Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Tuesday, Jul. 05, 2005 - 5:04 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Yardwork, Housework and Working in the Garden but little Work

Agh where does time go???

OK, i know where it goes, it goes um, down the slippery slope.

I feel like I've gotten very little done today.

But I called around about six or seven publishers to get their take on royalty statements to better negotiate an upcoming contract (don't you love it when the one you're arguing with says "it's standard practice"... well, then I call around. No it is not standard practice, unless everyone I've ever worked with is just above standard).

I called two publishers whose contracts I need to start working on (sketches due in August). One of them sounded very sheepish, since she has let things slide since our conversation four weeks ago. Glad I'm not the only one.

I transfered eight large drawings (about 12" square) and two smaller drawings (about 6 by 8") onto watercolor paper. I went to the gym and so feel less crinkly and smarky.

I walked doggies, and picked swiss chard in the garden. Got two large shopping bags full. Right now it is waiting for me to put it up in the freezer.

Oh yeah, backtrack a bit. I was THINKING of picking the swiss chard and putting it up in the freezer so thought it was a good time to take advantage of the STILL 30�C weather and defrost the large upright freezer. I had to take everything out and put it in the bath and put a sleepingbag over it all. Then I shoved a bunch of huge towels in the freezer to absorb the melting ice, propped the door open and THEN went to the gym.

I realize that my cautiousness in not eating all my frozen goodies before winter was over is now pointless. I totally have to eat all the frozen veg and soups from last year to clear out space for this coming harvest!!

It is funny when people say "well, YEAH, you gotta EAT!!" when I talk about not getting paid for some contract. I garden, folks, even in my front yard as well as my garden. And I put it up in the freezer. It is very unlikely that I will have nothing to eat. VERY unlikely.

"well, YEAH, I gotta PAY MY BILLS!" is more like it. One can always eat very little for a day or three, or buy a bag of pasta for the price of returning some bottles and cans. But it is a bit harder to do that to pay your house insurance (I am now in love with my house insurance... knock on wood) or your electricity bill. Hmmm.

So, the freezer is all cleaned out, defrosted, everything back in all cute and sweet and in order. I ate some of the tons of borscht I still have in there, and a salad from my garden. mmmm.

So, yeah, freezer, swiss chard, I picked a bunch of oregano. I know nothing about fresh oregano, so after googling it online I realize I should have picked it two weeks ago before it flowered. Oh well. Apparently it is still good, though less essential oil in the leaves. Oh well. I shall hang it in the basement perhaps (I have a dehumidifier down there).

And I am doing my third of four loads of laundry. Good girl.
and I did the dishes.

So, it is a really cleanup good day. Last night (read 6-7am) before I went to bed I put more fishnet stuff on the trellises in the frontyard for the snow peas to climb. I feel pretty much on top of things around the place (within reason... haven't fixed the back patio yet)... but boy one doesn't have much time for work with all that other stuff.

Didn't they used to call it yardwork, working in the garden and housework? Dang. Now I call it "I didn't get anything done today". hah!

I am going to see my therapist on Thursday for the first time in over a year. I want to talk about the adoption stuff. I feel very cautious about discussing it here in this space. Especially since that comments attack a bit back. It feels not safe enough to let out my anxieties, discuss my hesitations and options. Not safe enough. That is too bad. Diaryland used to be my therapy tool I would blog out anything I felt. I guess I was oblivious to the consequences more back then.

OK, gotta go deal with the swiss chard before it all wilts. Run a bath of water, wash it, then chop it, blanche it and shove it into little ziplocs for posterity. I LOVE putting up food. Really, I should have been a hutterite or amish I should have.

zzzz
me
wenchie.
oh, hope all y'all americans had a lovely July 4th!
cheers!

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily