Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Oct. 16, 2004 - 1:19 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Ketchup and Beating Small Children

Yowza. Eric Gr�nier, the guy who was on trial for killing his girlfriend's 4 yr old son (he died of a hemoraged vein in his abdomen after repeated beatings) has been acquitted.

It turns out that the bruises and injuries on the small child, who was adopted from overseas, were from a couple hours to a week old, and the damage to the vein in question could have been done anytime in the 24 hours preceeding him falling unconscious and going into cardiac arrest during the boyfriend's care. In fact the girlfriend-slash-kid's adoptive mother could have done it.

Apparently her first reactions on hearing the kid was dead was to say "what will people think of me? What will people at work say?". yowza.

The poor poor baby. And cuz they can't say it was him and only him, he is acquitted. Now both of them should be charged with child abuse leading to death. I cannot believe that if there is question about WHICH of the two committed the killing stroke, they both get off. Frightening.

To change subjects to something a bit more fun, here is a wacky though seriously educational article about Ketchup (and also Grey Poupon mustard and Prego spaghetti sauce. Who knew the culinary world is so complex???

Hey, thanks to everyone for posting comments. I really like comments. I get up in the morning (ok afternoon), and open my email over breakfast and normally see a bunch of "New comment for Wench77's diary" there with all the work stuff and general list shit and i'm like YEAH! It makes my day start off nicely, so thanks!

Today I got up sort of late (2pm) since I stayed up late (nearly 7am) but got my comics page done, and lots of comments back on Sept contracts which can finally fly. Of course. Now that my father has gotten all resentful of me not working, he leaves and all the work comes in. Sigh. But yay, that's what I meant, yay!

I got the proofs back for the photosession I did on Tuesday for promo images for my job... and I am pleased to say that despite my old-lady skin texture showing, I have smile lines instead of frown lines. Thanks to me noticing in a shop window what I looked like, stomping along looking at the ground frowning, about ten or 15 years ago. Now I mostly smile at people on the street, notice the sunshine and funny dogs, flowers and interesting happenings. It was a good change and it is wonderful to see it shows in the lines on my face as I age. YAY wenchie! And today I actually noticed myself spontaneously singing as I washed up this morning! yay!! You know, sometimes you realize there really WAS a good reason to move thousands of miles from all your relatives and stay there.

I tried this evening to get my watercolor paints so I could start my "paint the portrait of a leaf" project. I called and there was a community car share car available RIGHT AWAY! So I hoofed it to the shop that the teacher said sold the brand she is asking us to buy... a shop I do go to for supplies sometimes about a half hour away in the car. Friday night traffic downtown and parking... I illegally parked in the backend of a busstop, and then... turns out they are open til 7pm Monday through Friday. How weird is that? All shops here close at 6pm pretty much on Monday to Wed, and are open late til 9pm on Thurs and Friday (and 5pm on the weekend)... but they are open late on Mon - wed and then closed tonight. Damn.

So I quickly got out of my illegal parking spot, and headed to the other downtown art supply shop... horrible monopoly merger people that ate up at least three other art stores including the one I worked at, in the early 90's. They'd buy them out, put up their name, and then within a year close them. So now there is only one downtown instead of three competitors that you could check for different brands, or if one was out of stock. Damn the monopoly merger people!!

But their plan worked anyways of course... we don't have much choice. So I bought paper to draw my comics, paper for my illustration work, paper for my sketches, paper for the watercolor class. Pretty much I just bought paper. And it came to $271!!!!!! EEEK!! And guess who has two "$10 off this week at evil monopoly merger" coupons lying at home on her studio floor in plain site. I didn't plan to go anywhere near there, so didn't think to take them. I could have gone twice and chopped it down to $251. Dang. But a good thing is I parked illegally to go there too (in a "residents-permit-only" zone), and I didn't get a ticket so I'm damn glad. And supplied up with paper til Christmas I think. Yay!

****RADIOGURL!! POLITICS WARNING!!!!*****Hey, did I write here that former employees of some companies in the US signing up voter registrations have turned in unfiled tornup registrations of Democratic voters that their bosses were trashing? Frightening. Yay for proper elections in the democracy capital of the world. Yay. And also, Saudi Arabia is saying that women there will not be able to vote in elections. Yay for the allies of the democracy capital of the world (the democracy capital who was vaunting the wonders of Afghan women now being able to vote thanks to them... )... glad they are consistent in their women's rights crusade! Not.

:"Saudi women have limited freedoms. Without written permission from a male guardian, they may not travel, get an education or work. Regardless of permissions, they are not allowed to drive, mix with men in public or leave home without covering themselves with black cloaks, called abayas.

The decision was first announced by Interior Minister Prince Nayef in an interview published yesterday. In his terse comment to a Kuwaiti newspaper, Nayef said only: �I don�t think that women�s participation is possible.�
****End of Radiogurl Politics Warning!!******

Here's just a fun link: it's the stipple pen and ink illustrations and portraits drawn by Noli Novak, who apparently works for the Wall Street Journal. Who knew.

Yesterday after my watercolor class I went to see the show "7 Printmakers" in the gallery space there. I really loved the work of Ann McCall, Annette Wolfstein-Joseph, and

hugs,
me,
wenchie.

Here is my horoscope for Friday, October 15:

You're after answers, and you won't settle for anything that's not absolute fact. If you've ever thought about a career in detective work, this wouldn't be a bad time to start.

Well, that is pretty much true 100% of the time (except for the "not a bad time to start" bit). cheerio!

6 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily