Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Wednesday, Jul. 28, 2004 - 10:23 p.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Homophobia and Youth Protection, Packing and Seeyalater!

Well, it was bound to happen eventually.

Finally someone who is homophobic (and strangely thinks that sex should come after marriage, and children after sex, but who has a child herself and is not married) has filled out my babelessdyke survey. Hmmm.

She knows no lesbians, nor lesbian parents, nor infertile people, and thinks all the single moms are on bad tv shows, but she would call youth protection on a lesbian family to have them remove the kids (precious defenseless children) and put them in a home where their morals won't be corrupted.

Yeah, they will just be ripped out of their family and put into the wonderful loving child protection system, cuz they have two moms instead of one.

Nice woman. With people "who don't hate homosexuals" she specifies in her note", as neighbors, who needs enemies. Imagine having my kids have to deal with her and her kids in the neighborhood and at school.

There are people who are drug abusers, and layabouts, who hate kids, or are wife abusers, religious crackpots and depressives, alcoholics and just regular nasty people, who are parents. And she wants to remove the kids from the homes of lesbians who bother to get pregnant to have a family... ie women who truly want their children. Totally nuts.

This is the thinking of someone who "thinks about the children"... I dunno. As a child, I cannot imagine many things more frightening than fearing that the neighbors will call to have me taken away from my mom and put in an orphanage or with strangers in a home.

Has she never read up on children in the foster care system? Has she never known any??

Jeesh.

The Bible says homosexuality is wrong she says.

Well, it also says it is wrong for women to have their heads uncovered in church, for them to teach men or have positions of authority over men, it is wrong to disrespect your parents, or covet your neighbor's wife or belongings.

Let me think, I guess there will be a lot more kids available for adoption once we remove the kids from all the parents who sin in those ways, explicitly forbidden by the Christian Bible. (we'll forget right now that our laws are not Christian religious laws, but are supposed to be for everyone and we have freedom of religion... which means that if my religion says homosexuality is right, then you cannot tell me YOUR religion says I am a sinner).

According to Muslims, we should stop and pray 5 times a day. God wants us to. So, do Muslims remove children from sinning Christian parents, so they won't have their morals corrupted?? Boggling lack of tolerance, understanding, or even facts. "I don't know anyone who is a lesbian mom" she says. Well, go meet some and talk with their kids. Or at least read some psychological studies. There are enough of them out there.

Well, enough of that. Interestingly I am way behind reading and commenting on my survey results, but went to read hers since she wrote me a "oh gosh damn, I didn't realize you were a lesbian when I wrote my answers" note.(what, would she have lied if I wasn't?)

I have almost gotten everything done for going away. I thought the plane left at 6:30 am, but it doesn't until 7:30 am, so we've got all the time in the world to pack! haha.

The garden is watered, the dog is shipped out (very happily... she just hopped into their car, all grinning), the cats have their rabies tags on their collars. The house and garden and cat babysitters have been briefed. The organic veggies picked up at the dropoff and farmed out to hungry mouths. Books to sell to relatives picked out (damn they're heavy!), bus ticket to the airport found, tax report done and paid (ack! $400!!). Car reserved for my birthday next week (bbq at a friend's in the suburbs) Comics mailed to a store in Ottawa, pages uploaded for while I'm gone. Now I have only to pack and clean the bathroom. And maybe sleep and eat. That's a thought.

We had a moment in which the guy upstairs informed me that his front door lock is screwed, so I lost a lot of time last night and this afternoon getting that replaced, and will get a deadbolt installed on his backdoor too while I'm away so the boogeymen don't get his woman friend who's housesitting for him next week. She is freaked now he was broken into, and wanted to put barrel bolts on the back door. ACK. If he'd had that, I couldn't have let him in his back door last night. AND the thief popped the front window with a screwdriver. I fail to see what that had to do with the back door lock. But to forestall their bungling efforts on my steel door, I conceded to installing the deadbolt. Another $150 out of my pocket. yay. I love being a landlady. It takes lots of time, is very inconvenient, and costs a bundle.

12:26 am, ie later...

well, I had some rapini (I think... they should label all this green leafy stuff... anyways it had small round leaves and was sort of spicy) saut�ed in olive oil and garlic flowers, with yellow zucchini from my garden, mixed into spaghetti. Earlier I had a swiss cheeseburger at a neighborhood cafe. With nothing on the side except an allong�. It looks really weird to order only a hamburger, no fries, no salad. But I have so many veggies at home, it wouldn't make sense to pay for them in a resto. Anyways. Eating. mmm. Good thing.

