Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Thursday, Jan. 22, 2004 - 4:51 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

Comics Drawing while Eating Chocolate

Hmm. I wonder if everyone is as busy as I am... it seems everyone but Sleepyzoe, who has just dropped her boy, is updating quite irregularly.

I am slowly getting the comics done I need to do. I does look like everything will go ahead... I talked to the printer and all should go well if I manage to get everything done, and put on Quark by Sat Jan31, and sent to them to arrive Fedex on Monday Feb 2... or possibly a day or two later if I really get stuck.

Eekola and omigosh! It will happen though. If I can get all the comics done by Sunday, my editor friend has found someone who will scan in the pages for $2 a shot. Yes that is money, but at least someone not me will be doing it, leaving me time to paint the color cover for the book. And then I would have the whole week from Monday to Friday to paste it up into Quark.

I know this is a technical and boring essay for those of you who have no clue what I'm talking about. *I* don't even know what I'm talking about... I am attempting to repeat what others have told me in bits and pieces, often enough and in some sort of linear fashion that it all makes sense in my head and forms a coherent pattern. Haha.

Some people apparently take a year's class to learn Quark. I shall have a twohour tutorial this Friday. hehe. But then it is sort of like an illiterate needing to spell their name. They haven't really learned to read, and probably aren't even aware of all the other letters of the alphabet, but they can slap down their John Doe when needed. Voil�!!

So, now for those who want more technical shit, here are some tips:

  • If you talk on the phone while you are drawing, you will get little droplets of spittle on your artwork.
  • if you erase pencil lines underneath ink lines, when such droplets of spittle are present, your ink lines will smudge where it is wet.
  • If you eat chocolate while you draw and talk on the phone, you will get chocolate spittle droplets on your drawing. If you are not too vociferous, no one will notice but you.
  • If you sneeze with chocolate in your mouth with a drawing in front of you, it is a good replacement for that toothbrush paintspray technique... useful for freckles and sandstorms.
  • If you rush and erase your pencil lines, the ink lines will probably not be dry. They will smudge with the eraser and be a horrid mess.
  • If you do this often, you will probably become a skilled white-out artist.
  • If you talk on the phone while inking comics dialogue it is quite likely that you will fuck up your lettering, and write what you are saying or hearing, instead of what was pencilled on the paper
  • If you want to get alot done, it is better to draw in a cafe where you know no one, not even the waitresses
  • If your drawings are cute and attractive, strangers will stop to strike up conversation anyways
  • Friendly gregarious artists get less work done
  • It is impossible to compose dialogue for comics WHILE you read emails or diaryland entries. Sometimes it is not better to multitask

Well, that is all my wisdom for right this moment. I hope that was helpful for all you aspiring cartoonists and illustrators.

I must leave you now to get more work done. I have great ambitions to finish my "Yes We Don't Want No Bisexuals: part2" comic before 7am. I must be up at 2pm as the computer guy is coming to install more memory on my 'puter. yay. Then I can install a new Photoshop5 and also the Quark. That is quite exciting. Maybe I should add to my above list: It is difficult to focus on work when one has new software recently installed. hehe.

I have no idea what my horoscope of today was refering to. Oh well!! :)

Here is my horoscope for Wednesday, January 21:

Safety remains a concern. Relax your grip on those fears after they've been addressed. If you must fixate on something, keep it positive and in the future. Looking forward is better for your health.

Byebye for now!

tah all!

hugs to busy wenchie, me.

4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily