Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Jan. 07, 2005 - 9:09 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Entry on the Run!!!

Ok ok, no entry yesterday... insanely busy day what with getting up early for watercolor class (we painted Christmas lights strung onto a large mirror... how is THAT for a challenge?!), having over a woman who wants to do children's illustration in order to advise her, and then a date with Disappeariing Boy. yikes!

Let me say that getting up early and all that does NOT help me start my day earlier. I thought last night would be a great time for a date since DB is an early riser person and I am always tired on Thursdays because of getting up for my class.

Great, so we watched a movie and fell asleep fairly early (well ok around 3:30 or so), and woke up at 8:30 (I wouldve just rolled over and slept more), and got up for breakie at the coffeeshop. Wow! Wakey wakey!

We chatted a bit. He has decided that my side room is too small for him to paint in, and I hadn't realized that he wanted a place to paint in from 6am til 9pm ... I thought it was for mornings while I slept which would have been ok. But having him here all day and not wanting to get in each other's hair would be a problem. So that's off. Oh well, cuz it is inspiring to share discussions about artwork with him.

And then he left around 11am, I read a few emails and thought to have a couple more hours of sleep. HAHAHA!! Well, I woke up at 3:15 pm. Dang anyways. So I wouldve been better to go to bed at 5am and get up at 1pm. Shit and caboodles.

So it is after 9pm and I am just reading YESTERDAY's emails, let alone starting on diaries. Even Sleepyzoe apparently updated finally with photos, and I haven't taken a gander yet. Nor vacuumed nor started working on the grey tones of the dog gang book. I HAVE done my comics page and read and answered a bunch of stuff, some of which I will excerpt here.

Some ass is trying to rewrite Susan Sontag's sexuality without her permission now that she is dead. Here's a letter I wrote to the LA Times. Please read the link mentioned in the letter to see what I'm on about. Thanks.

To: [email protected]
Subject: Bisexual is a code word for ... bisexual


Hello. I'm writing concerning Patrick Moore's commentary "Susan Sontag and a Curious Case of Silence" (jan 4/05)

Personally I am a bisexual woman. And I would reply that Mr. Moore's statement that Susan Sontag calling herself bisexual is a covert way of saying "lesbian" or "gay" is a curious case of blindness (or deafness as the case may be), not to mention a profound case of disrespect.

If someone is bisexual they have relationships, and/or are interested sexually and romantically in both men and women. Lesbian is a woman having relationships, sexual and romantic with other women. They are not the same thing, and Ms Sontag, I believe, knows the difference, as I do.

Erasing bisexuals by denying their existence, imputing internalized homophobia, or renaming their stated bisexuality doesn't help in breaking any silence.

Ms Sontag in an interview in the Guardian:

" I asked her if she had loved her husband. "Oh yes," she said, she loved him, it was a real marriage....

"Shall I tell you about getting older", she says, and she is laughing. "When you get older, 45 plus, men stop fancying you. Or put it another way, the men I fancy don't fancy me. I want a young man. I love beauty. So what's new?" She says she has been in love seven times in her life, which seems quite a lot. "No, hang on," she says. "Actually, it's nine. Five women, four men."

She will talk about her bisexuality quite openly now. It's simple, she says. "As I've become less attractive to men, so I've found myself more with women. It's what happens. Ask any woman my age. More women come on to you than men. And women are fantastic. Around 40, women blossom. Women are a work-in-progress. Men burn out." She doesn't have a lover now, she lives alone. The rumours about her and the photographer Annie Leibovitz are, she says, without foundation. They are close friends."


Now I don't see that she said "As I've aged, I have lost interest in men, and am only attracted to women", and Susan Sontag was not a woman to mince her words or misuse them.

I find it very curious how bisexuals in history tend to be claimed as "our own" by homosexuals whereas living bisexuals tend to get shunned by the gay community as "not our own".

Wouldn't it be nice if we were recognized and accepted as the bisexuals we are, both while alive and posthumously.

Sincerely,
wench77

Well, there ya go. Jeesh.

OK, back to reading emails. I will have to do a whole entry with just fun links i have found lately. There are tons.

Oh, other news today: I offered to help a neighbor shovel out his car (we had ten centimetres of snow yesterday!) but someone has stolen my shovel off my front step! dang!! And I got totally accosted by some totally insane bezerk asshole who started screaming "dogs before people" as I stepped onto the sidewalk (and yes my dog WAS behind me, so it isn't even like she was in his way) and then screamed "STOP SLEEPING WITH YOUR DOG!!" in my face and coming back towards me when I said "please leave me alone" . Gosh, I was scared silly and totally physically shaking. He seemed to vanish when I started for the firestation saying I was going to call the police. Yikes!

OK, back to emails. Dang I have 418 unread! shit! Even sorting through which ones to delete takes so long!
cheers!
wenchie

Here is my horoscope for Thursday, January 6:

Now you're a big fan of truth in advertising. Reform always begins with people who are personally affronted or inconvenienced. Old friends may resent that you're switching sides. Your conscience demands it.

Here is my horoscope for Friday, January 7:

You could be rough or selfish, and still leave anyone you touched begging for more. These days you lead a charmed life of attractive power and beauty for its own sake. If you weren't so nice you'd be dangerous.

7 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily