Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Jan. 06, 2005 - 12:36 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Half-Renters and Newspaper Clippings

OK OK a couple words before I get to work and then am dead tired and it is too late and I'm supposed to be up for my watercolor class. Do you know HOW nice it was to go three weeks without having to be up at 10:30 am on thursday? Dang.

I have been getting to bed between 6:30 and 7:30 and now suddenly I need to be up at 10:30 (moan groan bitch moan groan) hehe.

It's not so bad, I think I'll be done my work by 3am so I can get to bed by 4am.

And then when I get back I'll have to call Disappearing Boy and tell him I change my mind, I WILL have a date with him Thurs nite. I told him no cuz I get nothing done during the day and am tired and blah blah. But when I think about it, I may as well write the night off, and work Fri-Sun on my dog gang book, and have a date with an early sleeper, eh!

Also tomorrow evening a woman is coming over who I am supposed to be mentoring for the Illustrator's Assoc. I am gonna look over her stuff and see if it is horrid, or what direction to send her in (to the cliff to the cliff, over the cliff over the cliff) ... yes, heavy influence from "Go Dogs Go!!" Who knows, maybe she'll have talent. It happens.

So, NO I didnt inadvertently deposit upstair's girl's Jan rent check. First of all, I ONLY deposit in that account FOUR checks per month, at the start of the month. I would certainly notice if I had deposited five checks instead of four on the first of Dec eh? AND the bank would have returned it by now for having the wrong date. Banks do NOT hang onto postdated checks. they just go "WRONG!!" to the depositor. No. I did NOT deposit her check.

YES she came by this mid afternoon and bring me a new one. And gave me the look of death. And wouldn't say anything or reply when I asked what was up, or said Happy New Year. She just shot me another look of death over her shoulder. Jeesh.

I dunno. People don't pay their rent on time and I don't give them the look of death. They forget their bloody keys all the time and knock on my door to borrow my copy to get in . I don't give them the look of death. I lose one check in four years (and that's if she actually wrote it) and I get the LOOK of DEATH. Dang.

(insert a really bad joke here about Haitian voodoo... this is the girl who doesn't celebrate Halloween cuz it's about death and bad spirits) oops! she is a really nice girl. Who knows, maybe she just lost her best friend. Or that was the last check in her checkbook and now she's got to go to the bank or something. Who knows. Dang.

And NO, I cannot kick out half-rent boy. He has to be TWENTY, yes twenty, days late before I can make a formal complaint I think. And it has to be THREE times I think before I can kick him out. Dang eh. Yes we have very protective laws for tenants. Remember back to the jerkola who gave me ten days notice he was leaving and then threatened to keep new girl's rent checks and pay me every month on the 19th to get back at me?? mmm. nice.

Welcome to landlordville in Montreal. Unfortunately some of those laws are there cuz of unscrupulous landlords. I have had my share of them. I suppose I could "accidentally" shut off his electricity in the basement or something. I don't know. Then HE'd probably be allowed to sue me for noncompliance with the lease conditions. sigh.

OK, yes, I cut things out of the paper to comment on. And I am too lazy to get up and get them. One thing about people trying to sell tsunami orphans for adoption or as slaves.. Shit and caboodles. How low can one go?? Another about how they want to remove the specific sex ed classes in Quebec schools (they only get like 5 hours a schoolyear now) and replace them with an "across board" policy so that all profs can teach sexed within the contexts of their classes. One that is creepy. If my chemistry teacher (who was very into making sort of flirty jerks about molecular attractions) started working in actual genital penetration I would have quit school. Two, most teachers aren't comfortable or trained to teach sex ed, neither from the point of view of scientific facts about body mechanics, birth control or disease rates, nor from the point of view of having knowledge of and being comfortable talking about different sexual orientations, experiences, etc of teenagers. Gosh, even my doctor was really judgmental when I went in for an STD test at 17. I wouldn't have wanted him to be teaching me sex-ed, and no way would I have asked him any difficult questions. Finally, when it is "everyone"s job, it ends up being no one's job. Kind of like shovelling the stairs from upstairs... there are FOUR, yes FOUR apartments of renters up there and it is written on EACH lease that it is their responsibility to take the snow and ice off their balconies and the steps. They do their own balconies and NO ONE does the steps that they all use. And then they glare at me. Sorry, it is in YOUR leases. There are at LEAST four of you (add in their boyfriends etc). But because there are four, they act like it is none of their responsibility. I can so see the same happening with sex ed in highschools.

So, yeah, I think it is a stupid idea, taking away the specific classes. Some are predicting an increase in teen pregnancy and std's which have been decreasing in the last ten years with good sex ed classes. However still 32% of teenagers they polled think that AIDS is curable if you treat it early enough. And that chlamydia (the most rampant std out there right now) doesn't have any serious consequences. Shit and caboodles. Well, at least we are not as bad as the states yet.

Oh yeah, that was another thing in the paper. Did you know that "Jesusland" as a nomer has stuck on enough that they are using it in the francophone media here? Yup. Right now there is a weeklong piece on a reporter visiting Jesusland. He says they make so little sense that you can do nothing but listen. You are so boggled you have NO idea what to reply.

Today there was an interview with a female pharmacist in Arkansas i think it was. She will NOT fill prescriptions for the birth control pill cuz she thinks it is stopping life*, stopping making babies, against God. Yup. I dunno. She should read Gabrielle Roy's "The Tin Flute", which is about Quebec (Montreal) in the 1940's when the Catholic Church was still going gangbusters here. Where both the parents are working fulltime to try to pay for their small apartment. Where all the children over the age of 12 have jobs to help pay clothes and food. Where they eat mostly potatoes boiled in water. Where one boy is really sick with pneumonia but they cannot afford medicine. Where the youngest kids have to stay home from school cuz they don't have enough money for warm winter clothes. No boots. And they only heat with a wood heater one room, and then not enough, so that the little kids stay in bed together to stay warm. All winter. And get pale and sick from no sun and no exercise.

Yup, it is a good thing to have eight to thirteen kids, which was the norm here in pre-birth control good religious Quebec families. Very pro-life. Exhausted working mothers leaving little kids without clothes, heat and food at home in bed, and having to work til the last days of their pregnancies, with bad backs, varicose veins (blood clots break loose and give heart attacks and strokes) just to pay the badly insulated apartment where three kids sleep in each bed together. Stupid stupid stupid.

But that is prolife and what God and Jesus want. That you love kids so much you have so many that you cannot feed them, by medication or even have time to see them when you get home and tumble dead tired into bed after the second double-shift at the cigarette factory.

Yay for the nice white middleclass anti-birthcontrol pharmacist in Jesusland.

I hope her kids die like the little match girl trying to get warm in winter with no food in their bellies.

oh there ya go. I remembered what the newspaper clippings were about. Now it is already after 1am, and now I won't be done at 3am. Gotta run.

I wonder if i can buy a tsunami kid for $300... apparently that is the going rate.
hehe.

hugs!
wenchie


*Another opinion piece in a blog here.

ps, someone asked "where do you get all the links?" Well, I google. Yes I google. Google is good google is great. God bless google. cheers!

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily