Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Saturday, Nov. 22, 2003 - 2:12 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Painting Bear and Cooking Tips

Mmmm, cleaner house...brushed doggy, vacuumed floor, veggies lying about turned into 8 pints of parsnip chowder, lingerie and handwash sweaters accumulating since August washed out, pumpkin and tomatoes cooked and or disposed of, leftover wood and tools left by Dad's reno project cleaned up, spamsnailmail gone through... things are lookin up!

catsweater
kitty ironing handwashed sweater with her butt, copyright 2003, Wench77
You can see I am not lying about the handwashing... I used up the whole freestanding drying rack, so I put a towel over the dishdrain rack, and laid out the sweater. Kitty astrixes of course immediately discovered this, and found that if she sat in the middle, it sunk down and made a cozy little nest. Fortunately she did not just come in from the muddy yard, so there is only some catfuzzies on the clean sweater. She just manages to get into everything!! And people think it is the dog who is a bother!! She stays on the floor, and is limited to only a couple rooms. Thankgod.

Before I regale you with Cooking Tips of the Wench (and other tips too) I shall put in some more of my Dad's super dooper photodocumentation from when he was here. These are all photos of me coloring in Bear... you can compare the work in progress with the finished work,if you click on "Bear". Please note... all these are copyright 2003, H. Otto. Verstehen Sie??? Ja??!!

paintbear


Well, pretty lucky chicky aren't I! My Dad metamorphosed from a manic photo taking horrid father to a manic photo taking nice father! yay! Now on to:

Cooking Tips from Wench77
  • ALWAYS use your vegetable before they become fuzzy and mushy
  • DO cut off the fuzzy and mushy parts, especially if they smell bad
  • DO eat something munchy while you cook... those little "Selection Merite" individual old-fashioned brownies are a good bet
  • DON'T forget your last Corona in the freezer the night before if you intend to drink it while you cook... when it is solid it gets stuck in the bottleneck. There is a reason why they call something that slows down the flow of things "a bottleneck" you know.
  • DO be careful when cutting whole parsnips lengthwise: they are woodier than carrots, and tend to roll... your knife COULD roll off and cut your finger
  • DO check your simmering pumpkin while you work on your html: it IS possible that the burning smell you smell is the pumpkin burning IN the pan because all the water (juice) has steamed out through some badly designed lid, and is all over the floor, not in the pan. DON'T assume that the burnt smell is just said juice dribbling over the edge and onto the burner.
  • DO check the WHOLE stove when you go to bed... it IS possible that you have left the oven on low with pumpkin seeds in it to dry
  • DO put the oven on really low, like 150� if there is any possibility you will forget it for 8 hours or however long you sleep... then nothing will be burnt, just really well dried (yay!)
  • DO slice off a slice of butter a bit more than you need, so you can take a bite out of the side of it to "test" its flavour
  • DO use whipping cream in your chowder if the recipe says "whipping cream"... you won't regret it. Nonfat soy milk is NOT whipping cream
  • DO keep your Postum jars to use for canning... they fit very well with Bernardin mason jar lids
  • IF you put your milk which has been sitting out for more than a day, but still smells and tastes good, into HOT black tea, it will curdle anyways. It will taste fine, but do you really want lumpy tea??
  • DO eat immediately any food that is too little to make a freezable portion! You deserve it for your hard work!

Well, that is enough Cooking Tips for today I believe! My you learn alot through living life, eh!! :) (btw, that link to Postum is a history of Mr. Post and his inventions... a very busy man... but HERE is a picture of Postum and a funny commendation!)

Well, I think it is actually a GOOD thing to write 74 pages of text in one day (according to Dangerspouse)... I suspect most people get discouraged by the sheer quantity of verbiage and thus it is the next best thing to locked entries! haha! And I really do think it helped unload a bunch of shit zooping around inside my head and heart, cuz I slept much better (maybe something to do with the Coronas while I chopped the pumpkin?) and today I am peppy and productive. Or perhaps this is why my doctor said I'm on the normal side of MANIC depressive! LOL! Anyhewz it helped. hmmm.

Well, I have lots of other interesting topics to address, like the dumping of 100,000 perfectly good chickens, and the status of "Treaty Indians" in Canada, and a comparison of the media coverage of Michael Jackson, vs the still unanswered questions of the Iraq War/Bush in the Queen's parlour (someone sent me a great article entitled "George W. Bush LOVES Michael Jackson"... but that will be later... ooooh the suspense!

I shall now check my "buddy" list as I can tell many have updated today, and then get to filling out forms and paperwork. mmmyum.

And a very cool thing... the Funhouse is back to its original name "Fetish Cafe", and is having it's pre-opening party tomorrow night and I am invited! What to wear what to wear! Not a problem NOW that I have done all my handwashing, eh!

Oh, and a last ps... Kathyrose called me "Feistiness Incarnate" and said "love her"!! Oh that is so NICE! Feistiness Incarnate! I love it! I want a Tshirt!! :)

Well, I'm signing off now. Good morning Dangerspouse!!... � demain!

me, daWench...

4:25 am OK, I'm a SUCK!! I had to come back here and add!!! Here is the article George W. Bush Loves Michael Jackson, which you should read cuz it is both funny and angerprovoking... about how the media has totally forgotten any news and is focussing on this MJ thingie (CNN goes National Enquirer I tell ya... but read the article). I was inspired to post this tonight after reading alternamommy's entry today, Well there ya go.

Here is my horoscope for Friday, November 21:

Everyone is saving the difficult cases for Leo. You have a special touch with stubborn minds and wayward machinery. Leave detailed instructions so that you won't have to spend your time troubleshooting.

0 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily