Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Oct. 13, 2004 - 5:08 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Wenchie Gets Back to Work!

OK, you will ALL be thrilled, this won't be politics OR a Dad rant. yay!!!!!!

So, incredible how much more I can get done when I am focussed eh! I just finished all the sketches for a new book... wherein the kid wonders what happens to socks eaten during the laundry... yah a real original situation. As such it was not hard to draw. Socks don't take much reference material. Though I DID drag about six folded pairs of them out of my sock drawer and onto my drawing table to get that realistic "folded socks" look.

I got the cover sketch done Sunday, and the last two nights I got four full pages, four half pages, 9 chapter heading spots and two other spots sketched out. Yay!


Copyright 2004 Wench77

Click on the picture to open a larger size in another window. yeah. I'll post up the finished color piece as well... it will be fun to do since the socks have red polka dots, and mauve flowers. Or somesuch.

I also finally got the approval on some sketches I did for a contract in the states around Sept 1. It's about a lady teacher who takes her class to see this mystery artist's paintings at an art museum... it turns out that she in fact is the artist, showing under a masculine pseudonym.
Copyright 2004 Wench77
My artwork is for a textbook where the students will discuss the difference between fact and opinion. Fact: The paintings are brightly colored. Opinion: They look like your little sister couldve painted them. hehe. Here's a sketch of one of the supposed paintings, which is two toasters boxing.

Again I will post color finals when they are done... probably late Thursday night or Friday... Gosh it feels nice to be productive. Yay for having my own space. Yogagirl has dropped by and brought me some poppyseed lemon loaf, and some pea soup mmmm. But she is staying at her guy friend's place for now. He is doing the same yoga thing as her so they keep the same hours. Being as she is a light sleeper that is very good for her. And for me.

My gosh I want to thank all the mothers of the world who do not create absolute quiet around their sleeping children, allowing them to learn to sleep through normal daily noises. It is very difficult to function when lightsleepers have different sleep schedules in a house. youch.

Anyhews... what a day. Started with me returning a phone message left by the Quebec Govt... who knew that it was the income tax department collection agency! youch youch double youch. I sent them a check for $2000 a couple weeks ago... I expected them to be happy, not to turn me over to a collection agency.

My accountant wrote them a letter way back in June when I got my appraisal (way higher than she had calculated) telling them that they had missed a deduction she had applied, which was a credit unused from the previous year carried over. I have been waiting ever since for them to acknowledge the mistake, or at least challenge her assessment. Nothing. So I considered the final amount payable to still be up in the air, and them their regular slothlike selves when they are asked to lower the ammount payable.

Hah, they seem to want to make arrangements to pay their bogus overcalculated amount. I finally just said I'd refer my accountant to them. I mean really, if they have made a mistake, I am not going to pay thousands more than necessary til they fix it. cripey. They wanted me to commit to sending them postdated checks for the whole amount then and there on the phone. yikes!

Then I realized that my Dad had written in the fax "sorry I didn't get the second coat of paint on the outside steps"... so I paid him for doing something I thought was done that isnt... I'll have to spend some time painting in the next two or three days so the first coat doesnt get dirty. Dang. Also realized that wall-patching upstairs had been commenced and not finished in a tenant's apartment. Yay. More work I thought was done. Dang.

Other than that it was a pretty good day. Some new work from the states, not very well paying but better than a kick in the butt.

I got my new promo photos for backs of books etc taken by some cool chick from Minneapolis here in my livingroom this evening. I'm gonna link to her stuff here, but not put her name cuz she knows too many people I know and I don't feel like them all googling my diary when they look her up, so here: work of cool photographer who did portraits of me today. (btw, ms cool photographer woman, if you read this due to clicking back on your referrals, please don't link to my diary! thanks a lot! I don't mind if you read but please no linkies... it is SORT of personal, well, very personal but sort of anonymous, thanks!) I won't see them for maybe a week. Digital, in black and white, and also in color. Very cool.

What else. Oh yah, meeting on Sunday for supper and coffee with the biting girl from the Kink weekend. We really got along nicely. Which was so pleasant after the father thing. We chatted and chatted, politics, personal relationship shit, lots of stuff and stuff. yup. nice. She is very cute, more femmey than I normally go for but in a kind of kickass way, and funnily enough was wearing a stretch camo dress, which is what the Little Criminal (male ex of mine) was wearing when I met him. Funny. Though he was also doing makeup and fishnets.

So, I only got some kissing on a streetcorner on Sunday night, with her and also with Extract Boy, but they both expressed desire to get together sometime in the future, and extractboy wants to go out dancing. He has just discovered contact dance, which I adlib very rarely with dancer friends when it just "happens". But then I have a great time, so willing to try it with Extract Boy.

No matchmaking, cuz these two people are all over the board right now... ie just broken up, poly, etc. I really want to go out with ONE person. Enough of this supposed "open" shit. It's ok for a quickie sex fling, or to make friends. But no more "wanna be my girlfriend, or ONE of them??" aaack!

Well, that's about it for now. Doing fine, though have ranted tooooo much about the dad thing, and now the fax thing. Done.

Hahaha, it will probably not be done til he dies at the age of 92. So we are about 2/3 of the way through. Considering I wasn't there for the first 20 years, that means I am about 1/2 way through. yikes.

So... hehe, another Presidential Debate tomorrow night people! youpee youpee! That means another political rant. Maybe. Or not.

I'll remember to asterix***** it for Radiogurl.

Nitenite!

Me, wenchie.

0 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily