Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Sept. 19, 2004 - 7:25 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Muslim Headdress and Never Fail Pie Dough

Well, here I am on day one of this craziness of wearing a Muslim headcovering. For a week. I may be insane. And if I am not, I may inspire all my neighbors to think me insane. So far, only two or three people have even mentioned it. This leads me to believe that if I wore ANYTHING or had spinach in my teeth, or dyed my hair scarlet or was topless, that they would all politely be Canadian and act as if nothing was up. They smile and say hello, pet the dog, say have a nice day, and don't react whatsoever. Not positively, not negatively, not with curiousity. I suppose this could either mean that Muslims are not openly disregarded in my neighborhood, or that I personally am seen as such an anomaly that nothing will surprise them concerning me, OR that they are just very very polite. Or apathetic. I dunno.

Tonight in about ten minutes I shall go out to a women's spoken word night... I"m looking forward to it, there being some long-time aquaintances and comics fans among the speakers, whom I have not seen for quite awhile. I think they might just look at me like Hmmm, and then ignore it too. I think that this mightve been a better experiment in another part of the city or another part of the province or another part of the world.

It is weird though. Personally I feel like I have hathead. It feels like I want to scratch my skull. Once you start wearing something like this you do NOT want to take it off, unless you have the sort of hair that rebounds beautifully. If not, you will just look the shits... sort of like wig-head. yeah. Anyways, the urge to go "oh, that's enough" is very strong. It is kind of like holding your hands with your girlfriend when you first come out... you are all gung ho about it, and then you think, oh, that was ok for my neighborhood, but what will they say at work? What will they say when I'm shopping? etc.

Well, I'll report more on it later. So far, it has affected what I wear in that I decided not to wear a perfectly dull sweater, but that was short enough that my bellybutton was seen when I lifted my arms. I exchanged it for another perfectly dull grey henley shirt, with my Satanic 501's (male-clothing that they are).

And here for Mom-0n-Roof, here is some blah blah about my quiches:

Never Fail Pie Dough (grandma's recipe)

  • 5 cups sifted flour (I use whole wheat pastry flour)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 pound room-temperature Crisco all-vegetable shortening
  • one egg well beaten, in a measuriing cup. Add cold water to the egg to fill to the one-cup mark, mix.

Mix the salt and flour well, in a large bowl. Dump in the Crisco. Cut it into the flour with a pastry cutter until the lumps are the size of small peas, or lumpy oatmeal.

Make a sort of dent in the middle of the flour. Pour in the egg and water. Stir with a butter knife JUST until all the liquid has been taken up with the flour. (there should be JUST enough of each to make a stiff dough). Do NOT mush it together, and overstir. You just want to moisten the flour, not smoosh all them little lumps of Crisco, ok??

Cover the bowl with saran wrap and put it and your rolling pin (I like marble... you can get them often very inexpensively at some dollar store) into the fridge for a couple hours.

Clear a large counter space. Sprinkle it with regular flour (keep a cup of it beside you for working with)... take out a lump of dough, maybe the size of a LARGE grapefruit or a bit bigger than a softball. Use both your hands to make it into a smooth round wheel (about one inch thick and about six inches across). Powder it WELL on both sides with flour.

Put it on the floured surface and start rolling it, from the center out. Every couple of LIGHT passes with the rolling pin, you want to move it around on the flour and flip it over, so it is NEVER stuck down, and there is always flour on both sides of it. That will keep it from sticking. Never roll the whole thing out without doing that, or you'll have a nice piece of pastry glued to your work surface.

Roll it out, rotating it on the flour, until it is between 1/8 and 1/4 " thick. Bring your pie plate real close (I use 9" deep dish aluminum plates). Fold the pastry in half towards you, and put the plate on the side of the fold. Carefully lift it up QUICKLY and put the fold on the middle of the plate, being certain to center it. Unfold the pastry. Loosely drape it on the plate, pushing it down into the shape of the plate (you don't want to squish it down thinner).

Take a butter knife or paring knife and trim the excess around the outside of the plate, even with the outside edge of the plate. Gather up the excess and put it back in your bowl.

Repeat with the rest of the dough. You will probably be able to make 4 bottom crusts. Take the bits of excess dough and sort of squeeze them together, but not too much. Too much kneeding will make your dough not flaky and too tough. The excess can be rerolled, and you should be able to get another two bottom crusts out of it for a total of 6 crusts (and maybe a bit to eat or throw away or whatever).

OOOPS! this took too long. I will have to put another entry for the actual quiche filling cuz I gotta run. So you can all make your pie crusts and have them sitting ready for the filling when I get back tonight. Happy cooking!

Me, da wenchie.

5 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily