Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Oct. 31, 2004 - 1:36 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Sanding Kills Me

I hate sanding. I especially hate sanding walls. I would rather be carrying rocks in the snow, or moving furniture up to the third floor or washing the dishes or chopping wood. I hate sanding walls. I can only imagine that I hate sanding ceilings even more.

Today I hung up my coat and the hook pulled out of the wall. Those little plastic anchors really can take a hunk of plaster with them. The little fingie things that hold them in are just as good at grabbing the plaster and pulling it out along with them. Dang.

Do not mix up polyfilla when you have only a wee bit enough for the job. Inevitably you will be afraid of making it too thin. So you start with not enough water. You add the powder. It gets toooo thick and still powdery sticky. So you add more water. Inevitably you will add a wee bit too much water. You add the last dredges of powder.

It is now the consistency of slimemold and will creep down the wall just as it's namesake. Fuckin polyfilla slime mold. Next time remember to wait til the next day when you can spend $1.69 and have a brand new box so you can mix it to the right consistency. Nothing like a too-wet batch of polyfilla and an empty box to make your day.

Seeing as how I had to patch the hole in the entry wall, I decided it was a good time to finally pull down the cracking bits of the hallway wall and the ceiling in the livingroom... yes maybe one day I can actually paint it and put up the little tiny christmas lights around the edges and cover the lights with the frothy dark blue tuile fabric I bought at Ikea (hehe, MAYBE one day I'll be able to afford to go back to IKEA and get the Billy shelves that I meant to buy there last time... All the boxes to store my work, and the magazine racks meant to go on those shelves are still piled upon the floor... dang).

So, I picked and pulled at peeling paint and plaster for quite a bit and then passed the vacuum. Yay. I gave up with trying to feed the slimemold polyfilla into the wall holes and went with the drywall goop for the ceiling. That seems to have worked better. Yay. So tomorrow maybe i can sand the ceiling. Oh I shall die from the joy of it.

And then I went upstairs to continue patching and painting at my upstairs tenant's. It is boggling how long it takes to patch things... a layer one day, a layer the next day, a layer the day after, sand and a final layer (yeah, it is where the cupboard and wall didn't match so we used this wall tape etc etc). Then paint, and come back and paint again, then cut the quarterround, and paint it, and paint and paint again. Dippity. I swear it would be faster to build a wall and a new cabinet than do this day by tiny weeny little bit per day patching job.

At least the wall at her place is finished where the shelves were removed (second coat of finishing paint tonight)... just the cupboard mess to have three more days of work.

Did I mention that I like carrying heavy rocks in the snow more than sanding walls? Esp this stupid surface filler poly premixed shit. It says on the container "dries to a hard perfect finish" or something like that. The key word is "hard"... I think you could use it to replace marble or something. I cannot deny that it sands to a "perfect" finish... but you need diamond sandpaper and piston arms and then you could see your reflection in it. Dang. Even with #80 sandpaper it is like marble.

Anyways, now I am back home, and going to cut and prime 1/4 round. yay. Eventually I will get around to doing work. Like paying work. yeah.

I am trying to not remember the bags of veggies on the kitchen floor. They want to be washed and scalded and frozen. Really they do. Maybe tomorrow.

Did I mention that I find it hard not to eat all the halloween candy before giving it out to the kids? The candies want to be unwrapped and eaten. Now. Really they do. Maybe tomorrow.

oops! damp doggy is at the door and wants to come in.

Foots-wiping is in order. "Sit foots" is the order.
Oh I am silly tonight.
later!!
wenchie

3 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily