort of longing and sad and happy and smiling all at the same time.

Anyhowz I recommend the movie. It would be good on a weekend along with Ghost World, and Crumb, as a triple bill... the weird underground comics weekend. A good thing. Check em out and then come and tell me what you think. I think people are weird. (here's another Ghost World movie link)

As Robert Ripley said, Believe it or Not... it is the real world around us that is full of unbelievable facts... who needs fiction?? :)

Then once you've seen the movies, go check out the comics themselves.. there is a reason why these comics and artists are famous. Robert Crumb is mostly published by Fantagraphics. Daniel Clowes writes Ghost World as well as Eightball. Harvey Pekar writes American Splendour.

My god it takes a long time to find all those links... and YES those are all separate URLs to check out...

Besides eating my great guacamole thanks to my Michigan friend who sent my tomatoes, while I watched that film, I spoke with my mom on the phone from Hawaii. She is having a great time... sort of. Hehe. She might come back 10 days early or more, since she and her friend are sort of in each other's hair. Personally I cannot really stand (well, she isn't really horrid or malicious or anything, just grates on me A LOT!) this friend, and think she has screwed my mom around several times. So I am not so surprised. Though I do, for my Mom's sake, wish it were going swimmingly. She just says that they are both used to living alone and the apartment is very small. That means that they are starting to not stand each other either. She says everyone gets like this. I beg to differ. When I visited ob, except for the last visit when god only knows what was mutating inside her, we got along ridiculously well. Must be cause she was stifling her disgust so well that not only I was convinced she loved me, but she was convinced herself... and we were the fuckin lowest key fun people around. No drama, no snarking, no getting on nerves. When she visited here, my friends all remarked on how relaxed and lowkey we were together. Yup. We did have a very good thing before she was invaded by whatever she was invaded by. Hah.

Anyways, I had a really nice chat with my Mom. That is cool. And she will send me macadamia nuts as a prezzie from Hawaii. Yay! WITHOUT chocolate on them, cuz I want to taste the nuts... they are quite subtle in flavour, and the ones from Hawaii are so good.

Well, I am going to shut this down now, cuz I will write another QUICKIE entry about this evening which was also delish. tah!

Oh, I should say that soon I shall write an entry on good women cartoonists.. Crumb and all are very BOY and that is BOY, scarcely MAN. hehe. Rather misogynist on the sides... Crumb inspired Roberta Gregory to write "Bitchy Bitch" comics... but that is another story for another night... maybe when I am back from hanging with her in SF... tah!

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily