Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Jun. 19, 2005 - 2:37 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Landlady Landlady Fly Away Home

Hey there! I'm taking a wee break from my South Korea contract to cut and paste the email I sent to Radiogurl about my landlady fun, that I mentioned last night but did not go into:


My landlady drama. Me the landlady.

Had water dripping on my head from my kitchen ceiling. Bad news. The apartment upstairs on the second floor didn't have anything visible wrong with its plumbing, neither did the apartment next to it. So I went to the third floor.

The woman had put dirty dishes in her sink, put the plug in (and added water, don't know)... and not turned the faucet off properly so it was leaking drip drip drip. Yes, at the same speed as water was dripping on my head on the ground floor. It had overflowed, and was leaking down where the taps come up, down through two floors to my ceiling. Turns out that the guy on the second floor had water inside his upper cupboards too, and it soaked a picture he had on the wall there. My ceiling's plaster was all soft, and the paint cracked with water dripping through.

Lovely enough, she mustve been eating fish since the cold wet water made my hand smell like fish oil for a day... maybe sardines? urk.

Add to that the fact that her cat had peed on the kitchen counter, and it had evaporated to the consistency of honey. Same all over the kitchen floor, and puddled on a plastic handbag on the floor. There had been cat piss on the kitchen counter (unneutered male cat) when i had the plumber in to fix her shower um, three weeks ago. I figured she would wipe it up that day... I left it so she'd be aware he was doing it. Well, if you ask me, it is the exact same piss since there is so much and it is all evaporated to a golden brown color that is sticky, not wet wet. So it totally stunk.

Now, the water could have been an accident, except it is a stupid one. You don't put the plug in a sink and then not turn the tap off tight and leave for days (I don't think she's been back yet, 24 hours later).

the cat piss thing is just disgusting.

But she is also the one who was late for rent for four months in a row "I haven't found my checkbook yet". For heaven's sake get a new one from the bank. AND the one who had THREE full recycling bins piled on her back balcony last summer (hell, I live alone like she does and it takes me two or three weeks to fill one, not three... and they pick up every week)... it was windy and there were empty catfood cats, newspapers and plastic cheese wrappers in my back porch flying everywhere. And then she went away leaving all her garbage on her back balcony, which she shares with the other third floor tenant.

He came down complaining it totally stunk and there were maggots crawling over the whole back balcony. Apparently she was eating lobster or scampi or somesuch before she left, and left it in the sun in a plastic bag for two weeks. "It wasn't garbage day when I left". Hell, people put garbage out on the front sidewalk a day in advance all the time, and if not, you can bet that any of the other four apartments in the building would have been happier to put it out for her before the maggots and rotten fish smell.

I am really fed up with her.
Sigh.

Anyways, so that was what the landlady drama was. I missed going to the gym, trying to figure out if a pipe was broken, if it was the roof leaking or what, and then photographing cat piss.

sheesh.

So there ya go. Fun fun fun.

I was quite happy to have at least solved the mystery of where the water was coming from. I called a plumber but he was busy til Monday, and gave me hints on sussing out the problem. I am so glad all it took to fix was to pull a kitchen sink plug and turn a tap tight enough to stop a drip.

I hope it stays dry for the next while. First we had about five days of 30�C with 80-100% humidity, then we have had about 5 or 6 days of rain.... with the water dripping, really, only one tiny drop at a time, long enough to soak through the walls, the floor, the cupboards, wood, plaster etc to get from the third floor down to the first floor, I fear that if we continue to have hot or wet weather we will have a mold problem in the walls and ceilings. The little fucker. I am not the cleanest of people, in that my place is not spotless and clutterfree. But I don't leave food to rot, cat piss to evaporate for days or weeks, or garbage and dirty sink water to pile up and go over. Sigh.

I will call the rental board on Monday to see what I can do. I fear that none of this is actually severe enough damage to get her out. Maybe with the cat piss I can make her get rid of her cat. But I'm afraid of what next.

OK, back to work! tah!
me
wenchie

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily