Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Mar. 21, 2004 - 10:11 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

For 39.95$ Your Name can "Live" Forever

Some people just think of the BEST ways to make money. Sell them something intangible and put their name on it. Tell them it will last forever. Give them a certificate to put on the wall. Do it with something you don't pay for .... no raw materials, no manufacturing, no recalls on unsafe items*.

Here is something I got in my spam today:

So yeah, only $39.95. You heard right! Get one now for your kids, and your parents for their wedding anniversary. Why not name one after your favorite dead dog? There is practically an unlimited number of stars. New ones are discovered everyday! Maybe you could name one after a favorite heroine from a novel?

But think of it. In one hundred years, or in China, will anyone know that that star has your name? Hell, even the Earth is called "La Terre" in French, and we know the poor moon has dozens of names. And what if that star was already given a certified name two thousand years ago by some enterprising Roman who sold the right to another gullible Roman. Maybe they are selling you the right to name a star now that already HAS a name bought for and paid in full by someone two thousand years ago! You are buying stolen property!

On the other hand (this is the *asterix from above)... what happens if your named star goes supernova or something, or falls into a black hole? Do you get a refund, or only a headline? Star John Doe has disappeared into the Milky Way as of last Saturday. Unfortunately because of the speed of light being so slow, that means it actually happened 400 years ago, therefore we sold you the right to name a star that didn't actually exist in 2004. You just paid to have your name put on the light still wandering in the universe towards us. Sorry , tough shit.

Very weird.

Of course you can still do it. There are worse ways to spend $40 and it is certainly romantic, AND they'll give some money to charity. On the other hand, you could just give $40 to charity in the name of your beloved, and it will go to feed some hungry kid, buy some prosthetic limbs, or send someone to school in Africa vs naming some light speeding through the galaxy in all directions (hehe, I wonder if somewhere on the other side of the galaxy, someone has sold the rights to name the Earth to some middleaged lady on her 60th birthday... maybe we now live on the Star Evelyn Burgogny. GRIN)

Well, I cannot complain that the spam today was dull.

Now I am off to have a nap so I'll be bright and awake at 7am when they allow me into the coffeeshop to put up my posters etc on the walls for my Monday book launch.

tah!

wenchie

in the snowy north

Here is my horoscope for Sunday, March 21:

You have everything to gain and nothing to hide. Less charitable people would call you an exhibitionist. Your fans will have to catch you when they can -- your season is already looking busy

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily