Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Hold on to what is good even if it is a handful of earth.
Hold on to what you believe even if it is a tree which stands by itself.
Hold on to what you must do even if it is a long way from here.
Hold on to life even when it is easier letting go.
Hold on to my hand even when I have gone away from you.
- Pueblo Blessing

101 Things About Me

Do My Surveys
(scroll down)

To Do List

To Buy List

Free Guestmap from Bravenet

Friday, Dec. 31, 2004 - 3:13 a.m.

Cost of the War in Iraq
(JavaScript Error)

WARNING!!!! if you know me personally, you may read my diary, but if you do, you take the chance of hearing things you don't want to know, misunderstanding what I've written and being hurt by it. If you are unsure if it is ok to read, save yourself and me the grief and heartache, and ask first!!! Please note that this is a DIARY, ie my subjective feelings, hearsay, suppositions, and outpourings of ranting of the moment. It does not represent objective news, the whole of what I think of a topic or someone, or even a thought-out representation of any of the above. Keep that in mind. Thanks. * Here is a Diary Etiquette Read Me.

My accomplishments Today

Okay. I'm going to write down first what I got accomplished today and then tackle other subjects in other entries I guess. I feel a bit overwhelmed by entries brewing, but distracted by all the halfdone things here.

Well, my studio looks like something. Now I should just take a large garbage bag and throw everything not in bookshelves into a bag. No. Bad Idea. Everything is all mixed together in boxes, things that were on horizontal surfaces, ranging from troll dolls and pushpins to tax forms and contracts. Sigh. Much sorting will come soon...

What I SHOULD be working on... oh that can segue into my next entry.

I bought new bulbs for the christmas lights in the window (no blue so now the lights are blue with green refills). I got new felt insoles for my big sorel winter snow boots. Yay! I bought masonry screws and put up all the bulletin boards.

You know that was the intent when I started buying cork bulletin boards at Ikea 5 years ago? Yup. That I put them on the wall over my painting table, to hold all my reference materials while I paint. Haha. mostly they were leaning here and there about the room. And now they are finally up. Yay! Photos later.

I got a new extension cord to fit behind the bookshelves to where I will boil water for tea (speak of the devil... just a sec)...

I actually for the first time in my entire life used those little "anti-tip" babysitting little brackets to screw the top of my Ikea bookshelves to the wall.

And then realized that I had to unscrew them to get the new extension cord behind. Oh well! It IS done now!

I washed the dog laundry. I treated doggy's ear for infection.

I did the dishes.

I drew a page of comics.

I finished the novel "Mosh Pit" by Kristyn Dunnion. It is a teen punk novel. Dang, my highschoolness was NOT like that. I was a dork. There were no people in the whole school with punk clothes and shaved heads and mohawks. Not even the bad kids. The bad kids had fluffy Farah Fawcett hair or mullets depending on the gender. There were no trans kids or queer kids. The non-white kids were mostly the best students (not gangstas) whose parents were university professors. And I was the dork of the dorks. With long greasy hair, no drinking, no boyfriends, good grades but slept through class, no parties, no bars. OK I went to Candycane Disco (no alcohol, no one over 18). Dang eh!

Well, I recommend "Mosh Pit". It is a great book with lots of ups and downs and very true to the fuckedupedness of life. I would have loved it when I was a teen and I love it now. The main character, Simone, is a dyke with a mohawk, who can do the boyish thing to get the girl, but also can do fishnets and plaid miniskirt. I love it. She has a job wrestling in a pink leotard for a pay website. Too much.

That's my plug of the day. I am now reading "Missing Matthew" which is a children's novel also by Kristyn Dunnion. So far I think that as a writer she is very good at capturing an appropriate age level for the kids. In Mosh Pit, the protagonists are 16-17, whereas in Matthew, they are 10-12. Yay for reading novels at Christmastime.

I have also not done the spiral feeling bad thing. That is good. I am not as up as 24 hours ago when I had a date for New Years. But what the heck. I am still doing fine. Yeah. Fuck dates anyways. I have a new improved studio. And a friend in Disappearing Boy. He wants to draw me while I sleep. That's fine by me.

Ok, I think that is all I accomplished today. It seemed like more while I was doing it. All those screws. Measuring. Drilling. Standing back and admiring. Sweeping. Standing back and admiring some more.

I also read the newspaper and cried...

1 People have left cute, callous or caring comments on the wench's wordiness!!
Leave yours too!!

Go to "notes" instead of comments

Join my Notify List and get email when I post a private entry:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com
ps, you'll need to email me for a username and password

previous meanderings - future past

Goodbye Michael. May your next life be kinder to you. - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Taking Care of Your Cows - Thursday, Jun. 25, 2009
Saint Joseph robs the cradle and eats spaghetti - Sunday, Jun. 14, 2009
sticky notes and broken irises - Friday, Jun. 12, 2009
The FOODCOMMANDER - Monday, Jun. 08, 2009

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Prism Comics!

*inspired by Chaosdaily