I have picked out clothes. Something about going to see your family in Saskatchewan is singularly uninspiring on the clothing side of things. It is so much fun to go see an illicit lover in another city, esp a dark and scary city with mean and nasty things going on. Or even K-Marts. One can dress really sleezy or as Holly Hobby in a K-Mart and it is funny with a wild and crazy compadre whom you'd like to suck face with. But with your aunt in a farming town of 2000? Can we say sensible shoes and cotton shorts?

I don't know that I'll do much better in Saskatoon proper... my friend Seite says that all the plaid-clad (ironically I'd fit in while walking my dog) dykes there glower at her and her butch lovers at lesbian events, as she wears little black dresses, gels her hair and wears heels and makeup. Apparently Prairie dykes do not dress up. I fear they are stuck in 1983. Oh dear.

Anyways, I have no clue if we are even going to go out... haha, what with me due to be picked up by my aunt at 7:30 am on Saturday morning I doubt I will be doing much wild and crazy partying on Friday night! Maybe I'll take some cute black number anyways. Or something red with skull and crossbones.

Whatever I am going to take, I suppose I should get out a suitcase or backpack and put it in, and get the piles of lingerie off my bed. Something, the same something that makes me write entries instead of doing my work until the last minute, is taking over my body and going "haha, you don't NEED to pack yet, you don't have to leave for 5 hours yet... it's like a weeeeeek away!". Stupid something.

I have just cut a bunch of yellow and green wax beans, and must now blanche them to put them in the freezer. This is not the silliest thing I have done sheer hours from leaving the humble abode for airline travel... no, I have made black and red slipcovers for hot water bottles, I have sewed a Holly Hobby bonnet (remember the K-Mart? Except it was a Meijers I think), I have attached garters to men's underwear. Blanching beans hardly counts as silliness. :)

Well, I am blathering. I shall sign off now. Maybe have a nap. I am zotted I am, very zotted. Must snooze.

Why did ob have to turn out to be a betraying shit. I miss her, and I miss visiting her.

Icecream boy has not called. It is 11 days now. I don't think he will call back. I guess it is for the best. I was so hesitant. But I'd like to go forward with my life.

Maybe I'll fall in love with a second-cousin twice removed Saskatchewan farmer. Did I mention it is hot and dusty and very very windy there? Well, it is. And very flat. Except moreso by Regina and less so by Saskatoon.

Oh LOOK! the hotel is for sale!! And for like 100,000$ less than my building! I could move "home"!!
Wish me a good trip. I'll be back same time next week. I look forward to reading all of your adventures of the week when I return.

I expect Onewetleg to be promoted and making lots of moolah, and to have tackled at least three drunk thieves on her lunch break and to get a bravery award from the police.

I expect Dangerspouse to have blown up his wife's new leather luggage and have imbedded it into his ass (with photos), I expect Radiogurl to have discovered Linux, fallen in love, and run off to elope and spread the gospel, leaving her Boss and his radiostation behind in the dust. I expect Chaosdaily to have beaten the Dude to death with his golf clubs after a bad day of deli disasters, or at least to have forced him to slice deli meat on probation for the next five years. I expect Moody Melinda to come back to us and regale us with stories of her cutie boy and duckies. I expect Starzero to write lots of unfathomable lyrics. I expect Sleepyzoe to stop writing just like Meeyapede whom we lost to love and corsets. I expect Cailliath to discover that she really DOES exude l'eau du bonbon and that is why children follow her around like the pied piper. I expect Avalonte to have fallen for some smashing young man who treats her like a queen and her daughter like a princess, and their dog and bunnies like a dog and bunnies... ie smashingly. I expect Evil to wreak havoc upon the world and take fine photos. And I expect Kaetchen to have finished knitting a string bikini, two thongs and a babydoll nightgown. The rest of you, I am sorry if you feel left out... I am tired and running out of steam. I will wonder about you all toooooooooo hugs!!

me, travelling wenchie.

EEK! I just googled Saskatchewan, and it turns out that Regina (where lived before Montreal) and Saskatoon (where I was a kid) have the worst crime rates in all of Canada!! Does this really surprise me? Not really. People from there would always express concern about crime and me living in the BIG CITY of montreal... and I feel so safe here. In Regina, I NEVER walked alone downtown at night. I made sure my car doors were locked so no one would jump in at a red light. I worried about who could see in my windows. Here in Montreal, I feel safe safe safe. Well, that is depressing news about my home province. sheesh.

Here is my horoscope for Wednesday, July 28:

If you're already seeing someone, you're going to have a wonderful evening -- especially if one of you has a romantic adventure planned. If you're not -- well, that could change, and soon.

Haha again. Well, the woman I first fell for, convincing me that I am not completely het, was in town from NYC today, and was supposed to call for a coffee but didn't. Not that there would be anything romantic, far from it, but it might've been a "wonderful evening". Instead it is just busy! Tah!

12 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily