Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Jan. 19, 2005 - 1:25 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Leaving On a Jet Plane....

Waga waga... yes I have gone missing in action.

I worked up to about 9:30 pm last night, then had a shower and got dolled up in fishnet stockings, garterbelt, calf-high harley boots, red plaid schoolgirl skirt, black cashmere short sleeved sweater and some eyeliner... and then piled on a sweater and two long wool coats and walked doggies. hehe.

Cuz yup I had a date with Disappearing Boy. I am on a condom-friendly mission... and it is going well... amazing how many fun things one can do with a condom on. GRIN. Anyways, I fooled around, drank red wine, listened to music (somehow DB missed hearing of Peaches before!... he liked her a lot), smoked a little pot, more red wine, more fooling around, some surfing of nasty websites (I am trying to corrupt him... it seems to be working a weeeee bit), more fooling around, some cheese fondue, the last of the wine, some water, some chatting and finally at 4:30 am, some sleep.

And so I started my day early right? WRONG! Dang me anyways. DB was up at 10:30 am, which is practically midday for him, and I was up a wee bit. But it took me a little while to get back to sleep and then I somehow managed to roll over a gazillion times until nearly 2:30pm. Dang. And then felt overslept and puffy... yup, i get circles under my eyes when I sleep TOO much. Oh as if that is something to complain about!

I didn't get my comic page drawn cuz my head was drawing a complete blank. This is one reason why I used to draw my minicomics all the same day or two days... 4 or 8 pages at once. But that takes a good block of time. Way back when I did that, I was doing Swedish Massage for a living 4 days a week, which left me with lots of free time... I never did more than 5 massages in a day, and had 3 days off. Now at a page a day, I end up interruptin gmy flow of thought when my hour is up, until the next day. It is not so simple to pick up in an unbroken flow. Dang. So I still have that left to do tonight.

I DID get most of a new manuscript read (which includes taking notes). I love it (well, let's say i'm sort of ambivalent) when publishers just say "the new manuscript is ready" and then send it out. I don't have any choice but to find time to fit it in, since it is in their publishing schedule and since this happens with books in series, they can't really give the book to another illustrator. So I have another book like the dog gang book to do, but this one about Serbian immigrants. Only one dog. :)

Later this evening I had an Illustrator's Assoc. admin meeting. It was ok. But it is minus 20 outside so I wore two pairs of long underwear!! and TWO wintercoats to walk there and back. I must say it was a bit overdone but appropriate. I was the only one at the dog park afterwards who didn't look like a scarcely thawed icecube. It is not so fun in the park these days... last Thurs it was way above freezing so all is ice with a thin layer of powder snow, great for suddenly sliding and twisting and breaking things. One guy fell badly on his shoulder last night. youch.

News.... I bought my ticket to San Fran for April 7-14 to go to the comics con, like last year. Yay! I am being a bad girl and staying for a whole week instead of 5 days. I think the two extra days will make it into a fun relaxing trip instead of a rush in rush out overbooked extravaganza. I have no idea if I have the time or money to go, but at least it is a business trip, and the tickets were on sale. Only $169 cdn each way... of course then there are the "airport improvement fees" and taxes etc, but shit, that is a great price.

I do feel guilty that I'm not flying off to see my mother... that will have to wait for June since the South Korean contract is supposed to end May 30... the seat sale's travel all had to be undertaken by May 31 so I couldn't really get a ticket to Vancouver as well as the SF one. Dang. She'll be all "you don't love me, you take time off to go to SF but not to see your mother!". Ok, she probably won't say it, she will allude to it. sigh.

Speaking of the west coast, my father called and left a message that he got his marmot stuff... a poster, some information, I don't know what all. I had sent a fax for his birthday saying "hope you got your marmot" and he had no idea what I meant, and now he knows. He sounded sort of pleased so that's good. But why can I not have a non-insane father? OK, he is likely not insane, but I would like one I could say "I love you" to without feeling I am fueling my own emotional abuse. Dang and dang again. Sigh.

OK, gotta get to work on the Leo's Dog book...

forward and onward. It is nearly 2am and some guy from freecycle is coming for vinyl records at 1pm... I will free up some more bookshelf space in the studio. A good thing.

cheers, and sorry to my diaryland buddies whose diaries I am not up to date on...

me
wenchie

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily