Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Oct. 14, 2005 - 5:13 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Wenchie is On TOP OF IT !!! yeah!

woo woo I was a hardworkin good girl today.

Got the other tenants' showers looked at... the one on the second floor didn't need any calking or fixin... for some reason it is totally fine. The one on the third floor (cat piss woman), I calked the shower stall, took old calking out of her shower drain and replaced it, calked around her toilet, fixed the clapper on her toilet tank, calked around her kitchen sink, and stole her cupboard drawer. She'd pulled the front of it off , but not told me. Given that there are about 300 nails and screws in the poor thing, she was not the first to pull it off. It will be quite a project to take all them nails and screws out. If people were smart they'd put wood glue before screwing. yup.

So, I felt like the good landlady woman takin care of her building today.

And the plumber contracter guy with the good sense of humour is coming by today (friday) around noon to take a look at my back porch, in which foot tall weeds are growing in the cracks in the wood. Let's just say that wood mulch that once was a porch makes for good compost for weeds. oops!

And last night I took out the last tomatoes, green though they are, and pulled up the tomato plants and the zucchini plants. There were a few small struggling zucchinis under an inch long. They went in my mouth crunchcrunch. I will make more of that green tomato ketchup with the tomatoes. mmm yum!!

I finished my comics page and uploaded it. I finally read the text and sketched out the characters for the new colour picture book I will be working on til January. It is always fun to sketch out new characters.

I walked the dog in the mushy rain. Egads she gets filthy. And now her winter fluffy fur is coming in, so she is REALLY absorbant. Like a giant kotex sucking up the muck. nice. Ever tried to clean off a used kotex with a towel? ok, ya get the idea. And the futility. sigh.

And I got lots done on the South Korea contract. I am attempting to get units 1-5 done asap, and send them first so my client can start doing the book layout. Then I still have units 6-10 to do. I am boggled at the amount of work this contract has been. I will be done it, but not soon enough to save my finances. If that money had come in by June, as was promised in writing, I would have been out of debt since then. Now I am just topping up the hole I'm in, and have remained in, and don't see any getting out of. Dang.

One light on the horizon... the Bear book I did two years ago is doing well. It was just shortlisted for some popularity award... always a good thing, since if it is a juried award, only like 6 people need to read it to vote. And they usually want it for free. But this way over 80,000 kids will read it, which means every school needs to have a copy. That is very very very good. See sales jump. See sales jump some more. Jump sales jump. That means all those kids, if they like the story, will tell mom and dad they like that book and want to buy it. That is what we hope. But even if just the schools and libraries buy copies, that is a very good thing. It is also coming out in softcover in a month. Thank god. The hardcover was $22. Sheesh. That is NOT good for sales. Who the hell spends $22 before taxes on a single kid's book???

OK, gotta get to bed. As it is I will have bedhead and look like an idiot rubbing sleep out of my eyes when the plumbercontractor guy arrives.

nite nite
me
wenchie.

ooooooo I forgot to say... today in the French newspaper? It said that the head of the youth protection is going to put through new laws, that will be a complete about face, for kids in foster care. They will have to be put up for adoption within a year if they are under 2 yrs old, within 18 months if they are under 5 yrs old and under 24 months if they are under 15. That means no more shooting back and forth between the birth parents and foster homes for years and years. That means that they don't keep giving another chance and another chance and another chance to the negligent or abusive parents to get their asses in gear, extending foster care over and over and over without ever saying the kid will stay and be adopted.

That is a VERY GOOD THING from my point of view. This means that they have to decide within a year if a kid goes back to the parents. If the parents don't clean up their act within a year, *I* get to adopt the kid, and have them forever so the kid has some stability. YES!! The focus is changing from 'keep the natural family together no matter what, no matter how many moves for the kid" to 'get the kid into a permanent situation for their whole childhood as SOON AS POSSIBLE". Thank GOD!! Enough kids being in 30 foster homes by the time they are 16. Enough kids with attachment disorder. Yup, attachment disorder. It is a real thing. Kids get real fucked up, changing parents once a year. Real real real fucked up.

So, I may be stepping into this at the best possible time. Changes will be made THIS YEAR. Laws will change NEXT MONTH. so very exciting.

5 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily