Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, Jun. 28, 2004 - 11:18 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Canadian Election Results Coming In

ooh oooh, i could practically cry. Canadians aren't insane! yay! The conservatives are down 13% in British Columbia as well! YES YES YES!! Sometimes I worry I am stuck in my little life surrounded by pervs and freaks and think erroneously that the general population is as liberal as we are. And then when the election comes around they will vote in some rightwing gaybashing party. They did NOT!

So the CBC has decided to call already a MINORITY LIBERAL GOVERNMENT. Not so bad. The Bloc Quebecois got really high support here in Quebec. At least I knew that was going to happen. Here when people are angry at the Liberals they vote Bloc. I hope it doesn't fortell another separation referendum. Oh politics here... not so socially devastating as the USA but definitely not dull.

The NDP are doing great. Jack Layton just got voted in, in his home riding. It was running neck and neck for the past few hours, 12 votes here, 5 votes there. But he made it. yay.

Now the Conservatives (read Alliance) are talking about their urban/ rural vote split. Hmmm, At one point as a farmer type family person, I might've said that there is a difference in financial interests. But I don't think that is why people are voting Conservative... they are voting for morals. And when you live alone on a farm, and never get away to see people who are different from you, it is much easier to vote against immigrants and gays, single mothers and different religions. Those are THOSE people. And you want to protect your country from THOSE people.

When you live in a city, THOSE people are your friends and neighbors. Suddenly your babysitter is muslim and your kid's teacher is gay. Your kid's friends are immigrants and your barber is a refugee. It makes a difference. You don't know your doctor since you are born, and you know that good people can be caught without health care.

Maybe that is a rosy glasses view. I dunno. But I tell ya, the bigoted things I have heard out of my relatives mouths since I have moved to the big city. And last night on the radio someone was giving an opinion on "the Godless NDP", and talking about how morals are more important than politics or finances. Yup. We all know that white Christian white bread people have the corner on morals. mmmm.

Well, gotta get some work done. Just thought I'd report. It looked like a close election and it was. But more than twice as many people have voted NDP as the last election, with twice as many MPs elected. As he is saying now "a greener country, a fairer country"... yup. I am proud of Canadians tonight. And relieved.

Thankyou for voting folks.

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily