Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Jul. 08, 2004 - 7:07 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

No Screws Loose, But Missing A Bolt

Well, second entry tonight, though the first scarcely counts as one... it has a funny article link and a fun art history quiz link. First entry here.

Well, the inevitable happened... I put together the trailer box tonight, and am missing ONE bolt. Why oh why do they put 32 bolts when you need exactly 32 bolts.

I swear for the past three weeks I have had 32 bolts, despite having used them to drill the holes and assemble, dissemble, reassemble the box a gazillion times, take them to the hardware store for nuts etc. Even tonight when I started I had 32 bolts.

Now I have put it all together, I have picked up all the tools, the painting supplies, swept the floor. Gone through the pockets on three pairs of pants... missing one bolt. It will likely turn up in about five years, after the dog is long dead. hehe.

Anyways, I am too tired to actually be upset.

And I am happy with myself for having spent so much time making those bloody holes line up and countersinking them. All the bolts went in tonight like a dream.

And before I put it together I managed to get holes in the bottom (after about three tries... WHY when you trace around the actual pieces that need to fit through, and then drill the holes on the tracing, does it not match up? I guess I am not up to cabinetmaking yet) so that I can now screw the box onto the frame (hehe, with four bolts.. and of course they included only four bolts. Tough shit if you take it apart outside and one rolls into a drain, or down a hill or under the car.)

AND I came up with the brilliant idea of making handholes in the sides and front, so I can lift it easily and manipulate it without it being just flat (haha, let's say, CURVED) plywood. It is a good idea to think of such things BEFORE painting three coats of epoxy floor paint, since afterwards, the paint just serves to make any splinter into a peeling mess that is hard to lop off. But I need to retouch the handholes anyways with paint, so what the hey.

So, I even thought to put the box together lightly in order to see where the center of gravity is (closer to the front, since the front has another piece of plywood whereas the back is open), and placed the handholes accordingly.

I am happy to say that Makita power tools are more userfriendly than this garden cart kit... everything works with the same hex key (included... unlike the supposedly but not included kit hex key). I love my jigsaw. love love love.

Other than that, a productive day. I got my comic page done. I got all of the approved adult language book finals inked. I got the approved hardware store humour piece colored in. Got my organic veggie picked up (I may be REALLY REALLY tired of salad by the time we get to root veggies). Did some browsing for my mom's birthday prezzie... i gotta get snapping on that. Called my cuz in Stoon to see if she's going to the family reunion. mostly yup. Tried to get a plane ticket (amazing how two times $214 equals $594... who knew!!!) online, but their brilliant online system cannot be used without a PIN, for which you need to phone them during opening hours. Duh. So I'll do that tomorrow.

A busy yet relaxed day. Now it is pouring rain. And very warm. And I am very hungry, and very tired. and very going to go to sleep. But first I will upload that humour pic for the hardware mag for you to see. It will pay for the vet bill yesterday, and the cat food today. Easy come easy go.

Let me say I have no clue where SquirrelX gets the money to feed all her "babies"... multiple dogs, squirrels, mice, more dogs, some cats and cows or something. Maybe sheep and lost teenagers. Anyways, I don't know how she manages.

Tah, Now I will upload that pic. Don't go away now, ya hear??

Here we go:


Copyright 2004 Wench77

I think that picture is self-explanatory, but anyhews, it is a DYI woman trying to "staunch the flow", and her language is why you send the kids to grandma's when you do DYI projects. My cats don't care. They never pick up my language. This is why I don't have a parrot or a myna bird.

Here is my horoscope for Wednesday, July 7:

Someone's ego or finances get in the way of a good time. If the problem can be handled immediately, please do so. If there's no immediate solution, roll your eyes, set it aside and have fun anyway.

I have no idea what they're talking about. Now I am off to eat a grilled cheese. Making grilled cheeses before going to bed, and it is already 7:28 am, is not a good way to be up early in the day. sigh.

Happy DYIing y'all.

Me, wenchie

ps, there WERE two tickets for kd lang, but they were at the back of the parterre, so I wouldnt see a thing, and were $93. So I didn't go. It's ok. It will go towards the 2x $214 = $594 plane tickets. tah.

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily