Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Apr. 29, 2004 - 2:46 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Budget Tightening Nixes Croissants and Chocolate

Second entry tonight. First one about my doggy, with photos here.

I just calculated that it would take 1250 days of no breakfast croissants and no swiss chocolate in order to pay off my income taxes for 2003. Hmm. I suppose that will put me a bit behind.

I suppose I should be all happy to be paying this, since $3600 goes straight way into the provincial pension plan. See me smile with glee and rub my hands together. Ah yes, I will be taken care of in my old age.

I am now one of those middle-income earners. Ie I make too much $ to get any tax breaks for living alone (since I heat the same amount of space, have the same rent, as if I had two roomates), or for rebates on sales tax, and I have somehow reached the top of the pension plan payment. If I made double or triple the money I made now I would STILL pay $3600 in pension plan. Exactly how fair is that?? Hmm.

Well, yes, anyways my plan is to not eat breakfast croissants and cut down on the swiss chocolate. Yeah, I realize that if I have cereal and orange juice at home it still costs SOMETHING, so my 1250 days is actually not right. It is more like 1500 days. So in about 4 years I will be paid off. Haha. (that is not a happy laugh) That is 4 years without swiss chocolate. Now we'll see how much of that chocolate was actually a mood enhancer, huh!!

I of course, being the combination of squirrel and grasshopper that I am, have some money put away and will dip into it to bring down the # of days without chocolate.

I guess that means I won't be buying a little chinese kid soon eh. I wonder if I could jump straight from "adopt a kid" to "adopt a grandchild"??

Hmmm.

Other things to cut down on:

  • Corona with double lime (it is expensive and wasteful to only use a quarter of each lime before it goes bad)
  • Pigs ears and snouts for the doggies (she could have one slice of pig ear instead of two each goody time, that would cut the cost in half)
  • Call back long distance friends when they are not home, and leave a message so they will call me on THEIR bill
  • No more long distance girlfriends. If I have another long-distance girlfriend I should no longer
    • do most of the travelling even though I have a flexible job
    • not offer them a "friends and family calling card" so they can call on my plan which is much cheaper than theirs
    • do not call back a gazillion times in a night to read sexy stories on their answering machine, since the machine shuts off after two or three minutes, then I have to call back, always paying the higher "first three minutes" price.
  • If I meet someone adorable and charming, do not buy gifts for them over $10 until they have promised their undying love, moved in, married me and are paying my rent.
  • That last one goes especially for things like expensive rubber corsets and thigh high boots, gorgeous sheets to put on while we do it, and expensive lingerie.
  • No more buying fruits and veggies which like the limes, tend to dry out or rot before I eat more than one.
  • Try to eat the things that I bought at Costco in bulk that are in the basement for three years before buying new food (this is not as bad as it sounds... it is canned goods)
  • No more buying sex toys of any type, cuz they never get used anyways, and like the fruits and veggies will reach their "use by" date before I need them. This esp goes for condoms. Buy condoms THE DAY I NEED THEM and not in advance.

Well, that seems like a good start. I of course know that there are many other leakages in the boat, but many that I am unwilling to fix at this point. A few of these things:

  • books. um yeah. too many books.
  • magazines. I cannot read all the magazines I get though I am subscribed to only two or three now. Who knew the next month came so fast?
  • Long distance calls to friends in general. Sigh. Why do good friends move away? It should be a law of nature that they are replaced by new near friends.
  • Expensive animals. Kitties and doggies need food, flea shit, (no I don't mean flea shit which is gross, I mean anti-flea medication duh!), eye drops, heartworm shit (same thing eh!), anti-inflammatory drugs, glucosamine and chondritine. Etc etc. I keep thinking of all the little kids in the world who are infested with more parasites than my animals with no healthcare and food, but they don't live with me.
  • Travel. I should cut out the travel to small press fairs, family reunion, Midori workshops, Musicfest etc etc. Yeah right.
  • Zines, books, music, tshirts, posters etc made by creative people I want to be supportive of. I like to be supportive.

Those really are my big no-no's that eat up my spare moulah. (besides the girlfriends/ boyfriends doting-upon expenses which I have NONE of now). Sigh. And now the fetish club has closed, and I have no disposable income really, I do not buy cool things to wear there.

I guess I shouldn't worry too much about my spending habits, since I did put away into Registered Retirement Savings Plans (so I didn't have to pay even MORE taxes) nearly as much as I owe the gov't... so it wasn't all squandered. And I payed out $3000 canadian to print my new comic book, which I have still to sell. So I guess it is "invested" we'll say.

Damn. I'd really like some chocolate right now.

hehe.

Back to doing my tax report (for the GST *goods and services tax) for Jan-Mar. Maybe I'll get a refund there?? hehe.

Byebye and remember to look at how cute my doggy is, if you didn't already read my previous entry tonight.

tah,

wench77

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily