Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Nov. 28, 2003 - 4:56 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Nov 28 Friday Five

Friday Five Nov 28, 2003

1. Do you like to shop? Why or why not
I DO like to shop. I think it is the hunter gatherer in me. I like to bop around and look at everything and see what is new out there. I like to window shop as much as shopping. I also like trying to find the best item to fill a need, but I hate having to buy something needed immediately, and not being able to find it. Having to go to ten stores and having to buy something makedo instead of what you needed is just a pain in the ass and a waste of time. But usually I like to shop.

2. What was the last thing you purchased?
Hmm, I wonder if today's friday five is sponsored by the Buy Nothing Day people to see if we've cheated. Well I did. I thought I'd try to buy nothing today (well I did go for my regular Croissant Dejeuner and Allonge) but by the time I'd read about Precarious Intellectuals (more on that later) and had my coffee I entirely forgot. So I admit I went into the dogfood store while on doggiewalkies (seemed a good doggy friendly place to get out of the rain for two secs) and bought a new red elastic collar with bell for my kitty Astixes... she lost her collar somewhere.

3. Do you prefer shopping online or at an actual store? Why?
Well, I prefer real shopping in most cases. I like to see what I get, be able to ask a real person questions if needs be. I shop with my fingers alot. I do like looking things up online to see what prices are like, or what people think of a book (ie reviews on Amazon) etc etc. Sometimes I buy online things I cannot get elsewhere, like out of print books. And if it helps with shipping... ie I ordered the SAD light on the phone after finding it online, cuz it is hefty and online I found a company that is in the same city as my mom, instead of having it shipped to her from here. But in both cases, I would have prefered to see the actual item "in person" before buying.

4. Did you get an allowance as a child? How much was it?
It started at 25 cents a week when I was 6 years old. I believe it went up ten cents a year or somesuch. I think I got $1 a week when I was 11. My parents paid for extras such as movies. We have to remember that this was the day of ten cents for a regular chocolate bar, 25 cents for a standard comic book. So when I was 6 I had enough to buy two chocolate bars out of my own money, and when I was 11 I could buy perhaps two chocolate bars and three comics each week. I consider that to be a reasonable amount of mad money for a kid. When I was 12 I started babysitting, so had more money for "shopping".

5. What was the last thing you regret purchasing?
Mmm, I really have to think about this. I don't buy that much that I regret. Perhaps the asparagus that I let rot in my fridge? Actually I regret not eating it, not buying it. Perhaps the package of Nag Champa incense I bought in September. The unopened package smells so strongly I hid it in the back of my livingroom. And then it still smelled bad so I put it in a closet. I think I will give it away. You know, I usually buy stuff I need, or really want, and it is usually not cheap stuff. So there is not that much I regret purchasing.

Remember to read the three entries from last night: and also to click on the little button for my guestmap to put in where you hail from. Or snow, shine or rain from, eh. Thanks!

0 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily