Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Jun. 04, 2005 - 4:38 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

One Dang Long Entry to Sum Up a Week and More

Yo! Here is a lame attempt to get back into putting photos in my diary. This is me on Haight Street in San Fran, hanging out with my friend L-Bob, who is, of course, behind the camera. Me? I am suckin on a hookah of course! Smooooooth! That was way back in April. Egads time flies. I WAS going to write a play by play of my trip to San Fran when I got the photos back, but it just never happened. However I just got THESE pics back today... they were in a little disposable camera I just finished this past weekend in Toronto. So there ya go.

Sooooo... I have hardly been updating except for passing on a rant on a bad website here and there. Why?? I have been horribly busy. Besides having gone to Toronto this past weekend, welllll.... the Wed previous to that I actually knocked off work at a reasonable hour, got dolled up in a cute dress and stockings and took Disappearing Boy out for a beer for his birthday. I had forgotten how hard it is to buy drinks for people who are broke. People who are broke always buy their own drinks, so as not to be obligated to buy the next round, which they in no way can afford. I wrastled him down to the ground (no, no I just snuggled him up) and got him to let me pay for 2 drinks since it was his birthday. And do you think he'd accept I got him a prezzie like art supplies? No way. So, it was a fun night, I had red wine (the nasty bar didn't even serve Corona), bought a frozen pizza on the way home mmmm and made out til all hours. Very fun. He even slept over which was nice.

Thurday before Toronto was a mayhem of buying bus tickets, running to copy centers, mailboxes, drawing my comics page, packing, vacuuming, various sorts of manic picking up and cleaning so the place was nice to come home to. I did manage to get like 4 hours sleep, but I still slept most of the way to Toronto on the bus.

Friday night I just hung out with my Toronto buds (my best friend from grade 7-8 and her guy)... we ordered in roti mmmm and watched the first half of The Two Towers of LOTR, which I had never seen. I wonder if anyone made any connection with America's missing towers? All them trees being lopped off and the insane arms race. I wonder who Frodo is in real life?

Saturday I was up bright and early and downtown at 9am if you can believe it. yup. See, I am capable. When there is a necessity there is a way. I won't even go into the day and the mess at the end of it. Suffice it to say that when places rent venues they should check that they are suitable for the purposes in mind, and make sure they rent them for the full time necessary. Ie, if you tell the employees and public that it is open to the public til 6pm, you should not rent the space til 6pm, since the owners will of course start expecting everyone to be packed up and out before you are even officially closed. I don't know about you, but comics retailers aren't that much better at closing shop in zero time than are lets say, cooks and waitresses. Sigh.

Saturday ended with a fan coming buy to drop some money, which was nice. Due to various locale-related circumstances I sold one book at 10 am, then sold only $2 worth between 10 am and 5:45 pm when Fan arrived to drop a good $60. yay!! He was there to witness the nasty ending (indeed if he hadn't shown up there wouldn't have been a happy ending, since I could have packed up at 10am with little effect upon my business day) and invited me out to dinner with his girlfriend afterwards. We noshed out at Sneaky Dee's, which is a place that gives huge excellent portions of Mexican food. mmmmm.

His girlfriend was delightfully meaty in conversation and knowledge, and gave me a historical tour as we walked to the cake and coffee place, and then later to the subway station. I thoroughly enjoyed my evening. Got to bed pretty early.

Sunday started at 10am downtown, and again, I ended up moving my comics table set-up times #4 and #5. This time it was due to wind and rain (and the fact the previous day's venue was a flop for all involved). I was on a panel about comics and sexuality which was quite fun. I met some cool fellowpanelists. But between moving tables, rain, and the panel which started a half hour late, I got less than 2 hours selling in on Sunday as well. I did get to hang out with a dandy chameleon whose name was Andy I think. Andy's owner gave me a story he wrote about his hugeomungo motorcycle accident that took him years to recover from. I feel even more glad than ever I didn't follow through with getting my motorcycle licence. Dang.

Sunday I took my schoolfriend and her guy out for dinner... hehe I had fish and chips. Isn't it lovely to have not a single thing red, yellow or green on your plate! Who needs vegetables? Feh!!! And then we watched the end of LOTR and I read an adoption book. sleepybyes and I took the bus back at 7am. yikes. Yes I slept the whole way, not even waking to eat at noon.

Since then it has been mayhem. Unpacking, getting back in the work and comics groove. I got a community carshare for an hour after I arrived in town on Monday and went shopping for bedding plants. Tuesday I did the bedding plant thing in my backyard. Wednesday I did it in the front yard. Thursday I did my community garden. Which brings us to today when I just worked.

But it really feels good to have all the gardens in. The thyme and grass I seeded in the backyard are growing. I got new ferns and some red perennial grass to add to the back. In the front i put in flowers, but also cherry tomatoes and english cukes. The snowpeas are up, and the red runner beans are starting too. In the garden I put swish chard, yellow and green zucchinis, and 5 different kinds of bush tomato plants. I am trying them out, since I normally start heritage tomatoes in the basement, which are indeterminate and go on my trellises out front. But I decided that there is no longer enough sun due to city trees, and so the trellises are doing beans and peas, and the tomatoes are doing the garden thing where there is sun sun sun.

New Boy came with me to put in the garden. He really knows very little about gardening. I don't have high hopes for that relationship. There are no sparks or flirtations going on despite having hung out for several hours at least five times. He doesn't make me laugh or compliment me. He just hangs out in a relaxed manner. But that's good for a friend, not a romance. Really, Disappearing Boy is so much more suitable... after 17 years there is no romance, but there is caring, complicity, a totally shared sense of humour and repartee, and even cuddles and sex. Compared to him New Boy is really just um, there. oh well.

Humour. I need humour. And flirting. I need flirting. Teasing. Joshing. Giggling. Shared jokes and in jokes. oh well.

On that note, I am off to bed. I cannot believe it is light out at 5am. yeeks!

OK another busy day. It is my friend Hot Sauce's birthday. I have gotten no prezzie, and in fact am in arrears for last year's prezzie... I was supposed to draw him a sexy drawing and never got around to it. I'm a dolt. He's my best friend. oh well. He is working on a film as an extra tomorrow so I might not be able to take him out to dinner. But we WILL do THAT.

nite nite. tah! ooooooops!
I forgot! I had another picture! Here is me and Mid*ori, at a workshop on play piercing local gal and I went to in San Fran. She is very fun. Local Gal, AND Mid*ori. If she is ever in your town giving ANY workshop, be sure to go. Best entertainment around. tah!
me
wenchie

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily