Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Jun. 24, 2004 - 1:07 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

More Far North Finals... Some Night Spreads

Second entry tonight. To see the other six illos I uploaded from the Far North book, just click here.

I decided to upload these separately, since I don't know how long it takes someone without cable modem. These two images are double page spreads. Yup... I made work for myself, by coming up with this great idea of having white text on dark backgrounds for these two night pieces. The first is when he looks out the windows to see the night stars before going to bed, and in the city the sky is too bright. He imagines a neon mouth eating up the Grand Caribou (the Big Dipper) and spitting it out again (into the darker star-filled northern sky I guess).

The second image is a nightmare he has of an avalanche, and then his mom comforts him. This is in the middle of the book, before he sees the kittens and girl.

Click to see a larger image of each. All images Copyright 2004 Wench77, of course.

Now if I could get rid of my sore throat I'd be a happy bunny. yup.

Except that my flamenco teacher has phoned to say that not only are we supposed to ignore that the entire community center building is closed tomorrow for St. Jean-Baptiste (even the gym is closed and it is usually open til 10:30 pm except for Dec 25th, Jan 1 and tomorrow). Our Carmen practice is still on at 6:30 pm. Our regular flamenco class is still on from 7 to 8:30pm. AND she says there will be a huge rehearsal for the show at 8:30 pm (ie probably lasting til 10:30 pm). Is she insane? Half the people will be out of town, having family bbq's (like I said, even Fedex is off tomorrow, and the 7days a week til 11pm grocery store is closed at 7pm) or drinking and watching the fireworks. Yay. Flamenco is SOOOO important. She seems to forget we are taking this as a hobby at a community center, and seems to think she is preparing a show for the Grands Ballets Canadiens that she used to teach.

Well, I shall go for the Carmen. And be there for the practice on Tuesday. Jeesh. This is the same woman who does her accounting during our whole class time and then expects us to stay for an hour afterwards to make up. Now we see why SHE made a career out of flamenco. Nothing else seems to demand her time.

The funny thing is that I still need to get a spanish fan. The chinatown one I got is smaller and not as easy to open and close. And the people whose doggy I babysat for two weeks just got back from Spain. They bought me a present. Castanets! Well, I already have perfectly fine castanets (but the new ones are wood instead of resin, and red, so it is more flashy! yay!). The guy said "I wanted to buy you a fan, but she said "What would wench do with a fan??!!" not knowing I need to get one to be on stage to perform Carmen next Wed night. hehe. I admit that I never even entertained the idea that they would offer me a prezzie... I just expect them to babysit my doggy at some future point in return. We've been doing it for years.

Well, I am perhaps going to rent a movie now. Imagine that! What a CONCEPT!! And I shall watch it in bed. And then go to sleep. BEFORE 4am!! Wowza.

And then tomorrow I shall wash off the whole back porch with the hose and the kitty pee enzyme cleaner. So it doesnt smell like cat pee when I open my bedroom window. peyoooeee!!

You know you are an adult when you are thrilled to have a day off so you can wash the cat piss off your porch. hehe. The thrills the thrills!!

Anyways, now I shall bask in the bliss of no tight deadlines. I have A WEEK!!! to do the final drawings for Soccer Kid. Yay.

Here is my horoscope for Wednesday, June 23:

Whether or not you're the boss, your authority is indisputable. Enjoy the power, but don't let any new feelings of importance take you too far from your true heart.

MWAHHHHAHHHAHHHAHHH!!! authority. yeah right. I'd believe this horoscope shit more if it had said on Monday I was going to die of high fever and chills!!

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily