Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Sept. 03, 2006 - 12:31 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Scrubbing Paint in a Sauna

egads I am so tired.

I just finished scrubbing all the latex paint off the bathroom walls. Thank GOD that the ceiling and one wall were replaced with new gyproc so I didn't have to do them too. ack.

I dunno what that weird faketile masonite is made out of, but hell, it takes a beating. I turned on the shower HOT with the door closed til the tub was full and let it sit and steam. Then scrubbed the heck out of it with one of those metal loopy ball potscrubbers. Actually, it was about as hard to get off as eggs stuck on a frypan or something. When the potscrubber filled up with paint (a lovely purple lavender), it sort of acted like a gum eraser... the latex on the wall stuck to the latex on the potscrubber like a giant eraser, and it was easier and cleaner than scrubby scrubby.

I finished up the indentations (remember, faketile motif) with a dishcloth.

You know your paint has GOOD adherence to the surface below when after running a shower/bath, you can take it off the wall with a damp dishcloth. Sheesh. Idjuts who paint latex onto highgloss surfaces.

The faketile is none the worse for wear for having been painted, installed on the wall for years and years, and now scrubbed with a loopy metal potscrubber... it is clean and shiny as the day it was installed.

Now THAT is a bathroom surface!! I could do ads for it. Takes a beating and keeps on ticking... no no no... keeps on SHINING!!

The faketile only goes up to about 5-6 feet, and the ceiling is nearly 9feet... there is enamel paint and that had latex on it too. Same as the faketile... that enamel paint is indestructable.

Now I DO plan to put latex on again, but first I will prime it with this alkyd super duper sticks to anything, including glossy surfaces and metal, stops rusting, kicks out annoying guests and stands up for you when bullies pick a fight primer. And THEN I will put KITCHEN and BATHROOM latex on it. Hopefully it will be a bit more scrape and cleaning resistant than the purple lavender shit. ack.

I hate to say, but I almost LIKE the faketile masonite. It is a pleasant beige color with lighter beige highlights and little peachie pink flowers. The room seems about twice the size since it is a brighter color than the lavender, and I think the motif makes the walls seem less FLAT. Oh well. I was going to just redo it in lavender. Maybe I'll go for white. Hmmm. I have blue, green and deep yellow towels. They all looked good with the lavender (which is about the same tint as the blue on this "add an entry" diaryland page). Though artsyguy said "oh good, now you can get rid of that awful color". Sheesh.

OK, I have photos of me sweating... and let me tell you, in a small ie 4foot wide, bathroom, closed in with a hot shower/bath steaming off the paint, scrubbing scrubbing scrubbing for about 6 hours, you sweat. I sweat so much I soaked through two cotton tshirts. SOAKED. I sweat so much that when I lifted up the camera at the end to take a photo of my nice job, water RAN out of the rubber gloves onto the floor. Ran OUT of the rubber gloves. ack.

Anyways, I did take photos. As I did of the nice calking and rustpaint priming. And I am too zotted to upload them to the puter, resize them, and upload them to diaryland... and then write the html.

Remember when I wasn't this lazy??

Ohhh... I also put nonskid strips on the nicely painted outside stairs today. All 18 of them leading to the second floor. So that hopefully I will not see tenants tumbling on slickness past my window in the rain tomorrow. Incredible how easy it is to spend $50 here and $50 there.

On another front... I see why guys get miffed about girls not responding to their online advances. I sent out like ten emails to prospective dates on this personals website. I didn't get a single response, though most of them looked at my profile (you can see who checked your profile). The only ones who have gotten hold of me were over 49, and one young guy (23, which is 20 yrs younger than myself), who had a bad attitude (we IM'd)... more on him later.

Anyways, the euphoria of being free again is quickly being replaced by the reality that I am not a hot item on the dating market. According to young guy, I look like a man. Sheesh.

ok
nite nite
me
wenchie

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily