Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Reading Today: "Dude, Where's my Country?" by Michael Moore

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Monday, Aug. 09, 2004 - 1:44 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

More Bday Prezzies and Lookat Dat Girl Bat!!!

egads talking with people takes a lot of time! I planned to get so much done, but talking to my mom yesterday, three friends (Seite, Hotsauce and Whitewitch) and my Dad today... about birthday, family reunion etc... time is just flying by.

Add that to the fact that I stayed awake til 6am last night, even though I was tired at 2am, cuz i got caught up in smokin the hookah (mmm, melon flavour!) and reading "Dude, Where's My Country"! Moore's sarcasm is a bit predictable and annoying sometimes but it is a fun read, well, it is reading about horrid things in the states, but fun in that it states everything you've ever read or heard about Bush, Saudis, oil, arms sales etc. Though it seems he is WAY more positive about the state of real americans politics than I am (and he states so... he says something like liberals have been convinced into thinking that they are in the minority, and that the average american is a rabid rightwing religious redneck, which is statistically untrue when you look at polls on abortion, racial issues, feminism, gays etc).

So I read almost half of it before I got any shuteye last night.

Well, I forgot yesterday to mention one of my better prezzies I got for my birthday (and my dad reassures me that he has one for me, it just isn't mailed yet)... my friend Chuck managed to get to the Evil Dead 1 & 2 Musical himself before it closed, and got me a souvenir for my birthday:

Yes, it is an original "Evil Dead Musical Bloodzone Warning Sign"!! It reads: "Warning: You are entering the blood zone. Please watch your step! There is a chance you will be splattered with blood if you sit here!" hehe. I did NOT sit in the blood zone, which was the first six rows or so nearest the stage. People (and the sign) did get splattered. He must've picked it off the floor, cuz there are red footprints on the back of it from someone's shoes! :) Very cool.

And here are some photos to prove that indeed, I DID play softball as detailed in my laptop missive from the prairies. All photos Copyright 2004 Wench77

See the professional batting stance? The grace with which I hit the ball? Yes, that is a closeup so you can see my technique. I perfected it at Fort San Summer Art School for Teens in the tuberculosis sanitorium that served as a dormitory, hittiing bats with a broom. It was quite effective***. And here you can see that it actually DID get me safely to first base! THREE times!! woweee!!

And on Saturday night and Sunday after the softball game we had that family reunion ritual... picture-taking. It was insane. There were sometimes as many as twenty people with thirty cameras (their own, plus those of the people posing), each taking multiple shots. How to feel like Princess Di for five minutes.

Fun, eh!

Some other tidbits about the prairies.... Saskatoon now has a sign on the Midtown Plaza (shopping mall downtown) that says "No panhandling from here to plaza entry". Jeesh, in my day there were only drunks, no panhandlers. I actually saw two. I guess in Saskatoon they heed zoning signs. Also there were non-white children in Colonsay! I saw two black kids in the pool, and a couple of asian girls rode by on a bike. This doesn't mean that it was ever an ethnically homogenous town... there were Polish and Swedish, Ukranian and Norwegian. It was just that they were all white. And mostly Lutheran. Though apparently, according to my aunt, my family never went to the Lutheran church there since it was a Norwegian Lutheran church and we were Swedish. Who knew. I just know that we were never a church-going bunch. A couple in this generation, and the one aunt who became a preacher, but that's about it. They did say grace before all the meals at the reunion though, which was strange.

Also, an interesting thing is that there are many natives in the gay bar. Who can dance well. And no dykes with style But that is a story for another night, with different photos.

I also have old photos... I used my macro lense to take photos of some of the pictures in the photo albums there... me on my 1st birthday, my dad on his 18th (he was a cutie), my grandma, my brother... fun.

Now I'm tired as heck, but didn't do my work over the weekend. Bad me. I should've done it for Friday. I don't know if it is rush.. it says "as soon as you can do it"... what does THAT mean? The finals aren't due til Aug 30, so I have lots of time.

I DID get a lot of looking at other illustrators' websites done, to look at different ideas, look at their html (or Javascript or whatever... ie to see if it is something within my technological capacities to make myself) etc. I will i WILL have a website up before mid-september. I SWEAR!!

And talking to my dad tonight, I think he may have renounced coming here at all this October. He wanted to come from the 7th to the 17th or something, and tonight he told me he was one of the first people to buy tickets to see Stuart McClean of CBC's The Vinyl Caf� live on Oct 14th. Hmmm. Does that mean he would come earlier or later? Or that I can stop stressing about finding the money to assuage my guilt and fly him down here. Not like I couldn't use him fixing my fence and all, it is just that a plumber and bookshelves are sort of a priority.

Damn damn damn. Who knows.

Well, that is enough for now.

nite nite,

me da sleepy wenchie.

Here is my horoscope for Sunday, August 8:

This would be the perfect evening to spend entertaining at your place -- and if there's a certain someone or old pal out there who needs impressing, seize the moment and start impressing them. Got recipes? Bet you do.

No idea what they're on about. I DID take out my recipes and make "Grandma's Marvellous Salad Dressing", which involves boiling vinegar, mustard and eggs... and ate it over a bed of lettuce with red peppers, tomato, mango, strawberries and sliced hardboiled eggs. Amazing how the fruit picks up a salad! But no entertaining.

Here's my birthday one:

Here is my horoscope for Saturday, August 7:

There's a most pleasant surprise on the agenda -- but if you were up late last night, you may already have received it. That doesn't mean there won't be another coming along today -- but don't be greedy.

No idea what that one is on about either. I got all my prezzies like a week ago, though I didn't open them til the 7th, but "pleasant surprise"? nope, not that I could say. No unexpected callers or visitors, or money or nothing. hmmmm.

by the way... did you know that DeKuyper's Buttershots liqueur goes well with S'mores chocolate bar? mmmmm.

***Sorry all you animal rights people, I am lying. Not about the old sanitorium, nor about the bats. But I actually used a sheet, thrown up in the air like a net, to catch the poor things, and remove them to the great outdoors, to the relief of my screaming fellow teenage girly artstudents. No beating them out of the air with a broom, ok? I am way more humane than that, and a sucker for cute little frightened things that have flown in through windows.

2 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily