Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Sunday, Sept. 05, 2004 - 4:16 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

A Few Things I really Love

A few things I really love.

  • I love doing the laundry. I love that everything goes round and round in the washer sloshing about getting all that sweat and dirt and gunk off. That it goes around in the dryer making that dryer clink clank sound of material, buttons and zippers rolling around. That it is all warm and fluffy and toasty when it comes out. That everything is spiffy and clean and smells good. I like folding clean laundry. I actually even enjoy ironing, when I am not late and my iron works.
  • I love making bread. I love the yeast smell, and the process of taking water and sugar to make it grown, and adding in all the ingredients to make real bread dough. I love how it feels to knead, how it gets all elastic and springy. I love covering it to rise, like a hen warming an egg. I love how it gets all puffy and you can make dimples with your finger. I love punching it down with my fists and how it deflates. I love forming it into little buns or loaves, tucking the ends under like tucking clean nappies under a baby bum. I love warming butter in my hands and smoothing over the tops. I love how it rises as it bakes, and the smell of baking bread filling the house. I love the toasty colour when it is done, and the empty sound it makes when you rap on the bottom of the pan. I love hot bread fresh out of the oven and how the steam rises up and how the butter melts on it. I also love eating the raw dough, but i don't love burping and farting yeast taste. hehe.
  • I love gardening. I love how little tiny seeds sprout and turn into plants. I love seeing the different shapes of leaves come up, and how they become so clearly identifiable as different species. I love how the soil smells, and how limp plants perk up when you water them. I love seeing the flowers and then the budding veggies. I love the perky swiss chard leaves, I love the frilly parsley and the crunchy beans and snow peas. I love the perfect round fullness and color of zucchinis and tomatoes, red peppers and pumpkins. I love harvesting the food. I love putting it up for the winter... the clean crisp ziplocs of blanched veggies, the shiny glass jars of soup and sauces. The smell of the quiches baking, how they stack so nicely in the freezer. mmm. Gardening.
  • I love massaging. I love the low quiet energy. The feeling of being focused, of the clear intent and methodical working of the muscles. I love the intimacy of the interaction with the person being massaged, the quiet trust that person has in me, them relaxing into my hands, feeling how sure and strong they are. Giving themselves over to me, letting me touch and stroke, knead and strike, lift their arms and legs and head, moving where I ask them. I love the melting of their tension, the satisfaction of feeling the knots smooth under my fingers. The loosening of the muscles in their face as they melt into the warmth and safety. I love the workout I get, the strong feeling of my body working, the muscles in my hands and arms, legs and back working in unision, using my body weight to go deep into the body of the other person. The physicality of it. The warmth of the person's body, the different textures of skin and bone, muscle and hair. The veins that come out on the backs of my hands and forearms. The smooth moving that is so tai chi. The finishing lightening of pressure so that I leave my presence with the person at the same time as I leave them. The smoothing of the energy and balancing it without touching their body before I leave them alone. I really love massaging.
  • I love hiking and climbing and swimming in nature. I like having little swimshoes on my feet so I can tread lightly, and feel the ground. I like feeling how my limbs are made for this... uneven ground, hands that can balance as feet move over precarious ground, legs that separate enough to step over obstacles, strong enough to lift me up rock faces and over fallen trees. Toes that can help balance on pebbles or moss, fingers that can grasp ledges and branches, climbing and steadying. A flexible body that can duck under low branches and stretch up to reach a high one to climb over water that is impassable. A body that can swim and wade, that is not made to sit in a chair without moving, or walk on flat concrete. Feeling all those thousands of muscles doing their thing, how my body can move in an almost unlimited number of directions and positions, and how that works so well in the chaos of form that is nature. I love feeling my body in natural surroundings. My face open to the sun and the wind, my hair flying in the breeze, my lungs sucking in the spray from a waterfall, or the smell of fallen pine needles. mmmmm.
  • I love my bed. I love sleeping. I love cuddling in cool smooth sheets in the summer, finely and tightly woven, and warm flannel soft sheets in the winter. The dreamy comforting cuddling feeling of the fuzzy cotton and the fluffed feather comforter molding around my body. My pillows under my head nestled beheath my chin, my down pillow forming itself to my arms like a loved one held close. The soft light coming in through filmy white curtains. The yellow walls that will smile like the sun when I awake. The feeling of abandon, of safety. I am so lucky to sleep clean, bugless, kickless, on a cotton futon smelling like a bale from the fields, with no fear of attack or violation. I luxuriate in the luxury I can rest by body and soul in. The comfort that would befit a princess in another era, which we now so take for granted. Clean body, clean sheets, good bed, to dream dreams and wonder wonders. I love my bed, I love sleeping, I love cuddling in my sheets. And often a kitty or two. Little warm obstructions for my feet in the night.
  • And now i shall go and join my warm bed, to the sound of the dryer making little clink dryer noises, in anticipation of gardening in the morrow.

    Goodnight all.

    Another entry was written earlier.
    And another "Things I love" entry will be written later.

    Sweet dreams and good things in life,

    hugs,

    me, wenchie.

    4 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
    Leave yours too!!

    Go to "notes" instead of comments

    Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
    email:
    Powered by NotifyList.com
    ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

    previous meanderings - future past

    Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
    Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
    Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
    sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
    The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

    about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

    Prism Comics!

    *inspired by Chaosdaily