Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Aug. 15, 2004 - 5:06 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Overcooked Potatoes and Mustang Sauce

egads. I have to stop playing with the html I swear.

Today I learned how to make a slideshow. Unfortunately to make a slideshow, I think you need each image on a separate html text page, what a pain...

so of course I had to make enough pages so that I could actually see if it was automatically loading like a slideshow or not. It was. But it took me til 2am, and I didn't even get images into an order i like. ack.

And my father sent me the dvd of Hidalgo for my birthday... (also a set of a sharp pointy forky thing... good for skewering sides of beef I guess, two ladles (very nice but i do already have two) and a slotted spoon. I cannot remember if I already have a slotted spoon...)

And I had NO idea what Hidalgo was about or why it might be sent to me me me.

So I watched it so i will be at least able to say something besides "thanks for a dvd I've never heard of and don't know if I'll like"...

It is about a horse. yes a horse. It is sort of one of those Dances With Wolves types of things, but they knew we'd bitch about the white guy again, so supposedly he has a native mother, though he is blond and all.

It is pretty good, though not one of those movies you sit at the edge of your seat. Despite the high head count, the good guys always win. It is very comforting, except for the part where they slaughter the indians, where Wild Bill Hickock's show is full of rewritten glorified fake history redone by people who hate doing it, and the part where they are rounding up the mustangs to shoot them. Sorry if you have not seen it, but maybe that's a spoiler. Well, we all know that these exact same things are happening and did happen all over the place.

And so I cried at the end of the movie. It is a movie I would probably have loved to death when I was about 11 and wanted to save the wolves, and wanted all humans to die so the earth could survive and all that. Now I just liked the movie. And try not to get overwhelmed and depressed.

Years and hundreds of years ago I was hamstrung by my pain of all that is wrong in the world, and that I didn't know how to live my life without contributing to it, and didn't know where to start to make it better. And now I still don't know but I don't spend whole days crying over the dead people in Ruwanda and Somalia and at that time Biafra I guess.

Crying doesn't help much.

Anyways it is a pretty good movie, and nothing much is answered, and the white woman is a hateful bitch. Why is the white woman always a hateful bitch? Why can't the white woman be intelligent and caring, tough and crusty? Always spoiled and horrid or helpless or sweet and in need of protection. Black women are tough and reliable and feisty. Spanish women are tough and reliable and feisty. In this movie the arab woman is tough and reliable and feisty. And the white woman is a bitch. At least she's a British bitch and not a Swedish bitch. hehe.

I guess I'll stick with Little House on the Prairie.

nite nite.

I'm really sorry about the photos and all that. I even got permission to post photos of me and l'Ecrivaine wearing matching clingy crushed velvet dresses and fishnets and I am just too pooped on BBEdit and Photoshop to go there.

Now I have to make some potato salad for tomorrow, which actually is today. It is best NOT to put the potatoes on high and then go into the other room to write html. They will overcook AND they will boil completely dry.

If you are VERY VERY lucky, you will happen to go back into the kitchen JUST before the brown crustiness that used to be potato water turns black, and JUST before the overcooked potatoes go from overcooked to singed and flaming. (hehe, barbecue in a pot!) Now that is VERY lucky, since I do not have another 10 potatoes.

Now I will attempt to cut overcooked potatoes into cubes. I suspect that if I put them in a bowl, and stirred with any implement whatsoever they would turn into the loveliest mashed potatoes. hehe. But I will try. and i will call it CREAMY potato salad.

I am taking it to a dyke bbq in the afternoon/pm.

You know, it is rather relaxing NOT running all across the US of A for my vacation. Not to mention, NOT sitting in a horrid bus station with no restaurant or even snack counter, for 5-7 hours each direction, and NOT getting rained on, nor stood up, nor having to deal with an odd assortment of 15 years of exes. Egads I am getting old. The first time I went to Musicfest it was 1985. I went naked the whole time and got the worlds most sunburnly sunburn. But it didn't show cuz I was so incredibly tanned to start with, since I sunbathed on my roof naked from May to August,when I went. Ok enough reminiscing.

It is 5:25 and I gotta do the potato thing.

zzzzz

6:06 am Ok, the potato salad is coming along... right now the onions are cooking... (and no I will not overcook them hehe). I thought I would share my potato salad recipe with you. Here goes:

  • 3-4 hard-boiled eggs
  • 1 onion diced
  • 5 cooked potatoes (here is where the not overcooking comes in)
  • 2-3 Tbsp. water
  • 1 Tbsp. tarragon vinegar
  • 1 tsp. celery seeds
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Mayonnaise

Peel and dice eggs and potatoes. Set aside.

Combine 2-3 Tbsp. water, vinegar, onion, celery seeds, and salt in a saucepan. Cook until onion is tender - about 5 minutes. Or as long as it takes you to type out this recipe online.

Pour over the potatoes and eggs, add mayonnaise to taste and toss gently.

Serves 4.

I know it is weird there is no green onion or green whatever, but this is excellent creamy tasty potato salad, I tellya. I personally keep on the potato peels, (red potatoes) but not the egg peels, which are too crunchy, even after simmering gently. tah!

7 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily